Caltrans "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Caltrans Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Caltrans Director 	Malcolm Dougherty (no image)
Malcolm Dougherty
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some co-workers are not as focused as others but as long as it is not creating a hostile work environment, I'm okay with it(in 11 reviews)

  • "Wages are stagnated and are at least 20% behind the private sector(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great internship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, lax work-environment, mentors offer great advice

    Cons

    Work can be too lax,

    Caltrans2019-11-05
  2. "Stay Away - Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Services Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Caltrans full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ability to learn how the transportation system is supposed to work. If you can find those few good leaders that can mentor you.

    Cons

    Horrible work environment. Hostile and promotions are only given to those who are suck up to managment or if promoted to get you out of their area. Most, about 95% of top management are incompetent. There is a lot of nepotism happening within the organization.

    Advice to Management

    External investigations need to be conducted. There is a lot of corruption occurring including illegal hires and promotions.

    Caltrans2019-12-08
  3. "Post-Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment. Opportunities to learn. Construction knowledge.

    Cons

    Some who work for Caltrans take their jobs for granted and don’t work very hard

    Advice to Management

    Some (but not all) should live up to the expectations you have of others by setting a positive example

    Caltrans2019-09-11
  4. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Governmental Program Analyst in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been here over a year. Came from private industry. Everyone is friendly and professional. Great training programs to focus on fostering good employees unlike the bottom line of private companies. Great management as well who do not micro manage my work. Great work/life balance and a genuine feeling of positive work for the public (even though the public may not see it that way). Many opportunities to be involved with projects and grow. I hear it's pretty normal to have employees who work for 20-30 years, which is a sign that the pay and organization is worth it. Lots of ways to motivate employees and build camaraderie.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some co-workers are not as focused as others but as long as it is not creating a hostile work environment, I'm okay with it. Took a paycut working for the State and hope it be worth it in the end. My career track is not the highest paying unlike the engineers. Anyone who aspire to become a high-level manager level should have engineering experience (makes sense since this is a transportation agency).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. I have no complaints.

    Caltrans2019-08-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Highway Landscape Maintenance Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Highway Landscape Maintenance Worker in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on skill set you will learn things.

    Cons

    Not enough pay, hostile work environment due to colleagues, management is the most negative

    Advice to Management

    Take more pride and integrity in your agency's mission statement

    Caltrans2019-01-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "State Worker Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits, family friendly career options

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, slow work environment

    Caltrans2018-11-28
  7. "Transportation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time

    Pros

    Low stress work environment, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Slow at times makes day go by slower

    Caltrans2018-10-22
  8. "Good Company if you want a slower paced job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSA in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very good benefits - Excellent management.

    Cons

    -Quiet work environment -Slow paced

    Caltrans2018-10-19
  9. "Data Management Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, flexible schedule, good progression.

    Cons

    Pay disparity between different majors.

    Caltrans2018-08-10
  10. "Budgets Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Caltrans

    Pros

    -great work environment, people and company culture

    Cons

    - sometimes the work is really slow

    Caltrans2018-05-24
Found 30 reviews