Cabela's Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Cabela's President & CEO Thomas L. Millner
Thomas L. Millner
661 Ratings
Pros
  • "Happy Customers Strong Employee Discount(in 97 reviews)

  • "get to work with a lot of intelligent people that are passionate about the outdoors(in 76 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They want you to sell their credit card to everyone(in 95 reviews)

  • "Now that it's owned by Bass Pro Shops all decisions and direction comes from Springfield(in 66 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cabela's and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job

      May 8, 2021 - NICS Compliance Outfitter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good discount, good food, good friends

      Cons

      Management, CLUB cards, Schedule conflicts

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Eh

      May 3, 2021 - Footwear Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It wasn't very hard work and pay is over minimum wage. You will also meet many interesting people here. One of my coworkers was a lead project manager for his main job and he just worked at cabelas for a couple hours a week to get the discount on fishing supplies.

      Cons

      If your team is made up of slackers and you are not a slacker, you are expected to do more. I once had to prepare the entire department for inventory. I had a partner, but his girlfriend would come in for hours and he acted like she was a customer so that he could "assist her". Management is absent lots of the time and you have to fend for yourself. Also, as a woman, many customers thought it was ok to touch me. This happened in front of management a few times and they did nothing about it. Or they didn't recognize that they needed to do something. One MAJOR con is the club card. You are expected to sell 20 a year, which isn't a big goal or a big deal. What is the issue is how much they hound you every hour of everyday about it. This also reminds me that you have to have a radio in your ear every second of the day. This is for communication which I thought was going to be great. Turns out they just want to do an announcement every five seconds about club cards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place for part-time work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Camping Sales Associate in Fort Mill, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I didn't work there for very long as it was just for the summer and I had to go back to school, but I really did enjoy working there. My boss was focused and direct but also cool and had a great sense of humor, and my coworkers were also interesting and respectful individuals that I enjoyed conversing with.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, after being acquired by Bass Pro, they started drastically cutting costs. During my time at Cabela's we were using iPods with a proprietary case and software used for scanning store items and other store-related tasks, and they worked very well and were very easy to use. However, Bass Pro has been trying to phase out the employee iPods and is replacing them with scanning devices from 20 years ago, and these devices are loaded with a special type of Windows that looks extremely similar to Windows 95. Suffice to say, these scanning devices are not nearly as intuitive and efficient as the iPods, but Bass Pro is implementing them in Cabela's stores because apparently they will somehow be overall less expensive, which I find dubious at best.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I just want to read the dang info idk why you're making me fill this out first

      Apr 25, 2021 - Outfitter in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      really really really good discount

      Cons

      had a lot of weird coworkers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      .

      Apr 28, 2021 - Cashier in Sun Prairie, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a good place to work.

      Cons

      Trying to sell credit cards.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Perfect for retired.

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Floor Outfitter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discount is amazing. Its really the only perk about working there.

      Cons

      Credit Cards. All day. All they care about. Typical retail, customer base isn't bad at all, but always a few bad apples. Management isn't all that terrible, but our location goes through gms like jeans.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pretty decent

      Apr 25, 2021 - Outfitter in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours and really good discount

      Cons

      Have to schill credit cards

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cabela's

      Apr 26, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really warm place and inviting

      Cons

      Standing for very long periods of time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Meh

      May 8, 2021 - Department Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work WITH

      Cons

      Hours, schedule and pay is abyssal.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible

      Apr 30, 2021 - Machine Operator in Tooele, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and good co-workers.

      Cons

      Mandatory OT all the time Turn over rate due to that OT is astounding, it is not told to people up front. They show up for their first shift and told to pick a day to work OT. So you're either working 4 12s or 5 10s every week. Management has gone down the drain, they care more about numbers than their employees. Sometimes they schedule their people 14 12hr shifts in a row.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,528 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cabela's Job Seekers

    Outfitter
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Firearms Operations Outfitter
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cabela's? Share Your Experiences

    or