CWS Apartment Homes Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
CWS Apartment Homes President Gary Carmell
Gary Carmell
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing leaders, support system, core values, truly care about their employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "They have a paid training program which is great for those new to the industry(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be very very slow leasing depending on the property you work at(in 14 reviews)

  • "99% of upper management is great(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Leasing Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great values and teamwork ethic.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up due to retention with management.

    Continue reading
    CWS Apartment Homes2020-05-21
  2. "Proud to work for CWS"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing leaders, support system, core values, truly care about their employees

    Cons

    Wish we had more properties downtown.

    CWS Apartment Homes2020-05-14
  3. "A company that CARES"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, communication, support, BRIDGE, and Servant Leadership

    Cons

    The hours can be long

    CWS Apartment Homes2020-05-13
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent core values, support system and structure. They care about their employees! Great leadership.

    Cons

    Too many audits, CIG assets are held to a different standard.

    Continue reading
    CWS Apartment Homes2020-05-06

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2020People Services

    Thank you for the excellent review of CWS! Our core values are at the heart of the company, so we are happy to hear that you experience them in your day-to-day interactions. Our team members are what make this company great! Our moto this year is “less is more.” We are working diligently to stream line the processes and procedures for our teams! Please know that we will pass this information along to leadership. We thank you for your 3+ years and look forward to many more.

  5. "COVID-19 Response"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are going above and beyond for residents, it’s wonderful to see!

    Cons

    During all of this, it feels like employees aren’t cared for. We have a rent deferment program for residents and employees are not allowed to take part in, even though a lot of us rely on more than just our income for rent. Most assistant managers aren’t hitting their bonus for people paying rent on time and leasing is down tenfold so those bonuses are also not happening. A lot of companies have offered either hazard pay or an additional bonus to help during this time and CWS isn’t giving back to employees at all.

    Continue reading
    CWS Apartment Homes2020-04-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Community Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It feels like you are working with family.

    Cons

    To get promoted there can be hoops to jump through

    CWS Apartment Homes2020-03-13

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 7, 2020People Services

    Wow! Thank you for such a great review. At CWS, even as we grow as a company, we try to make sure that we still have that family-like feel. It is fantastic that you are able to feel that! We encourage you to take advantage of our career maps when you start thinking about a promotion to make sure that you are in alignment with the expectations! We love promoting from within! Thank you for your 3+ years with us. It’s people like you that make CWS great!

  7. "great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Maintenance Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the culture on this company is amazing

    Cons

    no cons overall a great place to work

    Continue reading
    CWS Apartment Homes2020-03-04

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 7, 2020People Services

    Thank you so much for the awesome review of CWS! We love that after so many years with the company, the culture is something that still shines for you. We make a conscious effort to ensure that our culture is felt in every region and across every position. We thank you for your 5+ years with us and look forward to many more!

  8. "Above and Beyond"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Do in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BRIDGE, plenty of resources for training, great regional support. Amazing company culture! If you want to move up you have clear expectations and goals on how to do so.

    Cons

    Insurance is high and there are a lot of risk reports.

    CWS Apartment Homes2020-01-11

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    April 15, 2020People Services

    Wow! Thank you so much for this review! We agree, the Education and Development Department here at CWS is unparalleled. Our company culture is something that we consciously work to maintain, so we are so happy to hear that you continue to experience it! We are always looking at ways to better the team member experience, and benefits is one of those items. Please know we that we will pass this feedback onto leadership! We thank you for your 3+ yeas with us and look forward to many more!

  9. "Great Company For Great Sales People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Donates to Charities of your choosing, flexible vacation and paid sick time, lots of employee appreciation, good pay, good bonuses

    Cons

    Have to wear uniforms. Sometimes they do not listen or cater to employees personal needs or workplace issues if it could inconvenience the company. Can be very very slow leasing depending on the property you work at. I would not count any commission or bonus as income with this job. The base pay (if you're hourly) is mainly what you will be receiving every two weeks!

    CWS Apartment Homes2019-12-11

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    April 15, 2020People Services

    We love getting great reviews! As you mentioned, BRIDGE gives our teams the ability to donate to charities of their choice and we love that you have taken advantage of that program! The culture here at CWS Apartment Homes is something that we are very proud of, so we are happy to hear about your positive experience! We always encourage our team members to have open conversations with their managers to address any concerns that you may have. We also have an open door policy that promotes communication. We look forward to your continued growth with us!

  10. "Great Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working there. I got along with my boss and coworkers

    Cons

    The insurance could be better.

    CWS Apartment Homes2019-11-21

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    April 15, 2020People Services

    Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of CWS Apartment Homes. We are so glad that you were able to make good connections with your team during your time with us. We are always looking at the benefits package and comparing to what's in the market. We've made it a point to be an employer of choice, which includes comprehensive insurance options! We thank you for your time with us and wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Found 138 reviews