Cabell Huntington Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Cabell Huntington Hospital Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Cabell Huntington Hospital CEO Kevin Fowler
Kevin Fowler
7 Ratings
  1. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Huntington, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great culture and leadership.

    Cons

    No room for upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Not every position should have a clinical background.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2019-02-14
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Huntington, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work, great benefits

    Cons

    No room for advancement, no tuition reimbursement

    Advice to Management

    Consider a performance based pay increase to those who do excellent work.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2019-06-22
  3. "The staff is unfriendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Surgical Technologist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay rate is on track for area

    Cons

    I do not recommend working in the OR

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2019-02-09
  4. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Social Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Benefits Compensation Schedule Direct(lower) management Payroll dedict(on almost everything)

    Cons

    Upper management does not understand the social work role, and does not care to get to know our role. Treated poorly by upper management; They think we are easily disposable and we are under appreciated. No office - float around and try to find somewhere to privately talk to families, insurance companies, etc...(Makes it very difficult to do the job)

    Advice to Management

    Get to know our job... don’t just assume we “sit all day” or “socialize all the time”. Half of our job is communication with MD, PT/OT, families, consulting physicians, DME companies, Home health companies, insurance companies. The other half of our job is documenting all that.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-12-13
  5. "Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntington, WV

    I worked at Cabell Huntington Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CHH is a Great place to work

    Cons

    Arrive early to work to get a parking spot

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-08-30
  6. "Great place to work for in Huntington, WV but there is room for improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Based Presumptive Eligibility Supervisor in Huntington, WV

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Great Mission and Upper Level Management Caring Employee Workforce CEO is Great Vacation time is great Holiday pay good

    Cons

    Poor middle and lower levels of management No Promotional Opportunity for skilled Non-Clinical Professionals Poor raises for non union workers

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-05-08
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntington, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and hard working front line employees.

    Cons

    Staffing issues, top down management style, poor communication, low morale and lack of leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the front line employees and respond by addressing their concerns not by ignoring them. Do not target the messengers. Be honest in all your communications. Hire competent managers. Remember that long term employees have valuable experience which is critical to success. Your actions speak louder than your words.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-06-11
  8. "Respiratory Care/Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits if you're lucky enough to get a full-time position. Great employees make the unpredictable environment a little less stressful. Management (within the respiratory dept) is very involved and cares about improving things.

    Cons

    Irregular schedule can make it difficult to balance work with family life. Must work holidays and weekends. Must take call. Takes YEARS to get a full-time dayshift position. Often short-staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going in the direction you are going. Hire more staff so that unit coverage, call-in coverage, and vacation coverage is less of an issue.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-05-01
  9. "Registrar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registrar 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits and lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    No cons. It’s a great place to work

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2018-01-12
  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cabell Huntington Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing!!! Top pay. Insurance is the best coverage I have ever had with no monthly cost to me. Excellent amount of paid time off.

    Cons

    Just like any other hospital at this point, very business like. Difficult scheduling and difficult vacation approval. Staff morale low making environment to work in difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating a climate conducive of postive energy. Less focus on scores and more focus on quality of care.

    Cabell Huntington Hospital2017-07-03
Found 31 reviews