Calix Reviews | Glassdoor

Calix Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Calix CEO Carl Russo
Carl Russo
108 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Replace Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The top management (sales, marketing, products) is busy self promoting , it's all about themselves and their buddies. There is utter dis-regard to opinions unless you agree with your management's direction.

    Cons

    They are loosing lot of good people and fast.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-04-06

    Calix Response

    April 24, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (22)

    "No career here, just a job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calix for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Immense technical caliber among individual contributors; Great camaraderie and willingness to go the extra mile; Good health benefits

    Cons

    Virtually no automation of core business processes IT, Talent and Culture are starved of resources and innovative thinking and provide poor support to other business functions Too many layers of senior leadership with big dreams brought in from multi-billion dollar companies but with... - no budget to build the empire the CEO theorizes about - no deep knowledge of the access business - no influence or imagination to effect change - no real vision to scale ... but with lots of authority to fire individuals who disagree and attaboy the "yes men", who are willing to selflessly "take one for the team" Don't expect to build a career out of your accomplishments at Calix. In fact, the job description you interviewed for may only remotely resemble what you end up doing.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-03-08

    Calix Response

    April 24, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Product Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Company very focused on next generation networks, SDN and NFV and evolving the customer base to focus on user experience. Company has done an excellent job marketing and changing the buying behavior of the customer.

    Cons

    Rapid pace of development, being more Agile.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-03-13

    Calix Response

    March 20, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear your positive feedback about Calix. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Legacy organizational structure dragging the company down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The management is trying to refresh the team with more seasonal professionals from Silicon Valley.

    Cons

    Legacy organizational structures, inefficiency, politics, lack of processes and no metrics to measure success/failure.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-03-13

    Calix Response

    March 20, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve and wish you the best with your next role. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Exciting pojects, excellent engineering staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, interesting high-tech products. Team oriented work.

    Cons

    Poor financial performance. Top heavy management.

    Calix2018-03-12

    Calix Response

    March 20, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve and wish you the best with your next role. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Working environment going downhill quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Petaluma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. Good products. CEO always honest and on top of things in the past.

    Cons

    Too middle management heavy. Experienced engineers being replaced by outsourcing teams creates an environment where nobody is certain that their job will still be there in the next Quarter. Upper management went from a super aggressive hiring mode to outsourcing model instead. It appears Calix Board/Investors are looking at bottom line costs only and losing all the company expertise. This will create a huge support hole in the future when all the knowledge base as been let go.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-03-02

    Calix Response

    March 20, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve and wish you the best with your next role. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Management in Prof Svcs is a JOKE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Talented pool of engineers, although their lives are ruined by awful managers.

    Cons

    Managenemt, including the senior folk are toying with engineers that work for them. With lay-offs happening since November 2017 we have seen the worst decisions being made especially in the Prof Svcs department, when it comes to whom to fire and whom to keep. Absolutely Ridiculuous!! Don't the upper management see that one of them is only protecting his (weak) friends while letting go talented engineers? Insane!! Calix used to be much better than this.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-02-21

    Calix Response

    July 7, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your review and feedback. You are right, our R&D teams are the core of our company and we pride ourselves in the awesome contribution they have made and continue to have on our exciting offerings within AXOS, EXOS and Calix Cloud. As we have transitioned our company we have made decisions that are needed to align our teams accordingly. We value your constructive "Cons" and "Advice to Management", taking the time to provide Calix your feedback and for your contribution for over five years with Calix. Best to you in your work ahead.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice telecom vendor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. CEO provides quarterly meetings to share company direction and vision. Salaries are very competitive. Mangers do not micro-manage your time. Good set of hardware and software tools.

    Cons

    Company has a tendency to layoff full-time employees and then and hire contractors. Other than that, I don't really have any big complaints about the company.

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-02-15

    Calix Response

    February 27, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed the work environment and company updates at Calix. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Going down fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Calix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Marketing great with non-existent products All the fake positive reviews

    Cons

    All promises no bonuses no RSUs CEO talks a big talk and execution poor. Strategy is now to layoff all engineers who built it and outsource. Rumors of running out of cash. Executive management is screwed up and CEO All lies . From good company where we cared for each other to just dispenseable people. Heart and soul lost Layoffs and more layoffs

    Continue reading
    Calix2018-03-14

    Calix Response

    April 24, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to learn about your views on your experience at Calix and take your comments very seriously. We will look for any constructive points in your comments that can help us improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Software Eningeer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Petaluma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Calix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work with flexible hours.

    Cons

    Most of the Software development jobs are being moved to China.

    Calix2018-02-13

    Calix Response

    February 27, 2018SVP, Talent and Culture

    Thank you for your review. If you’d like to provide further feedback or ways that we could improve, please email us at glassdoor@calix.com.

    Continue reading
Found 158 reviews