California Department of General Services Reviews | Glassdoor

California Department of General Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
California Department of General Services CEO Daniel C Kim
Daniel C Kim
3 Ratings
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Technician 

    I have been working at California Department of General Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going work. Fun co-workers.

    Cons

    Boring at times, but hey it's a job

    California Department of General Services2019-05-09
  2. "Best Department of the State"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of General Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people. Flexible supervisors. Interesting Work (in accounting)

    Cons

    Could be more challenging. Technology used is buggy.

    California Department of General Services2019-04-24
  3. "DSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Governmental Program Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of General Services full-time

    Pros

    Great location - close to restuarants, coffee shops, midtown, light rail Modern office interior- low cubicle walls, modern colors, windows Potlucks/ staff celebrations Smaller Division - easier to become a subject matter expert. Friendly / hardworking / honest staff Great starting place to learn government AGPA role. Flexible schedules. Great work / life balance

    Cons

    Some overturn in executive managment in recent months. Some lack of documented and known institutional memory No free parking Not much room for professional growth within the division.

    California Department of General Services2019-04-16
  4. "State worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Department of General Services full-time

    Pros

    secure, working for the state is secure.

    Cons

    work with a lot of somewhat lazy people

    Advice to Management

    don't hire just your buddies

    California Department of General Services2018-09-24
  5. "Disabled employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of General Services full-time

    Pros

    The State job is a secure job with good healthcare benefits.

    Cons

    I'm a entry level custodian with job injuries, to young not to be able to have work. Or the the State of California not providing work . I have lots of other transferable skills that could place me in another position.

    Advice to Management

    Be more diverse and human.

    California Department of General Services2018-06-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Governmental Program Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Governmental Program Analyst in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of General Services for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great place to commute to since I'm only about ten minutes away. Parking in the garage next door is $65 per month as of January 2018. Small gym on premises. Most folks are helpful. Chill environment where a lot of workers take a break and even walk out on the river walk. Cafe on site. A lot of training opportunities are offered either through DGS University or off-site training. There are a lot of great managers depending...

    Show More

    Cons

    Old office cubicle furniture looks to be from the 1980s. I have been told a number of times that when presenting to an audience whether that's a meeting or a small group of people that I should wear a coat and tie. Definitely not like in private where a lot of execs might wear business casual. Cafe is below average. Many long timers are stuck in their old ways and it's difficult to have them be open to innovative ideas....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more relaxed with dress requirements. Incorporate more business casual wear with exec staff, management and especially rank and file. Be open to offering higher level jobs to those coming directly from private.

    California Department of General Services2018-01-22
  7. "account payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of General Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good people, nice environment, opportunity to grow

    Cons

    feel kind hanging out with same people all the time

    California Department of General Services2017-10-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I love where I work and the people I work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Staff Services Manager in West Sacramento, CA

      I have been working at California Department of General Services full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great group of intelligent, forward -thinking people

      Cons

      The state on average pays less than private sector.

      California Department of General Services2017-08-04
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at California Department of General Services

      Pros

      Inexpensive monthly parking on-site, telework opportunities, farmer's market weekly, waterfront walking trail, flexible work schedules

      Cons

      Cafeteria vendor (CalSTRS next door is WAY better), minimal safety security measures, micromanagement, limited food option nearby, hard to transition into management without managerial experience

      Advice to Management

      Be fair, honest and neutral

      California Department of General Services2016-11-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "AGPA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Sacramento, CA
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at California Department of General Services full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Flexible, parking available on site, good people to work with, and nice location.

      Cons

      Management lacks good communication with staff, assignments change too frequently so it is hard to maintain good customer service.

      California Department of General Services2016-04-17
    Found 16 reviews