Canara Bank "working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Canara Bank Employee Reviews about "working hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Rajeev Kishore Dubey
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "sales target worst transfer policy(in 7 reviews)

  • "Not many just working hours is not and of course cant be fixed for officers in not only this but in any other bank too(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Canara Bank full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good if you work as a clerk

    Cons

    Long working hours, some times even on sundays you have to attend office

    Canara Bank2019-03-29
  2. "great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Cochin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Canara Bank full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Good and united environment. -Being a PSU Bank its work experience counts a lot in entire banking sector. -Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Not many just working hours is not and of course cant be fixed for officers in not only this but in any other bank too.

    Advice to Management

    I am very happy by my work and posting too.Thankyou.

    Canara Bank2018-12-08
  3. "SALARY AND WORK CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canara Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    FIXED WORKING HOURS in Clerical cadre i.e. SWIN OPERATOR. No major responsibilities. The initiator of all transactions and with coming changes in banking field a lot of opportunities to learn. Fast promotion to Officer level in just 2 years if you are HIGHLY QUALIFIED* and a bundle of opportunities for future

    Cons

    sometimes monotonous work and repetitive work and less respect earned as compared to an officer. Less decision-making opportunities available.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on teaching about the digital products to the employees and training about the same. System needs to be revamped, the CBS system of FINCUBE.

    Canara Bank2017-12-17
  4. "Job at a PSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Probationary Officer in Shimoga
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Canara Bank full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It absolutely depends on your immediate Supervisor!

    Cons

    Long working hours with no work-life balance

    Canara Bank2017-11-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "BEST PLACE TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Probationary Officer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canara Bank full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Lots of learning opportunities 2. Transfers are less even during probation 3. Working hours is good compared to other banks 4. Brand name in banking industry 5. Exposure in various aspects of banking including credit, forex, Alternate Banking Channel, Risk Management, Recovery etc 6. Even if you join as generalist i.e. Probtionary Officer, you may get chance to work as specialist officer if interested

    Cons

    1. Probation period should be less. 2 years is a long time 2. Due to promotions daftary and peon have also been promoted to clerks who even don't know how to handle computers. sometimes you may feel irritated due to their behaviour 3. So many aged employees who are not much interested in work just doing time pass in office but the good news is that they are soon going to retire 4. During probation you may face some...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please don't treat Probationary Officers as useless employees. Give them opportunities to grow. Al lower level they give much more output than those not so interested employees. Its my personal experience that zeal of new POs goes down when they feel neglected in branch just because they are on probation. No responsibility was given to me during probation just because of I was under probation

    Canara Bank2016-03-04
  6. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canara Bank

    Pros

    There is nothing as such

    Cons

    Random transfer and long working hours

    Canara Bank2015-11-08
  7. "Great Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Law in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canara Bank

    Pros

    Be a part of big canarite family, Pay and incentives at par with banking industry

    Cons

    Working Hours and nothing much more. The Banking industry comes with its own sets of committments.

    Canara Bank2015-09-15
  8. "TAKES CARE OF EMPLOYEES-COMPARED WITH OTHER BANK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Canara Bank full-time

    Pros

    limited working hours very good perks and salary - compared with other nationalized banks limited pressure on employees for improving bank position we can be conident that we have a govt job (secured job) in hand very good co-operatiion between employees (compared with other banks) family work culture

    Cons

    limited hours but non stop work over load (but each and every bank has) head office, circle offices doesn't react quickly for requirements of branches (of both customers and branch itself)

    Advice to Management

    please even try to react quickly for requirements of branches

    Canara Bank2015-05-03
  9. "No so great. lot of ad hocism. no decided flow of work . poor concern about work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canara Bank full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Tag of public sector employee

    Cons

    lesser learning opportunities. poor pay vis-a-via work. specially for people working in treasury, corporate credit and other key departments lot of flattery and internal politics poor working hours and work life imbalance bureaucratized structures little independence to take decisions not for creative people at all who like to improvise processes and implement their own...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be more aware and sympathetic towards needs of younger employees and customers

    Canara Bank2015-04-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Like any other public sector bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Canara Bank

    Pros

    There is no special reason to work for canara bank. It is similar to any other public sector bank in India.

    Cons

    Tough working hours and huge rush in the counters. Connectivity problems in rural areas etc. Very strict management, and really difficult to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise the good work done by the staff member. Officers also should have specific working hours. pay should relate to the efficiency

    Canara Bank2010-05-11
Found 167 reviews