Calix Reviews | Glassdoor

Calix Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Calix  President and CEO Carl Russo
Carl Russo
108 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Questionable outcome and bad HR culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team work resulting in growth. Great vision for the future direction

    Cons

    Toxic HR climate, driven by HR people who don’t think how to motivate but rather how to prevent costs. Delivery of the vision is lagging.

    Advice to Management

    Act like a growing company

    Calix2019-09-18
  2. Featured Review

    "Company is great with some hard working people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commodity Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice perks, good salary and compensation, diverse and hardworking people, good company culture and morals

    Cons

    processes are less defined here, a lot of strong personalities due to experience, can be unreponsive

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    Calix2019-09-11
  3. "Calix interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nanjin, Jiangsu
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working atmosphere is very easy

    Cons

    Not find any downsides till now

    Calix2019-09-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good for the ones with family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The future of the company is uncertain. New products don't ramp up well.

    Calix2019-08-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots to learn Tons of smart people

    Cons

    Bad work / life balance. Leadership

    Calix2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Thriving company, strong teamwork!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of career growth and opportunity!

    Cons

    Work Like balance is non-existent

    Calix2019-08-14
  7. "Great Place to Grow Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Solutions Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Great people that are Team focused on being successful.

    Cons

    This is a fast moving company and it can be difficult to keep up with all of the changes.

    Calix2019-07-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "its going down, stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    if you are in the "in" circle then you get some benefits.

    Cons

    incompetent leadership. Questionable direction. Betting on one customer. Compensation below average.

    Advice to Management

    at this point its hopeless.

    Calix2019-06-26
  9. "Good company to work for with a few caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall working conditions are good. Pay and medical are great. They keep break room stocked with free beverages like soda and coffee. Also, have fresh fruit. You will learn a lot and be driven to enhance your professional skills.

    Cons

    Very quick to layoff and you never know it is coming. My job was based on contracts and it seemed that every year we got less and fewer contracts. I survived several but they eventually got to me. I hold no ill will towards Calix but they need to work better at getting new contacts and keeping them.

    Calix2019-06-13
  10. "Interviewer is very nice and genial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nanjing, Jiangsu
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    very happy and skill, good person

    Cons

    so nothing found so far,..

    Calix2019-05-15
Found 158 reviews