Cambia Health Solutions Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Cambia Health Solutions President & CEO Mark B. Ganz (no image)
Mark B. Ganz
160 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Was informed that they would be making me permanent but was informed this week that upper management will NOT be converting me to full time(in 13 reviews)

  • "work life balance is less desirable, management changes in fast pace(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, opportunities and movements.

    Cons

    Financial systems are manual could be better

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    April 21, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for the 5-star review! It’s great to hear you enjoy the benefits and opportunities Cambia has to offer. If you think of any additional feedback you’d like to share, please feel free to reach out to me. Take care and be well. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Analyst in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relaxed office setting, flexible hours and generally nice people

    Cons

    lots of shuffling and shifting at the supervisor and manager level made it difficult at times

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    July 2, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your time working with us at Cambia and for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the work environment and work/life balance. If you think of anything else you’d like to share, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  3. "Can a 100 year old insurance company become a software company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Professional in Portland, OR
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cambia Health Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Deep pockets and willing to invest in emerging products

    Cons

    Slow to modernize insurance business Single year budget strategy and commitment Easily accepts partial implementations with dependent manual steps

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    May 29, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your review of your time at Cambia. If you have additional feedback, I would welcome hearing from you directly. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  4. "Good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Cambia Health Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and friendly smart employees

    Cons

    Changing managers that result in changing directions

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    May 29, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your time working with us at Cambia and for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the work environment and your colleagues. If you have any additional feedback to share, please feel free to reach out to me. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Ineffective management / highly political / good benefits"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer IV in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary is competitive and you can negotiate with them. The yearly bonus is nice when the company does well. Health insurance isn't bad. They have a high deductible plan, but load up an HSA card that you can use for medical expenses.

    Cons

    I saw a couple of concerning privacy issues in 2019 including the public exposure of PII of over 200 users (names and emails). Another individual at the company emailed claims and payment data for 25 users to a university researcher outside the company. Legal and privacy got involved in both cases and then the issues were buried. Both employees are still working at the company. I brought up both issues with the CEO and chief security and privacy officers, but never heard back. Cambia is a highly siloed and can be a highly political environment. The CEO and COO have arguably wasted tens of millions of subscriber dollars building a cloud platform (Janus) and on a flagship product (Journi) that lacks a discernible value proposition. In addition, leadership cannibalized other products like Health Pass and MedSavvy to try and add some value to Journi. Due to multiple leadership failures in my group, we lost a VP, a Director and a couple of software engineers in a few months time. When I was there I really believed that Cambia had high ethical standards. After my experience there, I was saddened to find that we did not end up sharing the same values.

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    June 18, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your review. Our privacy, legal and security teams are familiar with the concerns you have described, which were fully investigated and resolved. We hold ourselves to the highest ethical standards, particularly in the handling of our members’ data. I appreciate your contributions to Cambia and thoughts on our benefits and Journi strategy. Please reach out if you would like to contact me directly. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Large Group Underwriter"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions

    Pros

    Fantastic local company culture, generous 401K match and benefits package. Growth potential for high performing employees.

    Cons

    Corporate leadership out of touch. Enterprise-wide changes made to address local-only issues. C-suite is trying to make a health plan a technology company while marginalizing the vast majority of their team members. Corporate policy is driving more and more to mediocrity.

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    March 24, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. It’s great to hear your appreciation of the opportunities for professional growth at Cambia, especially during this time of deep transformation in the company. I appreciate your feedback on how we can improve and continue to make this a rewarding place to work. If you have anything else to share, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  7. "CSP 1"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSP I in Burlington, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind and helpful management, great culture, work life balance and inclusion

    Cons

    Low pay rate...fast paced work place..non competitive pay for job duties

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    March 25, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for the review, and I'm glad you are experiencing the kindness that is part of our Cambia culture. In response to your comment about pay, it's true that at one point, we offered a pay increase to well performing customer service professionals after 90 days. We have discontinued that practice and instead boosted the starting pay for all customer service professionals. When we made the change, we looked at everyone's pay to ensure the change was equitable. If I can provide any additional information on compensation, or any other matter, please reach out to me directly. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  8. Helpful (12)

    "CMO creates incredibly toxic work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home culture. Some people and departments are functional, not the one I'm in.

    Cons

    I have never worked in such a toxic environment in which the top leader in a large department creates such a negative, toxic environment. I watch employees around me being gaslighted, lied to, belittled and abused. The culture in this particular area is so bad it drives gossip, negativity, and poor morale. It's a shame, because some areas of the company seem quite nice, with good morale and camaraderie, but this department is so bad, I would not recommend it to my worst enemy, let alone a friend. There are office jokes among direct reports to the CMO having a support group to cope with the abuse. It is frankly stunning to me that executive leaders do not realize this is going on. Or perhaps they know and do not care. It's hard to tell.

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    March 25, 2020Vice President, Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. I regret that your experience has not been positive and what you describe sounds very frustrating. I encourage you to contact me directly or call our anonymous resource line at (888) 384-3577. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  9. "Ethical company that values employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and caring office environment Dedicated and kind co-workers. Private work spaces, making it easier to focus. Strong benefits including an initial 17 days PTO and 401k matching.

    Cons

    The coffee and cafeteria food could definitely use improvement

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    February 3, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate hearing your positive thoughts on the office environment, work/life balance, and benefits. If you'd like to connect to share additional feedback, please contact me directly. I'd also be happy to connect you with our Real Estate and Facilities team to discuss the food service options in Tacoma. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Gentle Corporate setting"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Professional I in Burlington, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambia Health Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    17 Days of PTO, more after year 2. Set schedules. Kind supervisors. They don't require a certain number of calls per hour. They value first call resolution more than a quick handle time. Very understanding of new people.

    Cons

    Busy, fast-paced call center (which I enjoy, but not everyone will flourish in that style). My only negative is that Cambia does pay less than our rivals, though not dramatically so.

    Continue reading

    Cambia Health Solutions Response

    February 3, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Thank you for your review. I’m glad to hear you’re having a good experience at Cambia. I appreciate your feedback and welcome you to reach out if you have any further thoughts you’d like to share. Elizabeth Hall VP, Employee Experience elizabeth.hall@cambiahealth.com

Found 271 reviews