Caltrans Environmental Planner Reviews | Glassdoor

Caltrans Environmental Planner Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
88%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Caltrans Director 	Malcolm Dougherty (no image)
Malcolm Dougherty
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Planner in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upward mobility, training, diverse, they care about their employees

    Cons

    Competitive, a lot of professionals, pay parity

    Caltrans2017-10-05
  2. "its a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Planner in Marysville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caltrans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay and good benefits

    Cons

    not enough training, expects you to know how to complete reports without training

    Continue reading
    Caltrans2019-04-25
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Caltrans needs reform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Environmental Planner in Marysville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caltrans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Online training friendliness experience IT staff

    Cons

    During the panel interview, senior planners said the assignment involved maintenance only. Job offer arrived 7-mo. after the interview and involved a capital improvement ending in lawsuit. I was assigned to a supervisor with <6.mo. at supervising who said not to ask questions. She didn't invite me to group meetings either and said I missed a deadline, but IT said she didn't give permissions so I could use their database. Professional planning ethics aren't supported neither were pursuing AICPA designation.

    Continue reading
    Caltrans2019-02-01
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Associate Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Environmental Planner in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefit package. Flexibility. Retirement compensation. At 20 years-you can retire and get your medical insurance fully paid. If you consider that benefit could amount to $1500 in pre tax benefits-you’ll understand why people’s stay here when the place is full of bottom feeders and lacks modern technology

    Cons

    Hostile creepy people in some departments. Lack of technology, wages are 30-40% below private sector. Org is run like mafia. Filthy building, consultants try to compete for your work, no advancement.

    Continue reading
    Caltrans2017-10-24
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Associate Environmental Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Environmental Planner in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caltrans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can contribute to large and interesting transportation projects while protecting natural and cultural resources.

    Cons

    No staff retainment and a hostile management style by top supervisors made a sad work environment.

    Caltrans2016-11-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Environmental Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Environmental Planner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans

    Pros

    Flexible hours and good benefits

    Cons

    Lack of professionalism, slow work flow

    Caltrans2015-08-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Caltrans is a great place to get foundational experience as an entry level biologist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Planner in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots or training. Plentiful time off.

    Cons

    Poor management. Most employees talk of retirement. Low pay. High turnover.

    Continue reading
    Caltrans2015-03-10
  8. "Caltrans seems like an establishment anyone could find happiness at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Environmental Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Caltrans for less than a year

    Pros

    The office setting seems fairly laid-back. The whole company seems pretty diverse in some districts. It's interesting to get to work on projects that you actually come across on a day-to-day basis on the way to or from work. Getting to work with the various consultants allows you to advance your network.

    Cons

    Less hands-on than may be desired, office setting can get stuffy if you'd rather be working in the field, keeping track of all the federal, state, and environmental regulations, permits, etc. is a challenge and something that always needs to be refreshed.

    Caltrans2014-09-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn or to have a flexible schedule without stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Planner 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the training's, holidays and the opportunity to always learn. Very flexible schedule and easy going supervisors.

    Cons

    Too much to do sometimes, not enough other times. Very low pay compared to private firms.

    Continue reading
    Caltrans2014-05-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Neutral opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Environmental Planner in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job security, medical, dental, vision and retirement benefits

    Cons

    Negative work environment, negative public image, low salaries

    Caltrans2012-07-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews