Cal State East Bay "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cal State East Bay Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
74%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Cal State East Bay President Leroy M. Morishita
Leroy M. Morishita
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good work environment, helpful peers(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people, diverse campus, easy to get along with others you are working with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons except they pay a minimum wage(in 10 reviews)

  • "low pay, AND management is very inefficient(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Math Tutor at SCAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Hayward, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Jen and Ditas are amazing bosses, most students take constructive criticism well and heed advice when necessary, very friendly work environment

    Cons

    I would not change a thing

    Cal State East Bay2019-10-01
  2. "Student Assistant for Duplicating Services at CSU East Bay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cal State East Bay part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work environment, helpful peers

    Cons

    It was only part time

    Cal State East Bay2019-08-19
  3. "A BAD PLACE TO WORK. Especially in the AACE department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, but only if you plan to stick around for at least 10 years.

    Cons

    Not paid well; not a "living" wage. A very "student-focused" culture. Employees go unrecognized and unrewarded for their efforts. A definite bias toward employees coming in from outside CSUEB. Not supported and (in AACE) overly criticized. An unwritten culture of "figure it out"; don't ask questions because you should already know the answer. Very stressful work environment and no place to go to just relax.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on your employees. We are working hard every day to take care of ALL the students. We need to be recognized and rewarded for doing our job. Also, be more transparent about the culture at CSUEB. People coming from other companies need to know about the "figure it out" mentality and all the unwritten rules that are part of the campus culture. It isn't fair to "outsiders" to assume that they know all this before coming in. There is a lot of bias against employees coming in from outside of CSUEB. Thirdly, make things fair across the board -- salaries that employees can actually live on; equitable treatment of employees in all departments. In other words, NO BULLYING by overbearing supervisors. Allow EVERYONE to have a space to call their own that represents them as individuals (I have noticed many spaces very personalized, while others are not allowed to do so). Lastly, create a space where employees can get some downtime away from their job. A "quiet room" would allow over-stressed employees who are "on" all the time a chance to relax. It would definitely increase productivity and reduce sick days. If you care about your employees, and not just your students, you need to make some changes.

    Show More
    Cal State East Bay2018-12-12
  4. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance; good community; friendly work environment

    Cons

    Slow progression; decision takes long time to make

    Advice to Management

    professional development

    Cal State East Bay2018-03-28
  5. "Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good work environment.

    Cons

    Can take a while to accomplish tasks with all the red tape.

    Cal State East Bay2017-12-28
  6. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay full-time

    Pros

    This is a hidden jewel up for higher education. Small campus means you get to know many more employees than larger campuses. Can-do attitude. It's the most diverse campus in the continental US, in terms of student representation. Very positive experience.

    Cons

    Not unlike most organizations, there are a few unhappy or unmotivated people that don't add anything positive to the work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on investing in people, believe in them, and don't forget that the majority of employees are working really hard and doing their best. Emphasize the work/life balance that LEEP brings to the organization. Make sure that you address the needs of your employees and they'll work even harder to be their very best.

    Cal State East Bay2017-08-12
  7. "Sr.Records Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager/Trainer in Castro Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, nice people in the building. Very busy and upbeat, with knowledgable managers and administrators.

    Cons

    They should not charge us to park at our own job.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to thank your employees when a job is well done. If an employee is doing a great job, don't micro manage.

    Cal State East Bay2016-11-07
  8. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Hayward, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    Perfect work environment for a students.

    Cons

    No cons. I really enjoyed working there as a student.

    Cal State East Bay2016-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay

    Pros

    The work environment will vary from department to department. I would rate my department, which deals with advising students as 5-Stars and the university as 4-Stars. Overall CSU East Bay is a fun, diverse, and welcoming place to work. There are many great faculty and staff that care about the students and university. The students are wonderful and the reason I love my job, besides the good team of co-workers I work alongside. The university is taking the opportunity of semester conversion to look at areas of improvement and transformation and not just shifting the same ole' same ole'.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some convoluted university policies or practices that create unnecessary barriers for students and the faculty/staff that want to help them. It would be great if decision makers, had a deep understanding of "why", as well as how such a policy or practice serves the students and/or growth of the institution, and not just continue outdated practices because it's been that way. - There can be a mentally of "enabling" or "just wait until they retire" mentally when it comes to faculty/staff/administrators/department with a reputation of bad/sub-par work ethics. There needs to be more accountability when this occurs, the same problem with the same employee shouldn't be allowed to continue for years, just because they've been there for a long time. It effects the quality of service to students and the reputation of the university.

    Show More
    Cal State East Bay2016-10-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "University Extension: GREAT department to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Services Professional III in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cal State East Bay for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -excellent boss(es)/supervisors -work schedule can be flexible as long as you meet the 40 hrs/wk (if you work f/t) and/or achieve your responsibilities -excellent benefits including fee waiver for education for you or your dependents -Long Term Satisfactory Bonus (5% lump sum of your annual salary for your 10th yr of employment (full time & continuous) - it's from the CSU Chancellor's office

    Cons

    -pay is lower than market average (or your private sector counterpart), it might be even lower than your comparable counterpart at another (larger) CSU campus like San Jose State or SF State -work environment -- cube farm & loud talkers -- very hard to concentrate (we are in the newest building on campus (Student & Faculty Services Bldg))

    Advice to Management

    -next time you create a space/new building for employees please make sure to ask us (the ones who will actually be "living" in the space). the cubicle arrangement is awful.

    Cal State East Bay2016-09-06
Found 14 reviews