California Department of Water Resources Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
California Department of Water Resources Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr
Edmund G. Brown Jr
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Student Position"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant 

    I worked at California Department of Water Resources part-time

    Pros

    Understanding of student schedule, nice intro to engineering, and exciting site visits

    Cons

    Sometimes had to play catch up for other departments but nothing impossible

    California Department of Water Resources2019-10-06
  2. "Uneven Work Share"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Environmental Scientist in West Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Uneven share of workloads, internal politics

    California Department of Water Resources2020-03-09
  3. "Government culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant Trainee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California Department of Water Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it is stable job after probation.

    Cons

    The government culture would be a big difference if you worked in private company before. My supervisor is bad because she put so many personal feeling to the job.

    California Department of Water Resources2019-06-19
  4. "dept of water resource"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Contract Analyst 

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources full-time

    Pros

    the people are down to earth

    Cons

    the parking is very bad

    California Department of Water Resources2019-05-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources for less than a year

    Pros

    real easy postion, perfect for a student currently in school

    Cons

    really slow, going to get bored very fast

    Continue reading
    California Department of Water Resources2018-12-12
  6. "Former Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at California Department of Water Resources for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice people - Large Projects - Awesome work life balance

    Cons

    - might have go through a lot of doors to get one thing but that's common in public sector

    California Department of Water Resources2018-11-28
  7. "Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California Department of Water Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent and experienced co-workers Sense of purpose Reasonably nice office facilities Interesting subject-matter

    Cons

    Unpopular government agency, often in the news for screw-ups Some intense, difficult personalities that never face reprecussions for their words and actions Cons associated with all state jobs (not a lot of leave, low pay for some positions)

    Continue reading
    California Department of Water Resources2018-09-26
  8. "Student Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work on interesting projects related to state water resources. Management encouraged employee growth and learning

    Cons

    Department favors engineers for advacement

    California Department of Water Resources2018-09-07
  9. "Student Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with your school schedule, if you ask they will give you projects that might benefit your future

    Cons

    Certain supervisors are in your space all the time

    California Department of Water Resources2018-06-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worse department to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Byron, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at California Department of Water Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No pros. Management is horrible. Headquarters labor relations and office of workforce equality does not support its employees & allows supervisors to harass their subordinates.

    Cons

    Ive been getting harassed by a supervisor since 2015. Filed complaints/concerns with management with nothing done & it continued. Management made this supervisor my immediate supervisor for 6 months despite the harassment/bullying and complaints I filed, who in turn wrote me up twice & gave a poor performance appraisal. Ive lost out on 3 jobs with other State departments due to this. Management stands together & supports/condones wrongful behavior making excuses for unfair discipline & harassment. Headquarters supports each Field Division with no help or resolution to employees being harassed.

    Continue reading
    California Department of Water Resources2018-04-30
Found 33 reviews