Camping World Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Camping World President and CEO Marcus A. Lemonis
Marcus A. Lemonis
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice environment, good pay, good schedule, good benefits(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great employer, understanding, good pay and benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, sometimes long meetings(in 27 reviews)

  • "Bad upper management above store level no real Human Resources department(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Camping World Is Up to the Challenge

      Aug 9, 2019 - IT Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excitement and positive attitude permeates the company. Represents the best aspects of an aggressive retailer - know the customer, anticipate their needs, use latest technology to solve specific problems and enhance customer experience. We treat our employees and customers well. The upper management are knowledgeable and trustworthy. Ideas are encouraged and acted upon. All inclusive teamwork is demanded. The IT department is lean and very capable.

      Cons

      The high cost of benefits is out of line with industry and poses challenges in hiring. Although many teams thrive on telecommuting, there are still areas where it is frowned upon.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Job seekers use extreme caution! Don't settle for less like I did!

      May 14, 2021 - Inventory in Lincolnshire, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just started a few weeks ago and so far I'm very disappointed. I thought I was going to start an exciting career for a great company but as it turns out to be a filler data entry until they figure out a way to automate it. They only give me one repetitive task all day with nothing else to work on. The whole team works from home so I'm not learning anything because communication is not there and with everyone working at home making it more difficult. I feel like an island here. Obviously, I should've done more research about the company, management and employees.

      Cons

      They start you off with 0 vacation days which accrue up to 10 days. So far I've been here 3 weeks with only about 3 hours of vacation time accrued. The only regular holidays they give you are Christmas and Thanksgiving and the rest they call "Floating Holidays".which makes it really complicated if you want to take off a major holiday like New Years or Memorial Day. They don't automatically match they "discretionary" match with a 7 year vesting cycle your 401K yet they still "automatically enroll you at 4% for some odd reason. Health insurance here is very expensive and your probably better off getting a private plan.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Camping World provides limitless opportunity

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Lincolnshire, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, good work/life balance Exposure to a multitude of different platforms, verticals, tools, and people Competitive salary for digitally-focused positions Ability to mold own role and work autonomously Great environment for collaboration Ability to make impact on the brand and experiences Regular bonuses along with recognition of outstanding work Constant company growth and new ventures being kicked off regularly

      Cons

      Room for growth with health benefits Fast paced environment means regular pivoting, working and solutioning simultaneously Internal alignment can be challenging with the number of businesses and teams Business is king - expect to merge your recommendations with business parameters to successfully compromise

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Thinking about finding a different job.

      Mar 3, 2021 - DC Specialist in Lebanon, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think this is a good job for people looking for work to get on their feet and move towards something better. It is easy to pickup and learn. Shift leads have been wonderful people, there are good people to work with here. Shifts are usually 8 hours unless we have overtime.

      Cons

      Turnover, I haven't seen turnover this bad since I worked in food service in highschool. The raises suck, its disheartening to see the CEO of the company dropping big money on Nascar sponsorships while his workers get only a few tiny 30 some cent raises.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a Bad Place to Work, Stay Away from Corporate

      May 10, 2021 - Business Development Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Store staff was amazing, good store culture, laid back environment

      Cons

      Poor corporate management, poor pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work family

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, management is caring

      Cons

      None at the moment thanks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Serious corperate and managment failings

      May 2, 2021 - Retail Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Due to failings of management, I enjoy extreme amounts of freedom in my work day

      Cons

      Camping world has some seriously weird business practices. This business started as a family owned establishment and built a good name, now as a publicly traded company they have lost many of the genuine cares and are embracing the worst of profit only mindsets. Additionally, the local management is rarely attentive or seemingly caring about the actual function of the company.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid At All Costs

      Mar 9, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator in Lincolnshire, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun business perks like Cubs tickets and decent holiday parties

      Cons

      Lying management. Had the Senior VP get on the phone with our department at the start of covid telling us we had nothing to worry about. 2 weeks later we take a pay cut, 2 weeks after that we’re told we need to use our PTO because we’re going to flex time off system. At the deadline of when PTO needed to be used? A TON OF PEOPLE WERE FIRED WITH NO SEVERANCE AND NO PTO TO COLLECT BECAUSE THEY WERE TOLD TO GET RID OF IT AFTER BEING TOLD THEY HAD NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT WITH THEIR JOBS! Camping World picks favorites and unless you are a part of a specific department, don’t expect to move up. Be prepared to watch people who have no business being promoted actually get promoted. A lot of directors have no business being in director and manager roles, but if you brown nose enough to Marcus...you can do whatever you want! A lot of snakes and no one you can trust from top to bottom here. Someone tells you that you have nothing to worry about? Think the opposite. Avoid this place at all costs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Camping World

      Apr 28, 2021 - Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Lincolnshire office was nice.

      Cons

      The upper management was immature and had favorites.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't work here!

      May 11, 2021 - RV Sales Associate in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not tied down to a desk

      Cons

      Push you to sell every person that walks through the door a camper, if you don't, they are all over you for it. Favor established sales personnel so it's hard to make any headway.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 553 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Camping World Job Seekers

    RV Sales
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Camping World? Share Your Experiences

    Camping World logo
    or