California College San Diego Reviews | Glassdoor

California College San Diego Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
California College San Diego CEO Eric Juhlin
Eric Juhlin
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Most individuals are not motivated to seek tutoring. You need to be prepared for an accelerated program."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - California College Specific Tutor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California College San Diego part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are better able to focus on your school work, engraining it further into your mind.

    Cons

    Those that do seek tutoring seem to wait until the third week of class and try to get help.

    Advice to Management

    Pre-screen applicants more thoroughly, Math and English 99 were not appropriate for the type of program you are endorsing.

    California College San Diego2013-11-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "As an adjunct instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Instructor, General Education in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California College San Diego full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Current student body in need of good education and thus the company provides opportunities for adjunct instructors to grow in their abilities

    Cons

    Lots of hours and a four week mod system where every month (basically) instructors have new students and teach subjects that cover a whole quarter in a mod.

    Advice to Management

    Value internal customers

    California College San Diego2012-11-21
  3. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RT Tutor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at California College San Diego full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was hired on as a RT tutor because of my grasp of the knowledge. I have worked there ever since I finished their RT associate program. This is a great place to work to sustain yourself and keep the knowledge fresh while searching for career work. Moreover, they allow you to make your own hours, and work as much or as little as you are willing.

    Cons

    Living in California can be expensive.

    California College San Diego2012-07-13
  4. "California College San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California College San Diego part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work if you made genuine connections with students and watch them succeed academically.

    Cons

    The college is currently on academic probation but working diligently with accreditors.

    Advice to Management

    Hold on to faculty that cares about students.

    California College San Diego2019-05-28
  5. "Violating Labor Laws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at California College San Diego part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teachers! The teachers have strong educational backgrounds and care very much for the students. There are good leaders within the system.

    Cons

    Violating labor laws by insisting that a class can be prepared for in the time they allow for it and penalizing instructors who put that time on their time card instead of doing it on their own time.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful, this is happening at all for-profit/non-profit private schools. All it takes is a number of employees documenting their work activities and there could be a labor law case or a class action. Pay teachers what they are worth.

    California College San Diego2019-04-18
  6. "Great place to start but corporate needs to straighten things out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California College San Diego full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start to learn about education if you want to work in high education, allows you to start later in the day and set your own schedule as long as it's within reason so you can save your PTO and sick days for appointments and what not. Employee perk of receiving a free degree is very beneficial.

    Cons

    Corporate is their own enemy by creating massive confusion. No set guideline of rules that change on a monthly basis for every department. Pay could also use a bit of a bump considering that the other nearby career schools pay more for the position than CCSD.

    Advice to Management

    While the campus director I would gladly work for any day, my advice to upper management is to put together a strict set of guidelines that employees can follow that they can depend on that wont change in a month.

    California College San Diego2019-03-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Make a difference in students lives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at California College San Diego full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Positive management.

    Cons

    Not too much room for growth. Little or no training, corporate wide, but you will get trained if you have a good manager. If not, you will get micromanaged.

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff. You have great people that work hard. Pay better or at least give your employees better health benefits! A potluck is not a Christmas Party!!

    California College San Diego2016-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "California College San Diego"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at California College San Diego

    Pros

    the employees are great to work with

    Cons

    need more updated equipment and technology

    California College San Diego2015-11-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Graduated for My Bachelors of Science in Healthcare Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at California College San Diego

    Pros

    CCSD makes it comprehensive and simple for students to attend and enroll in various programs.

    Cons

    I think that they should become regionally accredited instead of nationally accredited. I believe that the college credits and standards should be transferable to other well-known universities especially regionally accredited traditional universities.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that students and staff have all the tools and resources through networking connections. Those who graduate with honors should have more job opportunities in the marketplace regardless of the economy.

    California College San Diego2014-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A place that is ever-changing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at California College San Diego part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are friendly, The working environment is relaxed in the area that I work.

    Cons

    In my short time with this employer I have seen a lot of people let go.

    Advice to Management

    Set standards and stay with them, don't make changes for the sake of making changes.

    California College San Diego2014-03-26
Found 36 reviews