KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cactus Communications

Is this your company?

Cactus Communications

Add a Review

Cactus Communications Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 of over 793 reviews

2.6
29%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cactus Communications Co-Founder and CEO   Abhishek Goel (no image)
Abhishek Goel
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely flexible in terms of work hours and work from home(in 63 reviews)

  • "This is my second freelance contract with Cactus(in 63 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Only join if you really enjoy editing(in 158 reviews)

  • "Editors are paid per word but work on more than just words(in 101 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Science Editor

      Sep 17, 2018 - Science Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to work from home

      Cons

      Sometimes slow response to questions

      12 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      x

      May 24, 2021 - Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible timings, benefits, and travel opportunities

      Cons

      Unrealistic expectations for low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Well developed process but not the best pay

      Feb 5, 2021 - Freelance Science Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For working at a company purely remotely, they communicate pretty well with their freelancers and I really like the editing process and options available to me. The flexibility in scheduling is my favorite part about the job.

      Cons

      The pay, as many have said, is not as high as the work merits given the amount so time and effort you put into each job and the expectations they hold for you. There are performance- based incentives that help, but even if you are receiving their highest freelancer pay rate you have to work feverishly to make it a well-paying full time job.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Low pay

      May 16, 2021 - Contractual Technical Editor in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, practice editing skills, can work as much or as little as you want, read research content

      Cons

      ESL papers take 3-4X to edit with same pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cactus Communications Response

      Associate Freelancer Management

      Hi there, Thank you for your Glassdoor review. It’s encouraging to note that you’ve had a positive experience with regard to several aspects of your association with us, such as: flexibility in work schedule, a chance to develop your editing skills and the opportunity to read content related to latest developments in research. About the concern you have raised here, though we have taken note, please know that we do not have control over the type of manuscripts that we receive from clients. With greater exposure to ESL papers and editing practice, we’ve seen a rise in monthly earnings of freelancer and contractual editors once they become familiar with the CACTUS editing requirements and are able to turn in a higher number of good quality assignments each month. There is also a rich archive of editing-related resources available, a regular study of which can help editors upskill themselves, especially those who are new to the field. The learning curve is steep but swift and rewards effort. In case you need further clarification, please connect with me at amrita.anand@cactusglobal.com. Thanks, Amrita Anand Associate, Freelancer Management

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good job

      May 15, 2021 - Account Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and decent pay

      Cons

      Some days you work lots of hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company to work for remotely

      Feb 4, 2020 - Committee Administrator in Princeton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work offers flexibility and opportunities for travel.

      Cons

      Working remote can be a double edged sword. Sometimes it would be preferable to go to an office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cactus Communications Response

      Associate, Freelancer Engagement

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you like the flexibility we offer with this work. We understand that sometimes it can get lonely to work remotely, and to address this we are trying to do more community building activities for all our editors. We would be more than happy to involve you in these activities. Please write to me at tanvi.devpura@cactusglobal.com if you think this is something that might interest you. Best, Tanvi Devpura Associate, Freelancer Engagement

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Dead-end job - low pay

      Jan 1, 2017 - Freelancer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro is that you can work from home.

      Cons

      Cactus/Editage does not offer salaried positions or references to freelancers. Your name isn't given to authors so you cannot build a "reputation" for your editing services. Doing this job will not advance your career or earning ability in any way. Extremely low pay (less than US minimum hourly wage) for meticulous editing and what amounts to a semi-translation/semi-peer review. Constant demands that you do work for free. If you get these, you can email them and tell them you won't do the job but it's very annoying getting these requests. Lately, almost all assignments have less than a 48-hour deadline. Given the amount of work the documents need, this isn't reasonable. These jobs can't be accepted if you want to keep a good QFR and your deadline conformance at 100% (and they don't pay you for jobs that go over deadline). Even though there are a lot of jobs on the Whiteboard right now, no freelancer can take them because the time given is too short.

      Continue reading
      79 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for gaining experience

      May 29, 2016 - Freelance Science Editor in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Extremely flexible: as long as you make deadlines, you can work however, whenever, and wherever you want -Online interface for assignment allocation/delivery is excellent -Exposure to scientific publishing and the opportunities in that field, as opposed to technical research -A lot of interesting material -Bonuses, when you can get them, add up significantly -Recommend for people with scientific backgrounds who are between jobs, looking for secondary income, or can't work in traditional academic or industrial/commercial research

      Cons

      -Sometimes conflicting feedback from internal reviewers - one will knock you for using some specific phrasing, then another will knock you for NOT using the same thing -No way to communicate directly with anyone but your process manager (so clearing up the contradictory standards issue mentioned above takes about a month longer than it should) -I've gotten calls on my personal number as late as 2 AM in my time zone asking me to take jobs due 10 hours later??? -Uncertain if this is a "con" but it seemed sketchy: a manager asked me to write a review here and then tell them that I had done so

      Continue reading
      31 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Slavery--today's trend, race to the bottom

      Nov 23, 2016 - Editor, Psychology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They paid on time, which should be a given but...

      Cons

      Terrible pay, treated in a way that unskilled workers should not be treated, much less educated people who try to decipher the English language from mush, i.e. no dignity offered for the most part, (though some people were nice). Yes, the jobs can twist your brain. Yes, they ignore your times of availability. Yes, they send back work to be re-done w/o pay and on top of it you have no idea what to "fix" b/c nobody told you--that was when I quit, after attempting to re-do an ugly, long report on New Year's Day (I live in Calif.) which I had asked to take off and they had agreed, then sent me this monstrosity to be tortured by for the second time. I sent it back and said, "Happy New Year!"

      Continue reading
      69 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good part-time job for students; not something to live off of

      Apr 13, 2015 - Freelance Academic Editor in College Park, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I gave this job 3 stars because as a student, it provides me with pocket money and I can do it from anywhere. Sometimes I learn about interesting topics, and the managing editors provide solid feedback so you can improve as an editor. The work is highly flexible. If you consistently receive good QFR scores, you receive assignments pretty regularly.

      Cons

      Depending on the difficulty and length of the text, you are probably getting paid minimum wage. The work can be quite tedious, and you are expected to re-edit for free. This job is good for part-time income, but it's not enough to live off of. I would recommend it for people who are in between jobs or students, but not as a full time career.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 180 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cactus Communications Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cactus Communications? Share Your Experiences

    Cactus Communications logo
    or