Caltrans "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Caltrans Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Caltrans Director 	Malcolm Dougherty (no image)
Malcolm Dougherty
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some co-workers are not as focused as others but as long as it is not creating a hostile work environment, I'm okay with it(in 11 reviews)

  • "Wages are stagnated and are at least 20% behind the private sector(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Caltrans is an awesome employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Engineer in Marysville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Provides alternative schedules for work life balance

    Cons

    At times the right person does not get the promotion

    Advice to Management

    Interact more with first line supervisors

    Caltrans2019-08-28
  2. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Governmental Program Analyst in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been here over a year. Came from private industry. Everyone is friendly and professional. Great training programs to focus on fostering good employees unlike the bottom line of private companies. Great management as well who do not micro manage my work. Great work/life balance and a genuine feeling of positive work for the public (even though the public may not see it that way). Many opportunities to be involved with projects and grow. I hear it's pretty normal to have employees who work for 20-30 years, which is a sign that the pay and organization is worth it. Lots of ways to motivate employees and build camaraderie.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some co-workers are not as focused as others but as long as it is not creating a hostile work environment, I'm okay with it. Took a paycut working for the State and hope it be worth it in the end. My career track is not the highest paying unlike the engineers. Anyone who aspire to become a high-level manager level should have engineering experience (makes sense since this is a transportation agency).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. I have no complaints.

    Caltrans2019-08-22
  3. "Range B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Engineer, Civil in Marysville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability, Work-life balance, Salary and health benefits

    Cons

    Change takes too long to occurr.

    Caltrans2019-09-03
  4. "What's it like in an engineering driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landscape Associate 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, flexible hours, great work/life balance, never take work home, interesting design challenges, influence on projects can last a lifetime. One of the last agencies to still offer a pension.

    Cons

    The entire design process takes too many years to come to fruition. It's true: too much bureaucracy here. Landscape architects are not respected by many engineers. Management wants everyone to "think outside the box" but too many "chiefs" hamper the creative design process. Too many people afraid of taking risks because either they do not know how, are too lazy, or too risk adverse. Many lazy people who do not perform their jobs. Some of these people are in Senior positions and refuse to allow "thinking outside the box." Zero-low accountability for failed work. Communication and organizational breakdowns from PID, to design, to construction, to maintenance. Promotions are far and few in between, and don't happen for people who actually can do the work, but rather happen to those who are good test takers. Also, many people who just don't care about their jobs and sit around collecting a paycheck - but this is par for the course with a State Agency.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please create a top down solution for making your hard workers feel appreciated, needed and motivated. Need to enforce accountability and get rid of everyone who does not care about their job. Need to mandate performance reviews at least once a year. Also, last but not least, find a way to make Seniors and above start thinking creativity and be open minded to new ideas.

    Caltrans2019-08-16
  5. "Great place to have a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Right of Way Agent-Range B in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing work life balance. Each supervisor handles things a little differently, but you are allowed to have a life. I am single, but many of my coworkers with children keep this career for that very reason. -Low stress job, you do not take this work home with you ever. -Every holiday off, no one fights you to take time off. People take a month off in the summer/winter holiday time. -I have not once completed 40 hours worth of work in a 40 hour work week-Not overloading your employees is gold. -9/80 Schedule-Means you work 9 hour days and get every other Friday off, incredible option. -Do not have to beg for a raise. Happens automatically until you max out in that position. -Have access to an online masters program through San Jose State University, at an incredible price (under $15,000 for the entire program!)

    Show More

    Cons

    -Laid back attitude can evolve into sluggish/stagnant environment. -Cheap -Slow to evolve. Everything is paper forms- move to digital. -Wages are stagnated and are at least 20% behind the private sector. Since our salaries are dictated by taxpayers and legislation, our paycheck increases are at their mercy. -Throw assignments at you without proper training. Rotating functions within a department is a pain in the rear. They drag their feet SO bad on requesting and acquiring training sessions for their employees, especially the new ones.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your people! Request training for your new people so that we can feel prepared and have the information needed to complete our jobs. Clean up the on boarding process and shift Caltrans into the digital age PLEASE. Get rid of all the paper waste and antiquated systems.

    Caltrans2019-07-02
  6. "Caltrans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Caltrans for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance and low stess

    Cons

    Slow Pace of Work. LA area so Long commute hours depending where you live.

    Caltrans2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Transportation engineer, electrical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, great people, good work life balance

    Cons

    no flex time, lots of new hires

    Caltrans2019-01-12
  8. "Engineering & Operations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caltrans for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Nice and amazing staff. Good fundamental beliefs.

    Cons

    Low pay, but only because it was an internship.

    Caltrans2018-10-11
  9. "Transportation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time

    Pros

    Low stress work environment, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Slow at times makes day go by slower

    Caltrans2018-10-22
  10. "ROW Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Caltrans full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are above average, work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Under Payed compared to private

    Advice to Management

    Modernization

    Caltrans2018-02-12
Found 21 reviews