Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec CEO Michael J. Sabia (no image)
Michael J. Sabia
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Quality people, stimulating environment, sense of purpose, good work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "French language skills an impediment to recruiting and advancement(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time

    Pros

    great work culture. nice office.

    Cons

    nothing in particular. small scale.

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2018-07-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Portfolio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Portfolio Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, technically skilled, collegial

    Cons

    Compensation under market. French language skills an impediment to recruiting and advancement

    Advice to Management

    Add English alongside French as the official company language

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2018-02-07
  3. "CDPQ Montréal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Développeur 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and beautiful office !

    Cons

    A bit stressful depending on the project

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-10-22
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managing director help you progressing in your career.

    Cons

    A Lot of working hours.

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-07-13
  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Treasury Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary with good benefits

    Cons

    Not flexible to work from home

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-07-06
  6. "Director, Direct Investments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time

    Pros

    High quality people, good leadership, a sense of purpose, fabulous pipeline of investment opportunities, great reputation within the industry and with portfolio companies, and Montreal is an outstanding city to live in.

    Cons

    Very little career progression - most senior roles get filled with external hires; senior management is way too sensitive to the French local media; too many staff (i.e. non-investment) departments and people, which results in too much bureaucracy and some cottage industries

    Advice to Management

    Start investing in developing your people and make it the norm to promote from within; flatten the organization - the bottom 7 layers do all of the actual investment work, hence there is probably no need for 4 additional levels above that.

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-05-01
  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and career opportunities

    Cons

    I don't really see cons

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-04-28
  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time

    Pros

    Good deal flow and exposure

    Cons

    Sometimes political Very top heavy

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-04-11
  9. "Intern Analyse at an investment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time

    Pros

    I Lean a lot everyday

    Cons

    I don't see cons to my job

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-02-08
  10. "Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec full-time

    Pros

    Great exposure to world financial markets, access to world-renowned experts, exposure to many transactions in different asset classes

    Cons

    Highly politicized environment, career progression is a non-linear not very predictable path

    Advice to Management

    Value human capital

    Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec2019-01-24
Found 45 reviews