Calix Reviews | Glassdoor

Calix Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Calix CEO Carl Russo
Carl Russo
108 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Project Managaer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Petaluma, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and good products. Company is reinventing itself as a SW company.

    Cons

    Challenged with meeting low margin Service business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your top performers during downtime in market . Get out of the low margin business.

    Calix2018-05-17
  2. Helpful (9)

    "A Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Work from Home Great hard working co-workers whom point in more than 50hrs a week

    Cons

    Absolutely no career development. The job you interview for is not what you are going to be doing. 90% of the job description is incorrect. Talent and Culture needs HR employees whom can revamp the Talent Management and create Employee Engagement (because there isn't any). There is also no line of succession. If someone leaves or is laid off. Good Luck! Many talented employees whom once helped build the company... are now gone and left are Senior Management whom have no idea how to get the job done. Too many Directors and VPs and not enough team to support the initiatives. NO Raise in the past few years. "Bonus" is a joke! NO Job Security - There are lay offs every 2 weeks. NO Vision or Direction Company Morale is at its all time worse. Not surprise why so many are also leaving the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide employee with clear direction and vision. Explain what the company's goals are. Provide your employees with career development/training (that is not just compliance training). Stop hiring more directors and lay off the hard workers whom keep the ship running. Marketing and Sales needs to stop lying about how great we are doing with Calix 2.0.

    Calix2018-06-05
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Challenging work but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This was a good place to work with good engineers and challenging work.

    Cons

    It is now poorly run by new upper management who are focused on just promoting themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the engineers. They are the ones who can make the product, you can only talk about it.

    Calix2018-05-09
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, good peers to work with.

    Cons

    Favoritism is so bad in some areas; proper planning to handle clients cause them to lose projects

    Advice to Management

    Plan better, stop wasting everyone's time.

    Calix2018-05-07
  5. "once good company but ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Calix full-time

    Pros

    nice people in the company

    Cons

    the company is going thru some tough time

    Calix2018-05-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some colleagues are kind. Some knowledge is deserved to learn.

    Cons

    Team management, Company development, Career development

    Calix2018-05-23
  7. Helpful (17)

    "A once good company going down in flames"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Dog-friendly office - Occasional work from home - Great coworkers - Office perks - Good health care coverage - Break room provides endless coffee and drinks, fruit once a week. Now providing donuts and bagels some Fridays.

    Cons

    - No raises in 2 years - Sporadic, tiny bonuses - No job security--they're cutting valuable staff left and right with no plan for replacements or workload sensitivity. - No work/life balance. Meetings could be as early as 7am and as late as 9pm. New venture partnership with India company makes meetings during valuable family time a regular occurrence, and heavily east coast upper management means early meetings... for those on the east coast. - Weekend work is expected. - Marketing and sales promise the world, but there is little support for actually getting the promised deliveries to the customer. - They will work you to death and then ask that you work even harder.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop with all the marketing speak about how great we are and how we're Calix 2.0 when all we see is the ship crashing and burning around us. Offices are closing and widespread layoffs leave everyone fearful and stressed, but we're expected to keep cheering for Calix all the way, and to just work harder with no reward for our dedication. I used to be proud to say I worked here, but now when people ask me where I... work, it's like I told them my dog died. "Oh you work at Calix? I heard things are really bad there."

    Show More
    Calix2018-04-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Talented co-workers and nice atmosphere.

    Cons

    Frequently re-orgs and no clear idea about the market. Internal frictions among leaderships.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize goods in great demands; make cautious decisions to re-org or 'upgrade' products.

    Calix2018-04-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Uncomfortable realitiy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of miss directed talent

    Cons

    Management inept and lacks realistic vision. Unable to correctly judge the business. Always searching for opportunities without planning or research. Lots of hype.

    Calix2018-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "TBD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in China, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talent people to work together

    Cons

    Good place to word, bad management

    Advice to Management

    Less Management, Need a better vision of product's market

    Calix2018-04-09
Found 158 reviews