Cal State East Bay Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Cal State East Bay Student Reviews

Updated Mar 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cal State East Bay President Leroy M. Morishita
Leroy M. Morishita
8 Ratings
  1. "Full Time Computer Engineering Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student in Livermore, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    Great people, diverse campus, easy to get along with others you are working with.

    Cons

    If you can get a student job there, the pay grade is normally very low compared to what other types of menial work could be. The job may be worth taking for experience, but if money is needed to pay for school, then it is not an option. Plus with the heavy quarter course system, it can make it very hard to have any type of life outside of school and work.

    Cal State East Bay2016-06-07
  2. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Union City, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    Best for Part Time Work with Study!

    Cons

    There is not much cons for work!

    Cal State East Bay2016-05-26
  3. "Great work for the young academic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Research Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    Treats student employees with respect and allows the students freedom to focus on research and schoolwork.

    Cons

    The pay scale is low and you are giving a $0.50 raise ever 6 months which is tough for a student. If it weren't for my love of the research and staff it would be hard to do the wor with the pay rate.

    Cal State East Bay2015-07-22
  4. "Studend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good experiences studying and working with the CSUEB.

    Cons

    The hours are low and it's doesn't provide enough courses for student.

    Cal State East Bay2015-05-14
  5. "Very Good Experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Instructional Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has a very great learning platform.

    Cons

    There is no cons.

    Cal State East Bay2015-03-11
  6. "Cal State East Bay is a great school that is full of diversity, great academics, and good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus. Great counselors and staff. Excellent professors. Personal growth overtime. Helps maintain a work-life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough parking for students. Not enough events.

    Cal State East Bay2014-11-11
  7. "Good and bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone seemed really nice and hard working. It was a comfortable and student focused environment.

    Cons

    I worked the whole time not knowing if I was performing adequately. There was no correction and no praise. Then one Friday, I was pulled in and told it would be my last day. I was told it was due to lack of funding for my position, and that I was welcome back. A few weeks later, I got an email from the software they use telling me the account was being transferred to another email. I guess that's my replacement. Not sore about being let go, I'm sore about being deceived.

    Continue reading
    Cal State East Bay2014-11-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unfair treatment, poor wage, and mediocre management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively easy work, lots of down time. Driving golf carts around campus.

    Cons

    Management cracks under pressure and are offensive towards the student assistants. No room for growth, lack of communication. Show favoritism, treat workers who they do not have a connection with like lesser individuals. Raises are nonexistent for non favorite employees.

    Continue reading
    Cal State East Bay2014-09-26
  9. "Great time working with great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to work with/for great people, had a job I loved, scheduling was flexible, convenient with being on-campus.

    Cons

    Low to average hourly wages, paychecks come once a month instead of bi-weekly, hours are limited during school sessions.

    Continue reading
    Cal State East Bay2013-11-13
  10. "It has been a great learning experience full of interesting people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people and learning how to interact with foreign speakers.

    Cons

    A lot of paperwork and downtime.

    Cal State East Bay2013-10-24
Found 32 reviews