Cover image for Caliber Home Loans
Logo

Caliber Home Loans

Is this your company?

Caliber Home Loans

Add a Review

Caliber Home Loans Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 29, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,047 of over 1K reviews
3.3
43% Recommend to a Friend
69% Approve of CEO

Found 49 of over 1K reviews

3.3
43%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Caliber Home Loans CEO Sanjiv Das (no image)
Sanjiv Das
520 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

3m

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

39

12 Comments

Finance

147.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Caliber Home Loans~720618
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Caliber Home Loans? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Caliber Home Loans employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Caliber Home Loans and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The potential acquisition with New Rez has destroyed this company

    Jul 7, 2021 - Loan Officer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Decent PTO and Pay Structure -Great environment to learn

    Cons

    - Terrible work life Balance - Upper management did not seem to have any regard for our well being

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    This is how I feel

    Feb 28, 2022 - Customer Contact Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -They start matching 401k right away (at least for me they did) -Their benefits package is great -it is remote (for now)

    Cons

    -They force you to work mandatory OT and some Saturdays -Not really any work/life balance it is mainly work -You do sales and customer service at the same time, so 2 jobs but you get paid like you are doing 1 -Communication between employees/especially management is horrific -Rarely feel appreciated

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Caliber Home Loans team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Registration Analyst

    Oct 4, 2018 - Production Assistant in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have benefits such as 401k and health care

    Cons

    You will be miserable. Management needs improvement and the company as a whole is on a downward spiral. They are doing layoffs frequently and are pushing outsourcing and really do not care about their employees. Also super high turnover rate. There is only a work life balance because OT is banned. They will write you up for 1 minute of OT.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Yep

    Mar 26, 2021 - SMB Account Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money money opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Hours and work life balance

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good mortgage company with the ability to weather market fluctuations

    Mar 8, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Career Opportunities: It seems like the company does a good job of elevating talent from within to fill vacant positions. Several individuals I work with have been promoted internally to their current position. Compensation & Benefits: I'm paid abundantly fair, and I think the company does a great job of paying individuals at or above market rates. Benefits are pretty standard, but I was surprised at the lower costs of insurance compared to my last company. There are a few perks at the corporate offices which are kind of cool, but are probably not going to be enough to sway anyone making employment decisions. Work/Life Balance: In the area I work in at corporate, I feel like my time is respected. I've never felt like I couldn't call in sick, and I haven't ever had a time-off request denied. Senior Management: Most of the executives and business leaders that I work with are fairly down-to-earth, and all of them are extremely smart. Culture & Values: The company is very military-friendly, which is cool because veterans deserve all the opportunities we can provide them.

    Cons

    Career Opportunities: For me personally, I think I've reached my career ceiling here; this is in large part due to the fact that Caliber is quite saturated with management/executives. Compensation & Benefits: No cons here. Work/Life Balance: There will be maybe one or two late nights per month in the area that I work. Senior Management: A handful of executive leaders can be difficult to work with; many will make urgent, last-minute requests because of reactive (rather than proactive) tendencies. Culture & Values: I'm sure this tendency is endemic in the industry and beyond, but it seems like the company is often held hostage by sales leadership. Decisions are frequently made that might not be the best financially or strategically. We're hesitant to stir the pot with our friends in production to a fault.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Caliber Home Loans Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear you are having a positive experience. We are making improvements to our company wide communication processes including a quarterly leadership forum and on the spot videos of our executives discussing the direction of the business. And, on the culture and leadership improvement front, we are undertaking a series of employee surveys so we can better identify areas where we need to improve. These surveys will be coming to all employees in the near future... we want to hear your input! Thank you again.

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great until the merge

    Sep 30, 2022 - Loan Officer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    After merge it lost the intimate work environment. You became just a number and not a person.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company

    Oct 26, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management and support are second to none.

    Cons

    Sink or swim atmosphere. Life to work balance can be difficult.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Marketing Dept in Shambles

    Jul 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learn new skills..? Pay was good.

    Cons

    No work/life balance Constant change in management Many, many hours Verbal Abuse

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    An okay Place

    Aug 16, 2016 - Software Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Fast Growing Decent Pay

    Cons

    High Employee turn over rate

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Okay

    Oct 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was excellent if you’re good

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Caliber Home Loans Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Caliber Home Loans? Share Your Experiences

Caliber Home Loans logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Caliber Home Loans Photos

+ Add Photo
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Working Courageously
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Superhero to spooky animals and haunted ghouls, Caliber Home Loans wishes everybody a safe and Happy Halloween! Check out these cool costumes from our awesome employees.
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Caliber's Learning team volunteered at the Veterans Resource Center in Dallas recently, sorting clothing to be distributed to homeless veterans.
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Our 4th Annual Thanksgiving Extravaganza for more than 500 onsite employees..It’s our way of giving back and saying “Thank you” to the professionals who run our firm.
Caliber Home Loans photo of: The Caliber Home Loans Bothell Branch recently raised funds to help the YWCA USA's Adopt a Family program to share the joy of the holidays, helping over 1400 low income and homeless families!
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Who has Caliber spirit? Our newest class of producers. Like this post to say "Welcome" to the team!
Caliber Home Loans photo of: Supporting our military and veterans extends far beyond VA Loans. That is why we love partnering with The Warrior's Keep for events like their recent mountain hike.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Caliber Home Loans Job Seekers Also Viewed

Nationstar Mortgage Logo
Nationstar Mortgage

3.0

786 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,047 Caliber Home Loans reviews submitted anonymously by Caliber Home Loans employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Caliber Home Loans is right for you.