California State University Reviews | Glassdoor

California State University Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 241 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Timothy P. White
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, free tuition at all CSU campuses(in 20 reviews)

  • "The work environment is one that is down to earth and you it gives you the opportunity to really help the kids(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for the work performed daily(in 16 reviews)

  • "some professors in charge are egotistical and refuse to own up to their own mistakes(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Beautiful campus with all necessary resources for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Arcadia, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at California State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment for students to work and improve their skills Good place to learn new subjects with hand-on exercises

    Cons

    Need more classroom and workspaces

    California State University2019-07-19
  2. "Great learning experience and networking opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at California State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interaction with many undergraduate students, getting a whole new view on known concepts, and able to communicate with professors.

    Cons

    Some grading tasks can become too tedious.

    California State University2019-06-30
  3. "College environment and student life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has decent facilities and encourages new ideas

    Cons

    More updates are to be done

    California State University2019-06-13
  4. "Media Services Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Services Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have flexible hours to pick from

    Cons

    Could compensate better and include parking

    Advice to Management

    Push to learn new skills to push students

    California State University2019-06-20
  5. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth driven environment, great colleagues, positive benefits both on and off campus, opportunity to grow from student to FT staff role

    Cons

    Slow moving processes, little room for promotion

    California State University2019-05-31
  6. "Great to work at CSUF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Software Developer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at California State University part-time

    Pros

    All of us were students and it was fun to work with friends

    Cons

    Can work only 20 hrs/week as a part-time student assistant

    California State University2019-05-31
  7. "The best academic environment..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-Time Lecturer in Carson, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The CSU provides a world-class education to countless students, and it is a great place to grow both as an educator and as a scholar. It is also really great that young people entering the field of higher education can have a chance here to learn from other faculty, to be fairly evaluated, and to be supported with many opportunities for professional growth and development. I'm an alumna, and I currently work here. I would...

    Show More

    Cons

    The life of an adjunct is just not very rewarding, which is something that rings true across the board at any college or university. Some semesters there is little to no work, of course, especially for those of us who are newer to the profession.

    California State University2019-05-06
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veteran Affairs Student Assistant 

    I have been working at California State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved helping veterans and dependents with their questions. I loved talking to people about their military service.

    Cons

    More training would have been helpful.

    California State University2019-04-02
  9. "Undergraduate Research Assistant - Civil Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work on research projects that develop state of the art techniques and technology Build engineering experience outside of classroom setting Receive guidance and mentorship from supervising faculty Very flexible hours Paid position

    Cons

    As a full time student, it may not be possible to work as an Undergrad Research Assistant and pursue an internship at the same time

    California State University2019-03-17
  10. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Programmer Analyst in Rohnert Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, free tuition at all CSU campuses.

    Cons

    Things move kind of slow.

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities to go to industry conferences.

    California State University2019-03-13
Found 241 reviews