California Department of Motor Vehicles Reviews | Glassdoor

California Department of Motor Vehicles Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
California Department of Motor Vehicles CEO Brian Kelly
Brian Kelly
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits long term employment(in 8 reviews)

  • "Job security, working with a team of people ask working for the same goals and purpose(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "lots of upward mobility is tenured based(in 4 reviews)

  • "I was limited to no more than 25 hours a week, no benefits, low pay, hated getting paid 16th and last day of the month(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Motor Vehicle Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time

    Pros

    Time is fast. Training available

    Cons

    You have to be ready to learn and cope with changes

    California Department of Motor Vehicles2018-06-07
  2. "City Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Motor Vehicle Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and easy process to qualify.

    Cons

    Pay is too low for all responsibilities and for California.

    Advice to Management

    More attractive salary based on California’s cost of living.

    California Department of Motor Vehicles2019-05-08
  3. "Don't let yourself get detured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Vehicle Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think the only positive thing about here is low standards. If you are having trouble getting a state job, this may be the place to start. I was struggling to find a state job and the first position I applied for here I got. Besides the benefits and Mon - Fri 8 to 5. I can not say anything else good about here.

    Cons

    Maybe coming from the private sector I am biased but I am trying my hardest to get out of here as quickly as possible. The culture here is management vs. employee mentality and extremely negative. It is no surprise that people disappear, take extended breaks or constantly call in sick. It seems as if workers have taken on the mentality of if they are going to be treated like children than they are going to act like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be a true team leader, not telling your team one thing and your manager another. Support your employees and have their backs. Not just your own career!

    California Department of Motor Vehicles2019-03-28
  4. "Don’t Do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MVR 

    I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time

    Pros

    Actually nothing not a pleasant experience

    Cons

    Always micromanaging... absolutely the worst experience ever

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees do their job !

    California Department of Motor Vehicles2019-03-23
  5. "typical State of CA Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good once you pass probation

    Cons

    Not much need for real change,

    Advice to Management

    Actually, follow your own advice from line level staff to CEO.

    California Department of Motor Vehicles2019-03-21
  6. "State job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Generalist in Sacramento, CA

      I have been working at California Department of Motor Vehicles part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I was part time so no pros

      Cons

      I was limited to no more than 25 hours a week, no benefits, low pay, hated getting paid 16th and last day of the month

      California Department of Motor Vehicles2019-01-21
    • "Mvr"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles

      Pros

      Good benefits, good training. Experience. Great coworkers.

      Cons

      Some managers belittle you, not willing to help . Long hours . Can be stressful.

      California Department of Motor Vehicles2018-11-14
    • "Investigator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Investigator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time

      Pros

      Interesting Case Work Good Work/Life Balance

      Cons

      Pay not comparable to other law enforcement agencies Culture can vary drastically from office to office.

      California Department of Motor Vehicles2018-10-05
    • "Motor Vehicle Representative Driver Safety"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends

      I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Consistent work with very few changes and adjustments.

      Cons

      Fairly difficult to move up, without correct credintals

      California Department of Motor Vehicles2018-06-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "In this particular office there is a lot of discrimination oppression politics nepotism favoritism unprofessionalism"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Motor Vehicle Representative in Long Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at California Department of Motor Vehicles full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Working with the general public and assisting them either with their licensing issues or registration of vehicles.

      Cons

      Poor management, disservice’s to public, rather have public wait 3 hours when start here could have turned them away due to not having all requirements.

      Advice to Management

      Attend sensitivity training and revisited a Mgr training on how to approach and coach you subordinates.

      California Department of Motor Vehicles2018-05-25
    Found 63 reviews