California Department of Industrial Relations Reviews | Glassdoor

California Department of Industrial Relations Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Christine Baker
18 Ratings
  1. "Good Place to Start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time

    Pros

    Manageable work load. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Lower pay than other jobs. (As expected from government jobs)

    California Department of Industrial Relations2019-01-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Mission, Rotten in Action"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An old fashioned retirement and lifetime medical benefits, if you can survive.

    Cons

    Terrible management. Toxic work environment at its worst. Nepotism, favoritism, cronyism.

    Advice to Management

    A power enema is needed to flush out all of upper, midlevel and first line management.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2019-03-06
  3. "Good dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Good Job 

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations

    Pros

    Good stable and friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Location availability can hinder promotions.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2019-01-29
  4. "State Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time

    Pros

    Typical state job. Decent pay for what I do.

    Cons

    Building near city hall in SF so there are tons of homelessness and crap on the ground.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2019-01-09
  5. "Great benefits, easy work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Service Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable, busy work. Career opportunities are bountiful, but at times can be slow moving. The pay is pretty decent, but the benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Can be very slow-paced and boring.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2018-12-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganized, micromanaging, accusatory mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time

    Pros

    you have the union to go to when the typical mismanagement gets unbearable

    Cons

    pay is terrible; people are promoted on favoritism or length of time, not merit; not enough work for those at the bottom while the top runs around too busy to notice or care; accusatory style of management; all the trappings of a bureaucracy with none of the benefits; people promoted based on favoritism and length of time, not skills

    Advice to Management

    take a course in personnel management; for an agency tasked with protecting workers' rights, maybe start with your own? the retaliatory environment you've built is illegal and contributing to the abysmal morale.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2018-06-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great benes but hostile work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary, benes and pension. Some of the work was interesting plus helping people who were wronged by employers

    Cons

    Too much micromanaging and nepotism. The work is boring most of the time and redundant, there is hardly any training. Because of these issues numerous DIR units are a revolving door. Management up north doesn’t care, when they visit they don’t ask about any issues and when we do tell them they don’t address it.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management that cares, stop micromanaging, think outside the box and listen to your freaking employees!!!

    California Department of Industrial Relations2018-04-24
  8. "OT/MST work at DIR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Services Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady pay, most of the coworkers and management are nice people, and work isn't hard

    Cons

    Boring if you have a Bachelor's degree or want more challenge in your job.

    California Department of Industrial Relations2018-04-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Micromanagement at its worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations

      Pros

      This is a State job, so the benefit would be the pension you build - if you stay. It is accessible to BART.

      Cons

      Where do I begin? Let’s start with the out dated management style. My supervisor has a mature and professional staff, but we are all micromanaged. You can’t even send an email without having to cc her on it. Because she holds onto tasks and doesn’t delegate, nothing gets done. It’s an incredibly boring job that has the potential of being both important and exciting. There is no training or development opportunities. You...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen and learn from your very capable staff!

      California Department of Industrial Relations2018-04-27
    • "AGPA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at California Department of Industrial Relations full-time

      Pros

      Good managers. Good people. Interesting work. Good work life balance.

      Cons

      Location. I don't have any additional information to share. This is not really a con. However, sometimes the environment is problematic.

      California Department of Industrial Relations2017-10-25
    Found 40 reviews