California Bank & Trust Reviews | Glassdoor

California Bank & Trust Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
David E. Blackford
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "They were voted San Diego best bank but they excessively solicit the voting entries internally through employee emails, so they win every year(in 4 reviews)

  • "Excellent reputation and great people(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no direction, no incentives for hard work(in 7 reviews)

  • "Utah and senior management have made a lot of financial mistakes that the front line have to absorb(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Overall a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Updated offices, friendly coworkers, and overall a very enjoyable company to work for!

    Cons

    The health insurance benefits are high-deductible plans, which forces employees to pay out of pocket for most of their health care.

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2019-03-08
  2. "Great Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Bank & Trust full-time

    Pros

    Great credit policy and the people are great to work with.

    Cons

    Compensation is average for the most part

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-06-01
  3. "Initiative Rollout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Team Lead 

    I worked at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Seasoned company supported by leading commercial bank.

    Cons

    Employee turnover; system not user friendly

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2019-07-20
  4. Helpful (4)

    "You won't like it here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Front line branch employees are wonderful with customers. The bank has a good reputation having won the San Diego Union Tribune poll for best bank several years (which employees at the bank vote for daily due to being nagged via email).

    Cons

    Where to start. Branch employees struggle with constantly changing systems and procedures with no one to contact for help. Scrambling for answers and being directed to email this or that department and the email address is defunct and no longer in service! Branches are managed by managers that play favorites among the employees. Cliquey, gossippy, back stabbing environment. Health insurance is high deductible and many employees avoid Dr visits due to cost. They go to drugstore Minute Clinics instead. Morale is low. My advice- work here as a last resort.

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "if you like abuse this is your home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California Bank & Trust part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can't think of any--85 degree bakery around the corner

    Cons

    sooo many.. This is the most negative place I have ever worked. I had to drive an hour and 15 min to get there in white knuckle traffic(which was the highlight of the day) pay to park and walk in to feel like I was the most stupid person alive. They NEVER acknowledged anything I did with a kind word and never a thank you other than from one person who i won't name. I was warned that 10 people hd quit this high school mentality twosome but thought I was strong -I was also told this by a lot of people that no one lasted there more than a year. They were right! If you smile, you are doomed. If you talk to the customer you are too friendly--don't do that without permission. A very hostile mean downtown environment. waste of time. The systems are from circa 1960 and that means calling on every deposit--the job itself not so bad--the management and i refer to two mainly are joined at the hip and if you don't say yes Ma'am you are doomed--run don't walk away from this dreadful place unless you like to feel and get talked to like you are worthless.

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2019-04-04
  6. "Not a horrible first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at California Bank & Trust part-time

    Pros

    Very easy job to learn. Just about anyone could be in banking and work their way up (regardless of academic experience) Close relationships with other employees and loyal customers

    Cons

    Near impossible to report harassment to management /HR (they value the customer over the employee if they bring in big money) Some toxic work environment (employees like to gossip) Higher ups seem to reinforce office etiquette but break these rules constantly Always understaffed with a high turnover of employees Instances of wage gap/higher value of male employees

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-11-22
  7. "Conservative lending policies. Ease of access to help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location Great coworkers and managers Learning experience

    Cons

    Pay High deductible health insurance Okay contribution matching No true health and eye insurance, percentage cash reimbursement

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-10-25
  8. "Loan Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at California Bank & Trust

    Pros

    Stable job and this bank has been around for a long time

    Cons

    Benefits not so good in my opinion

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-10-25
  9. "BANKER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have nothing positive to say about this bank, worse place to work

    Cons

    The management treated me so bad.

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-10-03
  10. "Commercial Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California Bank & Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small market share so there's always marketing opportunities

    Cons

    OMG- benefits are the worst I've ever seen...you have to pay for your visit to the dentist then you have to send the bill to the insurance company. You get maybe 75% of your money back; the health care plan (Aetna) is the cheapest company plan in the market (my sister sells corporate benefits). It's just the worst - if you can come under a spouse's plan DO IT!

    Continue reading
    California Bank & Trust2018-10-02
Found 101 reviews