Cactus Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Cactus Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
Abhishek Goel
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Science Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Science Editor in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to work from home

    Cons

    Sometimes slow response to questions

    Cactus Communications2018-09-18
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A rewarding career in academic editing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Editor in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great mentoring for new comers Quick feedback on quality Very stable interface Speedy response to queries

    Cons

    Unsteady flow of editing work

    Cactus Communications2016-09-13
  3. "Freelance Editing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Academic Editor in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications

    Pros

    Although freelancers work remotely, communication with management and staff is swift, thorough, and very helpful. Cactus provides freelancers with an incredible amount of resources to enable freelancers to develop in-depth knowledge of editing protocols and offer top-quality edits. Bonuses and more thorough editing services are available to freelancers who deliver high-quality work consistently, and management is always...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the pay rate is competitive, it is sometimes challenging to edit very difficult manuscripts that require thorough revision; however, freelancers may download assignments prior to accepting them to ensure that they are capable of editing the assignment.

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy with my interactions with management, and applaud Cactus's managerial staff for their constant communication with and commitment to freelancers.

    Cactus Communications2016-07-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Take jobs you're interested in, work as much or as little as you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Editor in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cactus Communications for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility, good feedback to freelancers

    Cons

    No benefits and quality of submitted manuscripts varies wildly

    Cactus Communications2017-10-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Academic Editor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cactus Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You're able to select a work schedule that gives you some freedom and flexibility. The per-word pay rate is excellent. The work is rewarding and challenging.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be difficult to obtain work, especially during the academic off-season. This is to be expected, however, due to the nature of the work. Also, you don't have access to as many jobs if you don't maintain a certain level of quality, as subjectively rated by reviewers, and the ratings can seem rather arbitrary at times.

    Advice to Management

    The quality feedback rating system could be improved. I've gotten what seemed to me unnecessarily harsh ratings for very few document changes. On the flip-side, I've received some excellent ratings, even when significant changes were made to the document I turned in. This seems to indicate a lack of consistency in the process that needs to be addressed. Keep up with the good work in your communication with your editors....

    Show More
    Cactus Communications2016-09-08
  6. Helpful (20)

    "biomedical editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Biomedical Editor in Massillon, OH

    I worked at Cactus Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work. Research papers include a broad range of topics. Work at your own pace from home.

    Cons

    Native English speakers receive incorrect criticism from those that speak English as a second language. Awkward sentence structures are considered normal at Cactus, if it makes sense to a native English speaker, it won't make sense to the reviewers. Reviewers do not seem to be highly knowledgeable in the field of science.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your native English speaking staff that are accustomed to reading journal publications in English.

    Cactus Communications2016-10-03
  7. Helpful (26)

    "Good for gaining experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Freelance Science Editor in Watertown, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cactus Communications for more than a year

      Pros

      -Extremely flexible: as long as you make deadlines, you can work however, whenever, and wherever you want -Online interface for assignment allocation/delivery is excellent -Exposure to scientific publishing and the opportunities in that field, as opposed to technical research -A lot of interesting material -Bonuses, when you can get them, add up significantly -Recommend for people with scientific backgrounds who...

      Show More

      Cons

      -Sometimes conflicting feedback from internal reviewers - one will knock you for using some specific phrasing, then another will knock you for NOT using the same thing -No way to communicate directly with anyone but your process manager (so clearing up the contradictory standards issue mentioned above takes about a month longer than it should) -I've gotten calls on my personal number as late as 2 AM in my time zone...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please make it possible for freelancers to talk or exchange email directly with people other than their process manager! And please don't solicit reviews, it's not likely to get good results

      Cactus Communications2016-05-29
    • Helpful (7)

      "A Few Extra Bucks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Freelance Editor - Remote in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Cactus Communications

      Pros

      Easy if you understand technical writing needs and can work through non-English speaker translations of papers for journal publication. Have a calendar tool for indicating your availability. Opportunity to build additional skill sets.

      Cons

      Short timelines, so you need to perform the editing assignment immediately upon receipt. Pay starts at $16.00/1,000 words. Pay is monthly and can be 4-8 weeks after work completed.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the calendar feature added to your portal. Seems to be a new feature that is not being utilized by the people offering assignments.

      Cactus Communications2016-02-02
    • Helpful (24)

      "Good part-time job for students; not something to live off of"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Freelance Academic Editor in College Park, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Cactus Communications

      Pros

      I gave this job 3 stars because as a student, it provides me with pocket money and I can do it from anywhere. Sometimes I learn about interesting topics, and the managing editors provide solid feedback so you can improve as an editor. The work is highly flexible. If you consistently receive good QFR scores, you receive assignments pretty regularly.

      Cons

      Depending on the difficulty and length of the text, you are probably getting paid minimum wage. The work can be quite tedious, and you are expected to re-edit for free. This job is good for part-time income, but it's not enough to live off of. I would recommend it for people who are in between jobs or students, but not as a full time career.

      Advice to Management

      The company should value its editors more highly by paying them for re-editing at least half of what they receive for a regular job.

      Cactus Communications2015-04-13
    • Helpful (7)

      "Entry level freelance neurobiology/neuroscience editor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Freelance Science Editor in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cactus Communications

      Pros

      Work from home, gain experience with different journal formats, learn to be a better science writer and editor.

      Cons

      Infrequent assignments; pay scale is okay, but dependent on how much editing work the article needs; not as easy to communicate with managing editors as I would like.

      Advice to Management

      Increase ability for freelance editors to communicate with managing editors.

      Cactus Communications2015-02-19
    Found 22 reviews