Cal Poly Pomona Reviews | Glassdoor

Cal Poly Pomona Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Cal Poly Pomona CEO J. Michael Ortiz
J. Michael Ortiz
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Maximum of 20 hours per week if I remember correctly(in 8 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage but very common in student assistant positions on campus(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best student job on campus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stockroom Tech Assistant in Pomona, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great Job, easy, lots of down time. Great bosses!

    Cons

    There are no cons to this job.

    Advice to Management

    They are the best bosses I'll probably ever have.

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-07-29
  2. "Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Artist in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good experience, easy work, somewhat flexible hours

    Cons

    low pay, unorganized hierarchy, politics

    Advice to Management

    get on the same page, eliminate miscommunications, get project management system, hold people accountable

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-08-05
  3. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor 

    I have been working at Cal Poly Pomona full-time

    Pros

    benefits are great, vacation accrual is great,

    Cons

    large institution, sometimes change takes a long time

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-07-05
  4. "Good and cheap university."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cheap with great education program.

    Cons

    dead campus. people aren't stay at campus.

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-07-02
  5. "Awesome place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Parking, Food, Flexible and overall excellent.

    Cons

    Parking is always challenging.

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-06-07
  6. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very easy going and keeps material fresh.

    Cons

    Not much. You have to be motivated and self guided.

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-06-18
  7. "Best place to work for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Service Officer in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - extremely flexible hours to fit a students life with schedules made by students for students with final exams kept in mind. - highly supportive team that always has your back even in the most stressful of situations - gain real world experience to deal with conflicts that other jobs will rarely ever teach you. - great place to mature for freshmen’s - get to know your campus inside and out like no other student...

    Show More

    Cons

    - moderate safety risk / employment hazard. - daily risk of confrontation with guests of campus who don’t get their way. - must have high integrity - high level of professionalism is required.

    Advice to Management

    Do not take away duties from the community service officers. The diversity of their job is what helps build their resume for years to come. Give them the trust you’d give your regular parking officers especially to those who have seniority.

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-05-29
  8. "Best job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Works around your class schedule Provides time to work on assignments Wonderful and kind people to work with Good starting pay Great opportunity to gain experience

    Cons

    Students are usually nice, but occasionally there are some that can get pushy and don't understand the limitations of each department

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-05-21
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Worker 

    I have been working at Cal Poly Pomona part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule, works around class schedule

    Cons

    Limited work hours allowed for

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-05-28
  10. "Best place to work at educational institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal Poly Pomona part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Compensation and relax work environment

    Cons

    Didn't find any. So quiet work place

    Cal Poly Pomona2019-05-09
Found 223 reviews