Cal-Am Properties, Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Cal-Am Properties, Inc. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cory S Sukert
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Cal-Am has fantastic people and manages a growing and diverse portfolio of resorts and communities. This provides room for career growth and advancement and ensures that those who are driven will never be bored. The culture is one of continuous improvement which provides challenging but rewarding opportunities. Great place to work and build a career!

    Cons

    Like any company there are minor things that could be improved but the pros far outweigh any cons. Cal-Am is extremely realistic in its understanding of where it can improve and is continuously focused on incremental improvements in those areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-03-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If you are a manager, there are a few perks, such as 2 weeks vacation your first year.

    Cons

    The company is a very militant set up... top down, extremely aggressive, Scientology flavored model of business. Extreme disregard for tenants, and slightly less for employees.

    Advice to Management

    There is not much to say... its rule by fear, and CEO Corey is leading the charge.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2018-03-29
  3. "I loved working here for the most part!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work if you know how to talk to people. Great job if you like a fast-paced work environment. I would definitely recommend for someone who needs a temporary job between October/November to mid-April.

    Cons

    Because the job is only temporary it's hard to find staff that actually want to work and be pleasant.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just hire anyone with a pulse, sometimes it makes it worse than not having anyone at all.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are no pros with this company.

    Cons

    Absoutely awful company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and when they say there is an issue pay attention.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-06-30
  5. "Growing, thriving, and progesing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Growth, personal touch, cares about properties, residents, and employees

    Cons

    Company is trying to catch up procedures with rapid growth.

    Advice to Management

    There have been many positive changes the last couple years and we look forward to seeing more positive progression.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-02-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Resort Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resort Manager in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding working with the residents.

    Cons

    Director micro manages. Work is never done. 55-65 hours a week. Director has no people skills, is a narcissist and a bully at times. Cal Am keeps raising yearly rates and causing residents to have to sell. Cal Am won't upgrade their wi-fi equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your managers. Remove the current director and hire a new one.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-02-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Military style service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. part-time

    Pros

    You can treat customers in a degrading manner, and nobody cares.

    Cons

    All the management treats everyone in a degrading manner. The pay is sub-par, the benefits are below average, this is just a place to work at while you look for a better job. There is nothing about Cal Am that I would remember in a positive way.

    Advice to Management

    Take some customer service and employee management classes. Learn how to treat people.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2017-01-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Utilities Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Can use the amenities here

    Cons

    Pay is not on par

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2016-09-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my experience working and learning there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Administration/Special Projects in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    - Executives, HR, Accountants, and managers are all clear and easy to coordinate with. - CEO is enormously gracious with how he treats his employees in the workplace, to make their space as comfortable as possible. - Corporate office is very flexible with administrative suggestions and database strategies.

    Cons

    - I wasn't satisfied with the wage I received and the difficulty assigning my health care benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Offices need to be more diligent with health care benefit procedures for new employees.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2016-05-26
  10. "courtesy patrol officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Patrol Officer in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cal-Am Properties, Inc. for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great staff, great conditions to work

    Cons

    As i think about it there is none, really.

    Cal-Am Properties, Inc.2016-05-17
Found 24 reviews