Campbell Ewald Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Campbell Ewald President Kevin Wertz  (no image)
Kevin Wertz
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work is busy, great people and awesome space to work in(in 14 reviews)

  • "The employees make CE a great place to work because they create a down-to-earth, family vibe(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "LA office is understaffed resulting in long hours and low morale(in 14 reviews)

  • "It wasn't always the most glamorous stuff, but that's pretty much the norm in Detroit(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Supervisor in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people who are willing to answer questions and teach you about their roles

    Cons

    I can’t think of any.

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2019-02-07
  2. "Amazing Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontend Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Learning environment + Supportive company + Fun + Challenging and rewarding work

    Cons

    + Compensation could be higher but working there is worth it

    Campbell Ewald2019-11-27
  3. "Work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and thoughtful yet challenging clients

    Cons

    Senior leadership can improve, limited accounts

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2019-11-18
  4. "Great talent and overall good people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    talented people in mostly all departments

    Cons

    low salaries and high turn over of good people

    Campbell Ewald2019-09-04
  5. "Great people working hard...sometimes in spite of clients"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Brand Planning in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great, some of the best I've worked with in Detroit The space -- working inside Ford Field and being downtown was pretty awesome Management is typically quick to fix problems internally Work/life balance was ok (depending on what client you're working on)

    Cons

    Because they're still trying to recover to previous "glory/strength" management doesn't say no to client requests enough. As with many agencies, communication regarding new business/agency changes is slow and many hear this news secondhand/through the grapevine. Creative leadership was lacking when I was there (they've since changed creative leadership). Personally, I felt that there wasn't someone who could provide feedback and an agency POV on all creative that really held the work to the highest standards. Creatives were often unsure if they were on the right track. They strive to be culture forward but I think they need to focus on becoming culture experts.

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lack training"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Assistant Account Executive 

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time

    Pros

    Being around this fast past environment help me understand the advertising business.

    Cons

    No proper training. Lack of communication

    Campbell Ewald2019-07-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunction and chaos"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some great, talented employees that work hard. Beautiful office, free snacks, espresso machine, some fun events.

    Cons

    Management is disorganized and chaotic. The agency is understaffed and creative resources are overworked and stretched too thin. There are constantly changes in the company organization and processes, and layoffs are common, creating a fear-based culture. Younger employees are greatly underpaid and often the work gets put on them due to poor upper management. Turnaround is high. Working at CE caused me a lot of stress and affected my mental health, forcing me to leave. Know what you're getting into before you join the company.

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2019-05-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Bad culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Planner in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Used to be some really quality and smart people working here. Has an amazing office.

    Cons

    Horrible agency management. Everyone always fearful of losing their jobs. No real growth structure in place. An agency on downward trend vs upward trend.

    Campbell Ewald2019-04-19
  9. "Senior Web Developer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Web Developer in Playa del Rey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Campbell Ewald for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment. High-profile clients and challenging projects to work on.

    Cons

    The workflow is pretty loose. You often need to figure out the project details on your own. Project management needs improvement.

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2019-01-10
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Not Worth Your While"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Campbell Ewald full-time

    Pros

    The people at the agency are very smart in their approach and understanding their clients from a high-level standpoint, but it doesn't align/trickle down into the day-to-day work flow. Their TRYING to create diversity in culture and thought through out the agency, but it's very disingenuous and you can tell it's just a check-off on their list to mask their previously publicized poor reputation. Nice views of Los Angeles.

    Cons

    - Pay is very low and doesn't meet the competitive industry standards for Los Angeles at all. They're based out of Detroit and clearly think that Detroit & LA have the same cost of living. - Extremely high turnover; everyone on the account I was on left the agency within less than a year on both the account and creative side. - Inadequate scoping of accounts; I definitely felt like I was set up for failure, and was not supported in my day-to-day or from a professional growth standpoint. - Agency leadership is extremely pretentious - Executive creative teams are divas that don't understand and don't try to understand the clients goals - Current leadership fosters an old-age ad agency environment which is contributing to the agencies very poor company morale and high turn-over - Lack of collaboration and can-do attitude from the internal teams was extremely frustrating and counterproductive - Lack of process; constantly changing at the convenience of leadership - No HR in the LA office

    Continue reading
    Campbell Ewald2018-12-21
Found 173 reviews