Camp Bow Wow Reviews | Glassdoor

Camp Bow Wow Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Camp Bow Wow President  Julie Turner (no image)
Julie Turner
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camp Bow Wow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team environment Fun work Great management

    Cons

    Can be stressful Corporate lacks perspective

    Camp Bow Wow2019-10-22

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising we thank you for your positive review. Franchisees aim to deliver on the Camp Bow Wow brand standard—Happy Healthy Pets, Happy Healthy People -- and we're so happy to hear that you're experiencing that promise delivered in your franchised location. We will pass this along to our Guide Dog to ensure it gets to the owner of the franchise!

    Continue reading
  2. "Physically tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Camp Counselor 

    I worked at Camp Bow Wow part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment, get to spend time with dogs, no talking to people

    Cons

    Time passes very slowly as you are alone, you cannot sit down and it's draining, some of my managers were mean

    Camp Bow Wow2019-10-17

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising, thank you for sharing feedback on your experience as an employee at one of our franchises. We’d like to note that locations are independently owned and operated, meaning that the employment experience can vary from one franchised location to another. We encourage you to share your concerns with the owner of the location at which you were employed. Please feel free to also contact Camp Bow Wow headquarters at https://www.campbowwow.com/about-us/contact-us/

    Continue reading
  3. "Dogs are the best part of the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Camp Counselor in Boulder, CO
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camp Bow Wow part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    getting paid to hang out with dogs, generally chill work environment, can be outside, flexible hours

    Cons

    can be very boring, dirty, management will hire outside the company for higher up positions instead of promoting from within

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-10-07

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising, thank you for sharing feedback on your experience as an employee at one of our franchises. We’d like to note that locations are independently owned and operated, meaning that the employment experience can vary from one franchised location to another. We encourage you to share your concerns with the owner of the location at which you were employed. Please feel free to also contact Camp Bow Wow headquarters at https://www.campbowwow.com/about-us/contact-us/

    Continue reading
  4. "You can trust your dogs will be loved like you love them here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor in Hutto, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Camp Bow Wow part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with and caring for dogs (of course), and working with great people. Not to mention working for a boss who has the biggest heart, for her employees and every dog that comes through the door.

    Cons

    I can’t think of anything.

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-09-16

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising we thank you for your positive review. Franchisees aim to deliver on the Camp Bow Wow brand standard—Happy Healthy Pets, Happy Healthy People -- and we're so happy to hear that you're experiencing that promise delivered in your franchised location. We will pass this along to our Guide Dog to ensure it gets to the owner of the franchise!

    Continue reading
  5. "Best Part-Time job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor 

    I have been working at Camp Bow Wow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the dogs, great crew, good management

    Cons

    Scheduling issues, and occasional lack of organization.

    Camp Bow Wow2019-09-11

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising we thank you for your positive review. Franchisees aim to deliver on the Camp Bow Wow brand standard—Happy Healthy Pets, Happy Healthy People -- and we're so happy to hear that you're experiencing that promise delivered in your franchised location. We will pass this along to our Guide Dog to ensure it gets to the owner of the franchise!

    Continue reading
  6. "Observe dogs during the business day, and care for dogs that stay overnight or more than one night. (Lee's Summit)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor in Lees Summit, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Camp Bow Wow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dogs aren't as stressful as dealing with people, and you get to really enjoy their company.

    Cons

    Dogs can be stressful some days, and coworkers tend to gossip behind each other's backs.

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-09-22

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising, thank you for sharing feedback on your experience as an employee at one of our franchises. We’d like to note that locations are independently owned and operated, meaning that the employment experience can vary from one franchised location to another. We encourage you to share your concerns with the owner of the location at which you were employed. Please feel free to also contact Camp Bow Wow headquarters at https://www.campbowwow.com/about-us/contact-us/

    Continue reading
  7. "The most rewarding job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Camp Counselor in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Camp Bow Wow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love dogs, you’ll get to meet so many. It’s a fast paced environment focused directly on what is most beneficial for the pups. There are strict policies in action that protect the others from having aggressive dogs come in to the facility, which helps when you’re trying to manage a yard full of dogs.

    Cons

    Long hours. Lots of standing on concrete.

    Camp Bow Wow2019-09-06

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising we thank you for your positive review. Franchisees aim to deliver on the Camp Bow Wow brand standard—Happy Healthy Pets, Happy Healthy People -- and we're so happy to hear that you're experiencing that promise delivered in your franchised location. We will pass this along to our Guide Dog to ensure it gets to the owner of the franchise!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great if you can handle it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor in Columbia, MD
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Camp Bow Wow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, at least at my CBW Fun staff Lots of experience with dogs Self discipline Dogs!!! A really fun work experience

    Cons

    Extremely draining (physically and mentally) If you’re small like me (5ft 100+lbs) dogs tend to knock you around Dog fights require someone capable enough to stay level headed-if you can’t handle fights, rough play, hyper dogs, or staying on your feet for hours at a time either with the dogs or constantly cleaning, this isn’t the place for you

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-09-01

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising we thank you for your positive review. Franchisees aim to deliver on the Camp Bow Wow brand standard—Happy Healthy Pets, Happy Healthy People -- and we're so happy to hear that you're experiencing that promise delivered in your franchised location. We will pass this along to our Guide Dog to ensure it gets to the owner of the franchise!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Four years of work with literally nothing to show for it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Camp Counselor in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camp Bow Wow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities for dog behaviors, training and management of large groups. - Favorites come in regularly and you get to see progress of your individual work/play time with a pup.

    Cons

    - Franchise owned is terrible. There is a general feeling of unease and discomfort when communication from management is at its lowest. - Low pay for extremely hard work. Most shifts are between 6 and 7 and half hours. On your feet for all that time, and given a minimal break of 15 minutes (Per my state's exact requirement) and no more. - You will be started with minimum wage and given a raise after a year unless you've had previous daycare experience and even then, the raise is only 25 cents.... So? - The interview process is handled by people who have worked there for a while - they let dogs pass the interview who should not be in daycare, resulting in several injuries to other dogs and staff. These dogs aren't necessarily aggressive, but have poor social manners and get easily confused or upset in a large crowd. Gate management can only provide so much control. - Extremely high turn-over rate. I stopped adding people to my contacts for work because every two weeks, someone would quit and you'd be asked, if not begged, to come in and work. - Call outs/sick days/vacation- You are given so many days within a year for sick days. Typically, it's ten, within most companies. You start nearing three call outs and you're given a verbal, then, thereafter, you're given a written. You are allowed a mere seven days vacation, unpaid for. - Split shift scheduling was often a problem. Not having consecutive days off, as in two days off, closing one night and opening the next morning, etc. Overtime was not offered unless understaffed, which, while it happened often, was not consistent and offered no further pay. - Owners of the facility were never seen. The manager was seen three, maybe four times a week and did the rest of their work from home. Employees who had been there for years were passed up on the opportunity to advance to Team Lead or Assistant Managers while it was given to others who had worked there less than a year. IE - You're good enough to stand in the yards, break up fights and scrub your life away inside cabins when floating, but we don't trust you with anything else. Also, no communication on that part. - Lastly and this is the most important and unfortunately, the most disgusting. Screaming obscenities and kicking cabins and physically forcing dogs in your hands is never acceptable. Unfortunately, at my CBW, I saw this behavior often. Not just from a long term employee but newer ones who were not given any training other than, "This is the small yard, here's a squirt bottle, use cabins for time outs." They don't train you how to handle a dog, how to use a lead, how to properly break up a fight, etc. The most you learn within a two week period is how NOT to let dogs out when coming in and out of the yard.

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-08-31

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising, thank you for sharing feedback on your experience as an employee at one of our franchises. We’d like to note that locations are independently owned and operated, meaning that the employment experience can vary from one franchised location to another. We encourage you to share your concerns with the owner of the location at which you were employed. Please feel free to also contact Camp Bow Wow headquarters at https://www.campbowwow.com/about-us/contact-us/

    Continue reading
  10. "Fun to work with the dogs. Coworkers can be a bit of a pain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Camp Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Camp Bow Wow part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the dogs themselves are great, and you get to form bonds with them. It's a fine job for awhile, but not forever.

    Cons

    Favoritism by management, lack of discipline on those with horrible attitudes, lack of feeling like a real team.

    Continue reading
    Camp Bow Wow2019-08-21

    Camp Bow Wow Response

    December 10, 2019HR Director

    On behalf of Camp Bow Wow Franchising, thank you for sharing feedback on your experience as an employee at one of our franchises. We’d like to note that locations are independently owned and operated, meaning that the employment experience can vary from one franchised location to another. We encourage you to share your concerns with the owner of the location at which you were employed. Please feel free to also contact Camp Bow Wow headquarters at https://www.campbowwow.com/about-us/contact-us/

    Continue reading
Found 277 reviews