California University of Pennsylvania Reviews | Glassdoor

California University of Pennsylvania Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
California University of Pennsylvania CEO Stephanie Franks-Helwich
Stephanie Franks-Helwich
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California University of Pennsylvania full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. My boss is a great leader who values their employees and is great at recognizing employee strengths. So lucky to work at Cal U!

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion.

    California University of Pennsylvania2019-06-12
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant 

    I worked at California University of Pennsylvania part-time

    Pros

    Excellent Staff, Great Environment, Awesome Tools

    Cons

    Small, Expensive, Surrounding town is horrible.

    California University of Pennsylvania2019-01-29
  3. "Work-study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at California University of Pennsylvania part-time

    Pros

    Good management and a friendly environment to work in

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    California University of Pennsylvania2018-08-07
  4. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at California University of Pennsylvania part-time

    Pros

    Supportive staff for the most part

    Cons

    Some of upper management can be unhelpful and rude at times, but most are great

    California University of Pennsylvania2018-07-11
  5. "Work Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in California, PA

    I have been working at California University of Pennsylvania part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, nice as a work study to be on campus.

    Cons

    Not much pay, not enough hours offered as a student.

    California University of Pennsylvania2018-05-03
  6. "Great School and even better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California University of Pennsylvania part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, students are wonderful, few complaints

    Cons

    There seemed to be a lot of layoffs and furloughs while I was there

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent in why you are getting rid of people and how you plan on replacing them.

    California University of Pennsylvania2018-03-20
  7. "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in California, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at California University of Pennsylvania part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great facilities and one of the best division II universities in the country

    Cons

    Parking can be an issue.

    California University of Pennsylvania2017-08-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Library tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at California University of Pennsylvania part-time

    Pros

    You always knew you had hours to work and nobody was going to steal your job. It was impossible to get fired.

    Cons

    It's very boring sitting at the desk all day.

    California University of Pennsylvania2017-07-25
  9. "Assistant Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in California, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at California University of Pennsylvania full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Transparent hiring and employee policies. Strong union. Reasonably small school.

    Cons

    The administration. No clear direction for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Vision and direction.

    California University of Pennsylvania2017-08-09
  10. "Great University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at California University of Pennsylvania full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The staff are fabulous as well as the President. Wages are good, benefits good, work environment good, Campus looks great. I loved my time there.

    Cons

    To little too late given the state budgetary cut backs. Over spent updating facilities. Like many other companies/institutions they believe "consultants" hold the answers to what ails them. Often time the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing

    Advice to Management

    See the big picture not the one in front of you. Utilize the resources that you have more effectively. Creative financing is only a temporary fix.

    California University of Pennsylvania2017-06-07
Found 33 reviews