California Department of State Hospitals Reviews | Glassdoor

California Department of State Hospitals Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "You get out what you put in..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Endless opportunities for career advancement, and professional growth. Great benefits Team environment Non-stop training and development Reputable company

    Cons

    Potential risk of burnout and mental fatigue Common occurrences of workplace violence Mandatory overtime

    California Department of State Hospitals2019-04-02
  2. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admin Analyst 

    I worked at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great location

    Cons

    Too many unfilled positions and

    California Department of State Hospitals2019-03-28
  3. "Not Kind to Social Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Social Worker in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Use treatment teams to formulate care plans (spreads any liability), My location was safe, Good pay and benefits, Interesting co-workers

    Cons

    Treatment teams are hierarchical and social workers are bottom of the clinical totem pole, Unorganized, Lackluster supervision for new clinicians, very low morale among employees

    Advice to Management

    Hire qualified managers and administrators. The state hiring process screens OUT many prospective candidates who would be more qualified and experienced than what I dealt with at DSH.

    California Department of State Hospitals2018-12-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Data Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Warehouse Architect in Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to help and bring change or contribute in society

    Cons

    Basically no cons for this company

    California Department of State Hospitals2018-08-28
  5. "Psychiatric Technican"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atascadero, CA

      I have been working at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I want to move to Hawaii

      Cons

      I don't have any cons.

      California Department of State Hospitals2018-02-23
    • "student assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at California Department of State Hospitals

      Pros

      Good place to start for experience

      Cons

      there is no con about this

      California Department of State Hospitals2018-01-31
    • "great place for the individuals new to the workforce to cut their teeth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clinician 

      I have been working at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      good benefits, multiple locations for work

      Cons

      pedestrian uninspired management paranoia abounds

      Advice to Management

      let go of fear

      California Department of State Hospitals2017-08-16
    • "AGPA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Because its a state job.

      Cons

      A lot of the time there was no work to do, so management made up work because they felt like it.

      Advice to Management

      If you penalize your employees for making a minor mistake, you shouldn't make minor mistakes yourself.

      California Department of State Hospitals2017-06-07
    • "Poor management, not worth the money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Technical Assistant in Vacaville, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at California Department of State Hospitals full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Excellent pay, excellent benefits, Flex time, paid incentives (uniform, license renewal, etc.)

      Cons

      Safety, Constant mandates(forced over-time), Dangerous environment, staff brown nosing to get supervisor jobs

      Advice to Management

      Safety and Security should be your main priority. Staff are not the focus, inmates are more important. Inmates have management's back not staff.

      California Department of State Hospitals2017-02-09
    • "Constant State of Change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at California Department of State Hospitals

      Pros

      Very likeable managers. Fast hiring process. Good location in Sacramento.

      Cons

      Department of State Hospitals is always changing. New leadership. Project changes ongoing.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your middle management. Your administrators are not managers or project leaders.

      California Department of State Hospitals2016-12-08
    Found 17 reviews