CWS Apartment Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

CWS Apartment Homes Reviews

Updated April 13, 2018
98 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CWS Apartment Homes President Gary Carmell
Gary Carmell
53 Ratings

98 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • d say being closed on Sunday is a nice perk for office team members and they do give you a clothing allowance but it (in 7 reviews)

  • They fly you to Texas which where the corporate office is and makes you feel truly apart of a great company (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • The Regional Directors nor the upper management don't praise their employees for their hard work (in 5 reviews)

  • There is little to no communication about expectations as far as reporting and new roll out of processes and procedures (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Leasing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    -Great people to work with
    -Has a lot of growth opportunity

    Cons

    Currently haven't experienced any cons

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for taking a moment to review our organization! We love getting these types of reviews. We hope you have a long and fulfilling career with us at CWS Apartment Homes and are here to support... More


  2. "Great people - great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Projects Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Special Projects Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company holistically. They live by their core values. Awarded Best place to work in many cities and by Forbes.

    Cons

    I found no downside to working with intelligent, thoughtful people and all of them are just that.
      I found no downside.

    Advice to Management

    I found no downside to working with intelligent, thoughtful people and all of them are just that.
      I found no downside!

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of our organization. Our core values are what make us unique and a great company to work with. We couldn’t be happier that this was conveyed to you... More

  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Director
    Current Employee - Community Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great training program in place for on site employees. The training team is the best! The leadership team, including President, VP, and Regional Vice Presidents are all very supportive. They are willing to hear feedback from all employees. The values run through the company from the top. They are always looking on how to improve the customer and employee experience.

    Cons

    Although the bonus structure has recently been updated, it is still below par as the industry standard in many regions of the CWS portfolio. Recently, it seems new processes being put in place are reactive versus proactive. There is little to no communication about expectations as far as reporting and new roll out of processes and procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Be thorough in new processes and training on them so the expectations are clear. Increase standard pay/bonus structure.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    First, thank you for your three plus years of service with us! We are pleased to see that the training and support you receive as a team member have been a great benefit for you. We uphold our core... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "So glad I'm gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Community Director
    Former Employee - Community Director
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Julie in the training department might be the only person on the corporate level who is fair, and actually cares about team members. Shes amazing. The real deal.

    Cons

    The only way you will fit it with Corp. is if you drink with them. You will be looked down upon if you dont partake in all the drinking this company does

    Advice to Management

    Pay better attention to employees that are cancer.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experience while you were a team member at CWS. We are pleased that you enjoyed working with and getting to know our training department.

    We... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Less than a year and ready to bail. Left a good company for this place and it's been a nightmare."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager
    Current Employee - Property Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Closed sundays and holidays. Benefits are decent. Beats off and paid.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Unappreciated. Dishonest. If you dont know the right people or aren't in with the cool kids your not accepted. Thrives on drama and gossip. Their values are a joke. I've barely been here a year and I began putting out my resume this week. Enough is enough.

    Advice to Management

    Change your values to represent what the company is really about. Dishonesty. Lack of integrity. Disorganized. Unloyal. Unappreciative.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to see your experience with CWS has not been positive. We are however, pleased to know you are happy with the benefits we offer and our holiday... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Undervalues employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time

    Pros

    Training programs, corporate fun days, IT/Help Desk, clothing allowance

    Cons

    Short staffed, HR doesn't back any of the employees unless they are CDs, lower pay and bonuses/commissions than other companies

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for taking a moment to complete a review of our organization. We are glad to see that many of our departments have met your needs as a team member. We value our team members and kicking... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "The Good, The Bad and the Very Ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They have leaders in the company that truly seem to care on a regional level and really seem to care about us at the onsite level.

    Cons

    Those leaders have ABSOLUTELY no control to make any difference. I have been a Community Manager for almost 6 years and never have I worked for a company that had absolutely no idea what they are doing. We would have meetings for no reasons that would lead nowhere.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good talent from running for the doors. They are all running the second they can. I left at the end of last year and have realized now how unorganized and terrible the region was.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    We appreciate the time taken out of your day to complete a review of CWS Apartment Homes. We are happy that one of our core values, “A Respect for People”, was felt in your region and on site through... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Community Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Community Director in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Assistant Community Director in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Sundays off are a nice perk uniform card is helpful even though a percentage comes out of your check, nice locations for the properties.

    Cons

    Gossip is rampant, it’s not what you know but who you know to be “successful” the values are used only when convenient. A Respect for People is a joke, the reality is people are disposable.

    Advice to Management

    Be Objective, look at proven track records as a measurement of success, not what you’ve had reported to you third hand. Be more selective with leadership, if you want the best then only allow the best to lead, you’ve got a ways to go here.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    We appreciate your candid review of CWS. We agree that our communities are some of the best in the markets that we operate in.

    We are disappointed that you did not feel our core values translated... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "You Can Do Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Community Involvement and good training and education system.

    Cons

    Leadership, instability, lack of infrastructure and very singular goals. Ultimately the largest con with CWS is the rampant nepotism and favoritism amongst the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to us on the entry level. My advice is directly to leadership to pay attention to what is going on. My community has had consistent turnover because no one will stay here after they realize there is no where to go here. There is constant change in all positions and absolutely no stability unless you are related to or know someone. I am looking to change companies so I can grow in this industry and feel like I have opportunities.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    May 21, 2018 – People Services

    Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your experience so far. We are happy to see that the B.R.I.D.G.E. program is something that you enjoy as part of our culture. We agree that our... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Average Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Specialist in Tyler, TX
    Former Employee - Leasing Specialist in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CWS Apartment Homes full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary and commission are basically the only pros to be found within this company. If you enjoy making a difference for those less fortunate then join this company.

    Cons

    LIMITED TRAINING AND MULTIPLE RESPONSIBILITIES. The "training" given to leasing specialists focuses more on increasing sales and providing good customer service. However it provides little to nothing on the basic things such as what to do on transfers and how to utilize Onesite, the system set for uploading and viewing residents' information. Despite being the basics, they're still enough to cost you your job if you don't understand them.

    Advice to Management

    If you wish for ALL of your employees to be successful within your company, PLEASE PROVIDE TRAINING ON ALL TASKS SET TO BE FACED BY "LEASING SPECIALISTS" due to assistant managers and managers themselves CANNOT BE RELIED ON for hardly any help. Plus, certain colleagues will be too preoccupied about their own reputation than being a team player.

    CWS Apartment Homes Response

    Feb 7, 2018 – Digital Marketing Director

    Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to see your experience with CWS was not positive. We are however, pleased to see you were satisfied with your compensation and saw value in our... More


Showing 98 of 98 reviews
Reset Filters