Caesars Entertainment "casino" Reviews | Glassdoor

Caesars Entertainment Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Caesars Entertainment CEO    Tony Rodio
Tony Rodio
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Security Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Money, Good Benefits, Fun Job

    Cons

    Often times hire outside rather than internally. Was told because I was a young female even though I was the best choice for promotion the VPs didnt think the department would take me serious so made decision to go with someone unfamiliar with casino security.

    Caesars Entertainment2017-06-20

    Caesars Entertainment Response

    August 7, 2017Director of Corporate Human Resources

    I'm glad to hear that you had a fun experience during your time with us! If you look at caesars.com/careers, we do have many open leadership positions. While you did not get the role in security, we would encourage your to apply to other leadership roles that may interest you as we are proud to say that more than 40% of our management roles in the company are held by women.

    Continue reading
  2. "Events and Promotions Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment

    Pros

    nice co workers, work a lot of events during summer, celebrity golf tournament

    Cons

    casino players are nasty at times

    Caesars Entertainment2017-05-31
  3. "I loved my job. But management and HR is awful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pastry Cook in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow and learn. Can make a friend here and there. There is a few cooks in the employee cafe that can actually cook. So get something made fresh. Lunch is only $3. Salad bar. All sorts of drinks. Popcorn machine. Cereal station. Deserts.

    Cons

    It reminded me of highschool. All sorts of drama. Managers are in relationships with employees. During interviews they do ask you to act a scene or do something stupid. Never understood why. Majority of the cooks and chefs does not have any experience, school training, or serve safe certification. Pay rates are super low compared to any other casino. Restrooms are dirty through out the casino especially locker rooms. Never any toilet paper or soap. Carpet smells. EVS doesn't clean. So much more.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-06-29
  4. "Possibilities have a price..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Joliet, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive benefit package, numerous employee discounts for local businesses, furniture, and vacations. Comeraderie is inconsistent between the departments, but there are many good, caring people working there.

    Cons

    It's the casino business, so kiss your weekends and holidays goodbye. Several departments woefully short staffed, resulting in extremely limited PTO time being approved other than bid weeks. Morale over the last 18 months has decidedly declined, partially due to "brain drain" of top level executives to other companies.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-06-05

    Caesars Entertainment Response

    June 8, 2017Director of Corporate Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and advice to management. You're right that the 24/7 nature of our business is a reality but it's important that we're open for our guests when they want to spend time with us! As for your other concerns, we will share these with the leadership team in Joliet so we can look into it together!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Place to Grow a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best company I am aware of to grow a career. A ton of senior executives started in junior roles and were consistently given opportunities to grow quickly. A place where your merit and ability matter than "juice." This company is the biggest hiring ground for other casino companies -- that should tell you something about the reputation Caesars and its employees have in the industry. The C Suite of Affinity, Penn & Pinnacle is basically all ex Caesars employees. Should tell you something about the pedigree there.

    Cons

    Other than nit picky stuff, none. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend 12 years

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-05-13

    Caesars Entertainment Response

    May 25, 2017Director of Corporate Human Resources

    So glad to hear that you had a great experience growing your career with us! Thank you for sharing your review.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Company to Work For."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in New Orleans, LA

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's much opportunity to make advancement into different jobs while working at Harrah's Casino. Without a doubt this was also where I've made the most money in my career working as a Food Server.

    Cons

    This was an extremely demanding place to work because I found myself working every holiday imaginable and having almost no time to myself because I was stuck working so much. As a server inside their VIP I found myself struggling to simply get through school because I spent so much time working every week. This isn't a place to work if you intend to spend time with your family or friends during busy events or holidays because they need all the people they can get.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-05-13
  7. "Dealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casino Dealer in Hammond, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meet new people, develop long lasting friendships, parking, benefits

    Cons

    Management, pay, company only cares about money and numbers not the employees. The pay is steadily decreasing while the top bosses who are running the casino in the ground are earning more.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-03-29
  8. "Very disorganized six-month course and the pay is not worth in the long run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Card Dealer in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caesars Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work at the casino once you get out of the academy.

    Cons

    The full list is below and management as a lot to do get make this a great place to work. See Advice to Management, below.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-03-16
  9. "Enterprise Analytics - Great Place to Start and Learn, but not to Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Caesars for many years from an entry level analyst up to management and I have to say that they have the right state of mind on how an analysis should be done. They also have a vast data warehouse with all the information you’ll need to help improve the business. As hotels or casinos go from a data perspective, top notch. Nobody else is even close. This being said, I would be very cautious on working for them and I’ll explain why. Overall the analytics department is comprised of the below sub-units that are specialized areas that service various components of the organization in a matrix style format. Some descriptions about them are below: Gaming – You help analyze and optimize the slots and table games business. Data Logistics – You are the central key to everything. You automate a lot of the reports and create data packages in Microstrategy or Cognos for the subunits to use. Also you’re the only ones “allowed” to learn SQL. On-Property – You are the property level expert and right hand person of the property management Casino Marketing – You help with the casino host sales strategy and work in Salesforce a lot Marketing – Standard retail marketing analytics found everywhere Hospitality/Labor – Pretty much anything non-gaming like hotel and F&B with labor optimization as well Revenue Management* – Hotel pricing and yielding principles Finance* - Annual plan help along with forecasting and board meeting decks

    Cons

    There are three fundamental problems with the organization that inhibit them from the horrendous turnover they have. The first is the industry itself. Every leader in this company grew up in the glory days of “build it and they will come” so essentially they’ve never had to think. They’ve just had to show up and “do things.” This is a problem when you come up with new ideas that go against the management’s old school way of thinking. So you have to fight tooth and nail to get even the most obvious of initiatives implemented. The second is a fatal flaw in the organizational structure itself with the Data Logistic team. They are understaffed and filled with management that have great intentions, but don’t execute on anything effectively. Imagine DL is the center of the circle where all the data is housed and all the other sub-departments are dependent on it. If DL is terrible, the rest suffer thus the entire system fails. If they cut one analyst from all the sub-units and placed another in DL at least internal functionality within Enterprise Analytics would be efficient. The third and final is that Caesars pulls a bait and switch on college grads. They sell the Vegas party lifestyle and fun atmosphere, but then place these people in the old school corporate America, suit and tie environments. All the while these people’s friends from university are all at Google and Facebook having Nerf gun fights and constantly innovating on growth mindset ideas. Essentially casinos are fun to be in and enjoy, not to work for. So what happens is that most of these people leave within a year, pay a penalty to do so, but excel in their new jobs because Caesars taught them the right way to go about analysis. And only 1/10 leave to other casinos. The rest leave to startups or tech companies that are far more interesting. So should you work for Caesars? Short answer is, if you have no other choice…yes, but leave after 2 years and get a better job somewhere else. The only people who stay are those with roots in Las Vegas or the even smaller portion of people who just love gambling or hospitality. If this isn’t you then beware. It’s a bankrupt company that is not growing and constantly piling on responsibility on you when the other guy quits. This works you to the bone and burns you out ever so fast. Now I’ll leave you with the “real” definitions of the sub units below. This is what you’re actually going to have to deal with for the next two years of your life if you decide to work here. Gaming – There is software you can buy that can do what they do, but it’s cheaper to get entry-level analysts to mindlessly grind away manually in Excel. Data Logistics – Your manager teaches you to deliver mediocre work and everyone hates you because all of your projects are late and insufficient to the original scope. Everyone knows you’re in a no-win situation at least though. On-Property – You are a slave to your property. They know you’ll quit in a year so they squeeze everything they humanly can out of you until you break. Budget season is absolute hell. Casino Marketing – Any cool strategy stuff you could be doing is always overridden by horrible processes that they refuse to fix. Probably honestly the least analytical of all the departments too. Marketing – Your management is a revolving door of underwhelming leaders that can’t enthuse the largest and most famous piece of Enterprise Analytics. I would say though that THIS IS WHERE YOU WANT TO BE. Everybody on the planet does marketing analytics and Caesars is famous for it. Hospitality/Labor – All over the place depending on the reign. They were lackluster, then great, then was a complete mess. You have far more clients than the other sub units with even less resources. Plus, half of your job is trying to fire as many people as possible. Avoid at all costs. Revenue Management* – Can’t keep a management team to save their lives and half the team are indifferent people with little ambition. Probably has the highest amount of expectations that always falls short outside of DL. Finance* - Probably the least rewarding of them all. About 75% of your time is creating board decks for TPG and Apollo about source material you know nothing about as you live in the clouds and rely on information from the rest of the group that lives in the weeds. Your world is a never ending rotation of mindless PowerPoints delivered to people you grow to despise. *You’re in EA, but not really. Depends on how the wind blows

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-02-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Casino Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casino Host in Atlantic City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caesars Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The casino has employee dining room which opens 24 hours. It saves you a lot of expenses and time on food, if you can tolerate the quality of the food. Also you get to meet different people if you work in the frontier, which helps you build up a pretty nice range of connections if you can choose the right people to keep in touch with.

    Cons

    The benifits and treatments are different between departments. You need to choose departments wisely. I dont mind working long hours and holidays.but certain departments abuse their employee badly and treat employees unfairly. Also choose the property wisely. If you are minority, the discrimination is still very obvious between coworks in Atlantic city. very low pay with extremely long hours (50+)of working, especially for salary employees.

    Continue reading
    Caesars Entertainment2017-01-19

    Caesars Entertainment Response

    February 2, 2017Director of Corporate Human Resources

    I appreciate you sharing your concern and we take these issues very seriously. I've connected with your Human Resources leader in Atlantic City and she's eager for you to visit your property's HR office so we can investigate the situation as quickly as possible.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Viewing 31 - 40 of 158 Reviews