Cambly Reviews | Glassdoor

Cambly Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 224 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Cambly CEO Kevin Law
Kevin Law
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get the opportunity to talk with people around the world(in 42 reviews)

  • "Cambly has given me the opportunity to meet people from all over the world(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not completely booked at times during your Priority Hours(in 30 reviews)

  • "pay is low , assistance not readily available(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Elmwood Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to meet students from all over the world. Felxable scheduleling Great interwiew process

    Cons

    The site is great the only issue is that after a call sometimes the website freezes just sign back in

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cambly2019-05-02
  2. Helpful (5)

    "GREAT JOB!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Online English Teacher 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I LOVE the flexibility that I have with my schedule, which works well with my other job and other activities I like to do. I enjoy speaking to people from around the world and learning things from them about their culture. And I definitely love being paid once a week!

      Cons

      Connection issues in trying to catch calls, especially with your regular students, who themselves have said they have had difficulty signing on. The rating system I do not care for, because I do not know how I am being rated or why my rating drops.

      Advice to Management

      Please fix the connection problems, and let us know specifically why our rating drops so we can improve.

      Cambly2019-02-04
    • "Flexible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Tutor 

        I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You are able to create your own schedule, essentially. You get to help people improve their English and have some laughs doing it.

        Cons

        I wouldn't mind if the wage were a tad higher, but I can overlook it because of the awesome flexibility!

        Cambly2019-02-14
      • Helpful (3)

        "Good experience overall; if you're living somewhere with average cost of living- don't make it your primary income"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Tutor in Lansing, MI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Gain TEFL teaching experience, talk to people all over the world, help others learn English, supplement your income or fund your travels to countries with low cost of living. Overall, Cambly has been a good experience for me. I've talked to many people with incredible backgrounds. I think a lot of what you get out of the experience is what you put in. It's unstructured English tutoring, but I always make an effort...

        Show More

        Cons

        Low pay, technical/connection difficulties. It took 3 months for my application to be approved, and after I was approved, there was a technical problem that prevented me from tutoring for 2 additional months after my approval. To resolve the problem, it took 2 months of ongoing attempts to contact support- through email and social media- to get someone to fix it. Sometimes, the camera cuts out or disconnects (this...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Continue to support your tutors and consider a pay raise. Since I've been working with Cambly, technical support has improved, and they've made efforts to address other issues like creating a system that rewards teachers who keep their reservations. That said, I think it would be really great if they offered some kind of pay incentives to their best tutors.

        Cambly2019-02-01
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great part-time job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Tutor in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I have been a tutor on Cambly for about two months and I absolutely love it! I like the flexibility of the job and I have met many intelligent and interesting people. This job has really been a learning experience for me; I am constantly learning about other people and places in the world from my conversations. Meeting and talking to people around the world is a phenomenal experience.

          Cons

          The only con would be the small number of free trials who do not take their trial seriously.

          Advice to Management

          Please give tutors access to student feedback. This would be so helpful toward becoming a better tutor for my students.

          Cambly2019-01-11
        • Helpful (5)

          "Online English Tutoring"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Anchorage, AK
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Cambly is a great place to meet people from other countries...and make a little extra cash while doing it! I love that it is completely flexible. There are no lessons to prepare and no set schedule you have to follow. Many times I have been lazying around the house, surfing the web and I log in to my Cambly account just to see if anybody is out there. Many times people have called in and I get to have a wonderful conversation...

          Show More

          Cons

          I and some students have had issues with internet speed. Not Cambly's fault, but they do fuss about have some good internet. Completely understandable if they want to keep a high level of quality.

          Advice to Management

          It would be nice if the system could be switched from "High-Quality" (crazy fast internet) at a little bit higher salary, to "Low-Quality" audio only (crappy internet) at a little lower salary. I would let the tutors and students choose which is best for them in a given situation (time of day, level of access, etc). Some other online tutoring franchises offer 'audio only' options with minimal internet requirements....

          Show More
          Cambly2018-12-31
        • Helpful (1)

          "Perfect fit!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Current Employee - Tutor in Myrtle Beach, SC
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          I was looking for a part time job and with so many scams out there, I thought I would never find it, Cambly was the answer. You schedule your own hours and work in the privacy of your own home. I love chatting with students in other countries, the excitement in the students voices and smiles on their faces make my job easy, rewarding and fulfilling. The support you receive is awesome and payment for tutoring is on time....

          Show More

          Cons

          Really can't think of any other than wishing you could speak to some of the same students weekly!

          Advice to Management

          An actual person to talk to for new tutors, maybe have existing tutors volunteer their time to help. Develop amentor or buddy system.

          Cambly2019-01-09
        • Helpful (4)

          "Awesome experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Current Employee - Online Tutor in Charleston, SC
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          If you need a way to supplement your income, love to teach, enjoy helping people enrich their lives, this is a wonderful experience! I have learned so much more about the world around me, created my own schedule,( one of the best perks) and have made some wonderful friends. Cambly pays on time through PayPal and you can keep track of your earnings right up to the minute.

          Cons

          The application is a little difficult to navigate at first and there isn't any personal contact from the staff, except through email. Parts of the app are too slow.

          Advice to Management

          Personal contact after problems are not resolved through email. Ability to see reviews from students or receiving feedback from staff/ experienced tutors for improvement. Once a year raise as incentive to stay with company.

          Cambly2018-12-28
        • Helpful (1)

          "Wonderful Company for both Tutors and Students!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Conversation English Tutor in Lansing, MI
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cambly part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Tutors can develop their own style of teaching and conversation style; the company provides a large variety of resources and help for both tutors and students. The flexible hours and ability to work from any reasonably quiet location with an internet connection for a laptop makes this an ideal job for those who need the ability to create their own work schedule. The opportunity to connect with and assist people from...

          Show More

          Cons

          I do not have any negative comments.

          Cambly2019-01-06
        • Helpful (2)

          "Flexibility, Interesting Students. Great P/T Job !"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Retired in Homosassa, FL

            I have been working at Cambly part-time

            Pros

            Pick your own hours and days; learn from students in other countries. Make some money having fun chatting & helping someone learn English. So much material available to work with just about any student.

            Cons

            Been working few weeks only. So far, no complaints. Support has been helpful in answering questions in timely manner. Great experience.

            Advice to Management

            Carry on ... time will tell. Thank you for the opportunity.

            Cambly2018-12-29
          Found 224 reviews