California College of the Arts Reviews | Glassdoor

California College of the Arts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
California College of the Arts CEO Stephen Beal
Stephen Beal
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Creative environment that truly strives to serve the students(in 6 reviews)

  • "They are always helping international students to get work study and they are available to answer to your questions when you need them(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "High expectations and low pay lead to burnout(in 8 reviews)

  • "The Bay Area doesn't need another tech company; CCA should value what it stands for as opposed to trying to play with the bigger kids(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California College of the Arts full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, ample PTO, ability to move up and around within the CCA and a chance to support emerging artist and talent.

    Cons

    Being a non-profit, the pay is less, but the trade-off is a solid job with great benefits and great staff!

    California College of the Arts2019-04-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Would love to work here full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California College of the Arts part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I found the students to be dedicated and talented. I loved the environment of creativity. My department was very supportive of me and my abilities.

    Cons

    Almost everyone is adjunct which may allow for more breadth of professionals teaching, but also means it is near impossible to get on full time and earn a living. Some of the faculty are amazing professionals with little teaching experience.

    California College of the Arts2019-04-17
  3. "Quiet environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Change Manager/Trainer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California College of the Arts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management, great opportunities, nice environment. Great work /life balance.

    Cons

    Very quiet, like working in a library. Great environment for introverts.

    Advice to Management

    None

    California College of the Arts2019-04-02
  4. "Friendly and fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at California College of the Arts part-time

      Pros

      The environment is nice, especially on the Oakland campus. People are friendly and helpful. It was a nice choice to work here.

      Cons

      Sometimes things tend to be a little disorganized.

      California College of the Arts2019-03-21
    • "Its ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student Worker 
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at California College of the Arts part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        The pay for work study students is pretty good Job is chill School is chill

        Cons

        Hard to find a job if you don't have a lot of work experience CCA is a messy place

        California College of the Arts2019-03-05
      • Helpful (3)

        "Don't Work Here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Program Manager in Oakland, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at California College of the Arts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The Oakland campus is set in the lovely Rockridge neighborhood, one of the best in Oakland.

        Cons

        Low salary, constant overwork, the massive turn over of the staff here - in most cases burning out workers within a year of starting. Run down facilities in OAK, lacking hygiene and heating in campus buildings. Too few offices and classrooms in the SF campus meaning there is nowhere to place yourself if you have to go the SF campus from OAK. Hard to make friends amongst the overstressed faculty and staff, no areas for...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Treat your staff and faculty with respect, take their concerns seriously, and award them a living wage for the Bay Area. Stop being obsessed with the SF campus architectural investment and start investing in the people who run your institution. Students are noticing and are starting to protest on campus for better conditions and transparency when it gets to that stage alarm bells should be going off.

        California College of the Arts2019-04-05
      • "Stop Motion Animation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Oakland, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at California College of the Arts part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Warm and friendly and inviting atmosphere.

        Cons

        The old Oakland facility is crumbling and in need of repairs that the new school being built in San Francisco will remedy.

        California College of the Arts2019-02-23
      • Helpful (2)

        "Toxic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        Current Employee - Adjunct 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at California College of the Arts part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        You'll occasionally meet some interesting people.

        Cons

        Toxic departmental culture: top-down, untrustworthy, gossip-centric, no transparency, politically motivated Faculty are powerless and frightened low pay

        Advice to Management

        PR is important, but it's not everything.

        California College of the Arts2018-12-18
      • "Work Study Student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at California College of the Arts part-time

        Pros

        Very understanding and kind managers. Good pay for the work, thorough training and excellent guidance.

        Cons

        Students are sometimes not understanding of our jobs.

        California College of the Arts2018-09-27
      • "Teacher Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at California College of the Arts part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        It's great to have an opportunity to work closely with the professor. Also, I feel it gives an opportunity to learn from other disciplines in the school.

        Cons

        It sometimes can come in the way of your work. But can always be solved by a conversation with the professor.

        California College of the Arts2018-09-19
      Found 103 reviews