Camelot Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Camelot Education Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Camelot Education CEO Andrew Morrison (no image)
Andrew Morrison
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff support is strong from coworkers and administration(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great hours, lots of time off (almost every individual holiday, summer and winter breaks)(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Simply stated: no raises in years for support staff (2009(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay for the work that you do(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Student Services 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Authentic. A genuine desire to help support kids and aid in the transformation of their lives. Competitive Salaries. They promote within. Great Opportunities for advancement. Work-Life Balance/Time off

    Cons

    Salary Caps, Lack of Bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep kids first.

    Camelot Education2019-01-01
  2. "great school and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Art Teacher 

    I worked at Camelot Education full-time

    Pros

    support from other staff and behavior staff

    Cons

    the pay is lower than a district

    Camelot Education2019-09-18
  3. "Good Job Not A Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Teacher in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Summers Off Short Work Days Dress-Down Days

    Cons

    Your dealing with kids all day No real lunch break Lesson plans are ridiculous Stressful

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better.

    Camelot Education2019-09-04
  4. "Too corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers and location close to home

    Cons

    Too much oversight. Very corporate mindset

    Camelot Education2019-07-10
  5. "It’s a business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Academic Schedule. Team oriented mind set.

    Cons

    Low pay for all employees compared to industry education standards. High turnover.

    Camelot Education2019-05-16
  6. "English 3 and Senior Capstone Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Camelot Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    supportive staff, enthusiastic students, constructive feedback

    Cons

    location, starting salary, lack of nurse and counselor

    Camelot Education2019-04-24
  7. "Nice starting point only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great way to get into education as a teacher. They hire just about anyone.

    Cons

    Team leaders give different answers than the academic coordinator. For example, ISBE in Illinois says that no participation points should be given. The academic coordinator supports the state law, but the team leader encourages giving these points. Your pay will be higher than other public districts, but a lack of raises will mean that within a year or 2, your pay will be less than local school districts. Not... providing enough supplies. There is a teacher at our location that brings copy paper to share with the entire staff because the company does not provide enough paper. That staff member also provides extra pencils, paper, post its, and other supplies. The company is top heavy in management. This takes a lot of money that could be better used elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the students. Invest in your teachers.

    Camelot Education2019-05-27
  8. "Alot Good Some Not So Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Camelot Education full-time

    Pros

    I love the resources that are available for the students. The company definitely doesn't mind spending money.

    Cons

    The good old boys club from Philly especially when they set up elsewhere! Pay more to your teachers. They focus alot on their behavioral model that they lose focus of how important academics are too which in turns make all of the principals and teachers seem invaluable.

    Advice to Management

    Respect and uplift the women administrators in your company. They bring the value

    Camelot Education2019-04-17
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Camelot Education part-time

    Pros

    Dan is Great. He is flexible

    Cons

    Not enough hours. Would love full time work

    Camelot Education2018-12-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Speech Language Pathologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    SLP in Mount Prospect, IL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Education for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the therapeutic day school in Camelot Mount Prospect. Overall, the administration was amazing. If I ever had a problem, I felt comfortable to speak about it with all admin and was able to rest assured that it would be addressed. The staff as a whole has such a positive attitude. Definitely a team-based approach to all problems. I appreciated how I was given the flexibility to bring my own ideas to the... table. I miss this place!

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay isn't amazing, but the kids definitely make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for pay raises.

    Camelot Education2018-09-27
Found 73 reviews