California Department of Public Health Reviews | Glassdoor

California Department of Public Health Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Low pay for degree holders, dry culture(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazingly Open"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open to share information for people beginning their careers.

    Cons

    A lot of sub-departments that leads to disorganization at times.

    California Department of Public Health2019-02-06
  2. "Anticipating being considered as a Full Time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Telephone Operator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I would like to work well within the Department of Public Health to connect people to those who are available to assist them. Because of health related issues, I would like to be on hand to direct and assist clients and customers to proper department.

    Cons

    The only downside in this case would be me not being considered for an eventual full time position with the company. I know that with my experience and professionalism that I would be an asset to the department.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to be able to establish a professional relationship with the City and County of San Francisco. It would be a privilege to use my skills working in your department.

    California Department of Public Health2019-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Support Technicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Technician in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If you are interested in Personnel and Facilities Licensing, this is a great opportunity to learn about the regulations.

    Cons

    If you come from a structured work environment to this unit section, you may find it difficult to get accurate information to do your job Most staff are working out of class and not compensated, or do not have updated duty statements. The section managers do not have up to date policies and procedures in place. You have to help create them or you will be lost. Long term managers are in denial about problems within the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your departments need a major rehauling and restructuring of the workprocesses and people. You do not give the public adequate time or resources to help them when you launch new projects that affect their Licensing Credentials.

    California Department of Public Health2019-03-02
  4. "Not like any nursing you have ever done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Orange, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits, job security, training opportunities, generous time off

    Cons

    Very regimented, factory like environment, constant criticism, no rewards, no incentives, no praise for hard work. Very negative environment. Not a warm culture for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Always ask "how can I help" before giving criticism. People are doing the best they can, give them the benefit of the doubt.

    California Department of Public Health2018-12-20
  5. "Not great for IT, avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    spends a lot of money on technology

    Cons

    this place is a mess, stressful

    California Department of Public Health2018-12-06
  6. "Great Job, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Services Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full Benefits, decent pay, good work environment, stable management, union, pension, paid travel, minimal oversight from management

    Cons

    Slow at times, lots of office drama

    California Department of Public Health2018-10-25
  7. "Programmer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The working environment is good. .Beautiful building.Good pension.

    Cons

    Low Salary in comparison to City and County. This applies to all State departments. Less work. So can get a little boring sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of hiring vendors to develop IT projects, give that opportunity to your own IT people. Trust in their capabilities.

    California Department of Public Health2018-09-21
  8. "Great so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Services Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management. Beautiful location right by the Capitol and rose garden. Close to lots of trendy restaurants.

    Cons

    No free parking. No free filtered water, coffee, or tea like other office jobs I've had in past office jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    California Department of Public Health2018-09-08
  9. "great for retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and job stability.

    Cons

    Not many career growth opportunities.

    California Department of Public Health2018-08-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "HFEN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, CA

      I have been working at California Department of Public Health full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Easy work; no micromanaging; no stress; create your own schedule; no direct patient care; holidays and weekends off; easy to request days off

      Cons

      Pay is low for a nurse; lots of driving

      California Department of Public Health2018-07-07
    Found 58 reviews