Camden Property Trust Reviews | Glassdoor

Camden Property Trust Reviews

Updated July 17, 2017
163 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

163 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits (medical/dental/vision, apartment discount) (in 22 reviews)

  • Great team-oriented environment, good benefits (in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Camden is Truly a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    At Camden, I am not a number and am recognized as an individual. I can have fun and be me! I work with amazing people that care about me and making and keeping our customers happy. I am not micro managed and am trusted to always do the right thing. Camden has an amazing culture and I am thrilled to be a part of it.

    Cons

    Insurance is pricey and rises each year.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for making Camden such a great place to work!

    Camden Property Trust Response

    Jun 20, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    Camden is a great place to work thanks to great people like you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and leaving such a positive review.


  2. "Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Camden Property Trust full-time

    Pros

    Operations Department offers many opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for growth in some departments.

    Advice to Management

    Balance growth opportunities in all departments.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    Jun 20, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive review, we appreciate your feedback.

  3. "Almost Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great management at all levels, good training, good benefits, they treat employees well.

    Cons

    hours, compensation, working every weekend, threatening

    Advice to Management

    Camden is almost a tragedy because there is such great management at all levels, great training, good benefits, they treat employees well and most of the time I believe they really care for their employees and take pride in what they do. The issue is they do not pay enough. If your employees struggle to pay their bills with a rent discount- perhaps they need to make more money. I know I could go elsewhere and make way more. In fact, I have friends now who have but, why must it be a catch 22? Is pay not a factor when deciding what makes a company great? I don't mean to sound greedy, I'm just trying to be realistic. You have to pay employees more. Turnover is increasing because pay is not consistent with the cost of living.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    Jun 30, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you have experienced great management at all levels and feel we treat employees well. Camden's goal is to offer competitive... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging, evolving, rewarding, and everyone hugs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Culture first mentality which revolves around hugs. Tools to be successful are in place. Upper management maintains a practice what you preach mentality. Resources to continue your personal development are amazing. Benefits, especially PTO, are top notch.

    Cons

    Employees are so tenured that it creates road blocks for possible advancement unless you are able to relocate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the envelope. I would rather work for someone the challenges my teammates to be successful so that the company remains successful than to work for a company that celebrates mediocrity and may not be here for the long haul.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    May 25, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review Camden. Glad to see you are enjoying your time with us and find your work to be rewarding. I am also happy to see that you feel you have the necessary tools... More


  5. "I love Camden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Administrative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    All the standard 401k etc. plus innovative perks most companies dont have, education reimbursement, education scholarships for children, discount on apartments, FUN work events, encourages fun working environment, Top level Execs give back, bonuses

    Cons

    More thought out career paths for admin level, communication of initiatives well enough in advance, annual pay analysis of positions to remain competitive

    Advice to Management

    My cons are more of an improvement needed not necessarily a huge negative factor but something to consider none the less.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    May 15, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    I’m truly glad to see you love Camden as much as Camden loves it's team members. Your feedback is valuable in our commitment to continued improvement. Thank you for taking the time to share!


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Support Analyst
    Current Employee - Business Support Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've always enjoyed working for Camden! Amazing place to work!

    Cons

    Its such a great company nobody ever leaves making it more difficult to get a promotion at times.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    May 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    I am so happy to see you believe we're an amazing place to work and have enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for your contributions over the past 10 years and thank you for taking the time to share... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Vacation time, sick time, 401K, United Health Care, commission and bonuses.
    Properties are well kept and easy to lease. Management takes a lot of time to market and create custom property brochures so that every client knows what Camden will offer before renting. Camden also provides a call center so that if offices are busy or closed customers will always have a Camden employee helping them.

    Cons

    Some properties are understaffed leading to an overwhelming work load for both maintenance and office staff.
    As a leasing consultant we do not get weekend days off and I know thats something that we sign up for. I wish upper management would at least give one weekend day off per month mandatory that would not count as a vacation day so that we have a better sense of work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Effective leadership is imperative! An effective leader will always do their best in a good or bad situation and include staff in why the decision may have been made. Some managers are micro managers or don't listen to problems and others give lots of empowerment and do listen. I hope that upper management will have more training classed for Managers so that they can be the best leaders and if managers have had problems that they are seriously felt with.
    I personally am extremely thankful to work with the leader who listens and makes me feel empowered every day.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    I am so happy to see that you value the benefits and mention our wonderful Contact Center agents, we are proud to be able to offer customer service 24/7, right from our very own team members. We... More

  8. "Anyone can be promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time

    Pros

    They offer paid training to get further licenses.

    Cons

    You don't always get the classes.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe keep the promises you offer at initial interview.

    Camden Property Trust Response

    May 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review!


  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Full Time Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camden Property Trust full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Management, benefits, 401k, salary potential, training, involvement

    Cons

    Low-staffed, lack of communication,

    Advice to Management

    Camden is hands down the best company I have worked for. The management team I have had the pleasure of working with has been extremely supportive and eager to help me learn and grow. They constantly ask "what can we do to support you" and they mean it. Keep it up Camden! Ps. They only get 3 stars because "there's always room for improvement"

    Camden Property Trust Response

    May 8, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    I totally agree, there is always room for improvement. Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and feedback, it is truly appreciated.


  10. "GREAT Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Employees are valued, fun work environment, Mother's Room for new moms, love that we can volunteer for during office hours.

    Cons

    No cons for Camden right now.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for making us as employees feel valued!

    Camden Property Trust Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President of Human Resources

    We are happy that see that you feel valued and love giving back to our communities through Camden Cares. We are glad to have you as part of the Camden family! Thank you for taking the time to post... More


Showing 163 of 169 reviews
Reset Filters