Cambly Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Cambly CoFounder Kevin Law
Kevin Law
187 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice to meet people from around the world(in 65 reviews)

  • "Meet people from all over the world(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay even if a higher degree class(in 71 reviews)

  • "You don’t get Priority Hours if your rating is below average (I’m guessing it’s around 4(in 51 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good side hustle

      Mar 11, 2021 - English Tutor in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Make your own schedule and freedom.

      Cons

      Low pay, but it helps as a side hustle.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible pay for flexible work

      May 5, 2021 - Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility. Ability to build your client base easily and quickly. Their support team is stellar.

      Cons

      The pay is abysmal. It's not survivable if you're trying to do it full time. Part time for some extra cash is good enough.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mellow Work

      Apr 5, 2021 - Tutor in Eau Claire, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really love the flexibility.

      Cons

      The pay is low, but the pay-off is that it's so flexible!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Low Pay

      Apr 30, 2021 - Tutor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Set your own hours for the most part.

      Cons

      Low pay and they don’t treat employees very well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad pay, Good flexibility, Bad rating system

      Feb 11, 2021 - Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of any other job that would allow someone to talk to people all over the world like this. I'm sure it sounds weird to my friends when I say something like, "I was talking to this lady in Nepal the other day. . ." They do have lessons that you can use. There aren't always answers to these that will help you. The flexibility is the biggest plus. If you want to tutor, just get on the computer and see if a Priority Hour is available.

      Cons

      The pay is low. Talking to strangers is stressful. The ratings system is also stressful and inscrutable. Why does your rating suddenly go down? And really--what are you supposed to do about it? You have no idea why someone rated you badly, but apparently they did. This is so disheartening.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Connection

      Apr 11, 2021 - ESL Teacher in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and meeting people from around the world.

      Cons

      Kids who are trying Cambly for the first time not speaking a lick of English and you're sitting there trying to entertain them. Biggest con is the connection is so frustrating at times especially on week ends. Audio goes out then comes the buffering. So frustrating, When people want to just gave a conversation when they really need to have a lesson..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Just right for a semi-retired teacher

      Feb 17, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Toccoa, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They keep track of my fees and they do my marketing for me. I have tutored online independently, and I can tell you that having Cambly do these makes a huge difference, because it allows me to focus on working with learners, my passion. The people who answer tutor queries and requests are usually helpful and courteous, but the turnaround for response is not speedy. I would prefer online chat for tutor help.

      Cons

      There is no online chat help for tutors, only an email submission, and the turnaround is 24-48 hours. That is not adequate in the few cases when a tutor finds that the learner has serious issues, like suicidal talk, or the occasional abuser who opens their camera on full-blown masturbation. Given that this happens very rarely and they do provide a cut-off that can be used immediately, it has been workable for me--I have been with them for 4 and a half years and only encountered serious emergencies and abuse 4 or 5 times. Still, you have to realize that you are on your own out there. Also, they have reduced their level of services and moved to a less expensive platform in the past. In my experience, this could be an ongoing 'business model', but it is workable at this point. There are more outages since they went to the lower budget platform, but they usually get them resolved within a few hours. They are pretty tight about their policy of tutors not communicating with regular Cambly students on FB or other platforms, which I think is unnecessary, impractical, and treats tutors too much like we are all potential rip-off artists. But I think most of us comply, mostly. I would probably have a similar policy if I ran a business like Cambly. I should add that I have seen no pay increases in 4 years, but this is not my main source of income, so it isn't my first concern. I have seen other tutoring services that allow the tutor to set their own fees, but for me, the convenience outweighs the financial considerations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Eh..

      Apr 19, 2021 - Online ESL Tutor in New Rochelle, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule, Nice students, New friends

      Cons

      No compensation for last minute cancellations, or cancellations in general. Low pay, anxiety inducing ratings each week. You can be fired without notice depending on this "anonymous" rating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Low Pay but Flexible

      Mar 30, 2021 - Cambly Online Tutor in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours but boy, do you pay for it.

      Cons

      The pay is low and you don't get paid if a student calls you to let you know they won't make it for class.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice

      Feb 26, 2021 - Tutor in Gulfport, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool students and fun to teach them

      Cons

      Low pay and low pay and low pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 442 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cambly Job Seekers

    Cambly Tutur and Cambly Kids Tutor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cambly? Share Your Experiences

    Cambly logo
    or