Caliber Communications "door to door" Reviews | Glassdoor

Caliber Communications Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Michael Hammond
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Door to door sales can be tough for those without high ambition / drive(in 8 reviews)

  • "Management claims that their goal is to be an upfront, honest door-to-door sales company because so many are corrupt(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "So much potential to be a good company, so little ability to admit wrongs and do right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caliber Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will gain experience working with very difficult people in very difficult situations. It's a really great skill to take into your career.

    Cons

    The C-suite and executive level management are not business people, they are sales people. In my time there I watched many hard working corporate employees be treated terribly by a sales rep, and then management would take the side of the rep, and tell the employee to be better at tending to the rep's needs. It was absolutely degrading and humiliating to never have the leaders of the company back you up. Basically all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Consider their opinions before you consider a 1099 contractor's opinion. Secondly, build your sales reps into good people, not good manipulator's. The sales reps, managers and VP's are some of the most difficult people I have ever had to work with. All of them have the potential to be really hardworking, successful people AND nice people, but the company allows them to treat people...

    Show More
    Caliber Communications2019-02-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "You get what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caliber Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Brand name of Dish helps to sell easier on the doors -Lots if shady D2D companies out there , Caliber is not one of them . Have complete trust I’ll get paid for my work . -Uncapped income potential. Can make a lot of money off your personal sales as well as recruiting and training others to do the same .

    Cons

    -Door to door sales can be tough for those without high ambition / drive . -Sometimes weather is super hot, cold, or rainy. -Must be willing to sacrifice a lot of personal life during the summer season to ensure best results .

    Caliber Communications2019-01-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caliber Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience selling door-to-door. All you do is help people who are currently paying for TV get all of the same channels while upgrading their equipment and lowering their bill.

    Cons

    Satellite is a great way to get started in sales, but you won't make as much as with other industries such as pest control or security.

    Advice to Management

    Don't put 2 first-year managers in charge of an office without some sort of more experienced backup.

    Caliber Communications2017-09-09
  4. "Avoid doing an internship there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Intern in Toledo, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caliber Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    Gaining experience doing door to door sales

    Cons

    I was never paid for my work during there "Spring Break Blitz"

    Caliber Communications2017-08-31
  5. "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Caliber Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is one of the best ways to make as much money as you want to very quickly. There is no cap to what you can make, it's you signing your paycheck. You meet some very cool people along the way.

    Cons

    Obiously it's a door to door sales job so you have to deal with some jerks. However, the pitch is designed that if you do it right, most people simply can't be mean to you unless they are just having a horrible day.

    Advice to Management

    The culture is great, and I always had a great time being with the team. Something I would change is making sure people actually work. There were a ton of people that would go sit in a park for half of the day.

    Caliber Communications2016-09-16
  6. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Caliber Communications

    Pros

    Personally, this internship was one of the best learning experiences I have ever had. Learning the art of persuasion and gaining experience in sales was a very beneficial as I had no prior experience in the field. However, dealing with the mental struggle of door to door sales and overcoming challenges in finding new ways to motivate myself was a monumental step forward in personal development and the managers were there...

    Show More

    Cons

    There were a few occasions where management would over promise and under deliver. Payment on a consistent basis at the start of the internship was a struggle for the company.

    Advice to Management

    When offering incentives and or making promises to employees for motivation follow through with the promise. Paint a clear picture of what is expected of the sales representatives and assist them in achieving those goals.

    Caliber Communications2016-02-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Housing in Provo, UT

    I have been working at Caliber Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for DishOne since December 2013. I have worked in my current position since August 2014. The company is constantly working on ways to improve it's ability to provide top quality service to its sales rep team, and its full time and part employees. My supervisors and team are allowed supervised freedom to pursue avenues that provide customers and employees with increasing better service. I've sat in on numerous...

    Show More

    Cons

    At times the work load is intense but nothing compared to that of Investment bankers. I try to keep my work load in perspective to those who have much more demanding jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. That is offering individuals an opportunity to learn, grow, and gain experience working in teams. I have never dreaded going to work everyday. I respect that.

    Caliber Communications2015-09-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "DO NOT WASTE YOUR SUMMER. ANY OTHER COMPANY IS BETTER."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caliber Communications

    Pros

    Honestly there is not a single pro with working for this company unless you like being lied to, stolen from and cheated out of a summer.

    Cons

    When I signed to Dish One I came from another door to door company selling the same product, Dish Network. I didn't have a very good experience my first summer and was really excited about having a better opportunity with DishOne. I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG. They promised us corporate techs.. they gave us untrained and unmotivated techs that had no idea what they were doing....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to everybody just to line your own pockets.

    Caliber Communications2015-03-31
  9. "Incredible opportunity - amazing culture and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Caliber Communications full-time

    Pros

    - Very fun culture that still challenges you - Amazing people - The company is growing fast - Legitimacy of being part of DISH - a Fortune 250, multi-billion dollar organization - Executives really care about employees

    Cons

    - Door-to-door is a very challenging and sometimes volatile industry - The rapid growth has caused some challenges

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in great talent. Only hiring "A players" across the board, but especially in management roles is the greatest gift to existing employees.

    Caliber Communications2014-09-19

    Caliber Communications Response

    October 6, 2014Chief Creative Officer

    Thank you for your review. We are grateful for our honest and hard-working employees here at DishOne.

Found 69 reviews