Canary Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Canary CEO Charles Fraenkl (no image)
Charles Fraenkl
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic lifestyle, work/life balance

    Feb 17, 2021 - Senior QA Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility to learn new skills, new roles, great benefits (unlimited paid vacay days), and good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Company is small and introverted by nature. Great people, work well together, but may have to make additional effort to get people to open up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome place to work

    Jul 27, 2020 - Customer Service in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working for Canary for a little over one year and I must say that I am loving my time here with my awesome and friendly team members and looking forward to many more years to come. During the challenging times we are facing, Canary has been great allowing us to work from home and providing the necessary tools to do so. I have appreciated Canary management reaching out to each of us on a regular basis making sure we are all ok and if we need anything. We are a fun bunch of people where diversity is not only accepted but encouraged. As a rather seasoned team member, I find it refreshing to be thanked for the contributions that I and my colleagues make by the management team. We are all encouraged to do our personal best and work as a team, one very big team :slightly_smiling_face: I love the implementation of the bonus structure which is easily achievable for those who wish to take home a few extra dollars at the end of the month. All in all, I can definitely recommend Canary as your next employer.

    Cons

    I would not say there are any disadvantages however, it would be great if we were offered a gym membership or discounted travel vouchers (seems a bit redundant as we are mostly working from home) but in the future would be great.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Downsizing, dishonest, and a bit racist

    Mar 18, 2020 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright office. Fancy parties and events. Some clever teammates.

    Cons

    So to start, on my very first day, they fired the boss who had hired me, which really set the tone for the rest of my year there. Every other week or so someone would leave the company, and they only had around 40 employees there when I started. The management was also changing month to month, which was partly due to the acquisition by a larger company, but in general all this left employees feeling confused about overall direction and outlook for the company. The biggest irk was management would say from time to time I would still be getting equity, as agreed when I was hired, but never had me sign anything (Surprise: I never got equity). This aspect ended up being pretty openly disrespectful. Advice: Do not work here if you're a woman or minority. Just don't. The atmosphere is cold at times. Certain employees were quite open about not liking the women or minority employees, and not only did the company turn a blind eye to those comments, they ultimately promoted them. The work I was given wasn't very challenging, I would end up bored most of the time, and started looking forward to my next job. To top it all off, after I left, certain managers were pretty clearly trying to prevent me from getting a job at other companies, (it would be mentioned to me at interviews). Wasn't really a problem, but heads up they're a little conspiratorial as well. So, not a *horrible* place to work if you need the paycheck, but in general I would say "not good". Avoid if possible.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    An exciting place to work for!

    Jun 19, 2020 - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and a very fun work environment with enthusiastic individuals present every day. Plenty of work from home opportunities and flexibility, with a lot of internal growth potential if you're willing to work hard to move up.

    Cons

    It's a lot of work, teams can be under a lot of pressure to meet strict timelines at certain times during the year, but overall not a big surprise for a startup in NYC.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Destructive, Unorganized, and Vexatious place . High Turnover

    Jun 18, 2020 - Former Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed the perks great healthcare, team events, the area where it was located. I loved doing my job while I worked here since I've been doing it for 6+ years at Canary and other places. The unlimited vacation days but its not really unlimited since some do not get approved. I enjoyed working on certain projects where I can use my own imagination.

    Cons

    Well where do I start, high turnover rate for sure , 2 + years ago is when a German company called smart frog took over and kicked out all of the Founders/CEO which was a shock to everyone. They completely tried to take over and made it worse . It was not a great place after that, A lot of shady business went on here and they hide it well . They lie to their customers and try to have them pay extra money for nothing. The communication sucked with management while I was working here . If its not their way then nothing happens. If you enjoy dealing with micromanagers and toxic work environment then this is your place. I am glad I left because this was hurting my mental health. They choose the employees that kiss their butt versus those with the skills to do the job. There is no real structure here, The germans made things worse all they came with was money to invest into the company. The people here are very spiteful, I could not get any work approved unless the germans approved it and every time they changed things around 90%. It is never simple with them, people are miserable here because of them. Stay away the money is not worth it. . They expect you to be on a call at 9pm and after hours and berate you if you can not make a call or meeting. I have children and a family, my spouse she knew I was stressed there. Best advise stay away and find a better place to have a career.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor financial management led to downfall

    Oct 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Before 2018, this company still had lots of employees and great coworkers. The office was great and lunch was provided.

    Cons

    Many of the employees had left and the office is not as great. For a hardware company, it lacks too many key positions to enable development. Poor product decisions were made that critically affected the customers. Canary had to make decisions to recover from the poor financial management, now it has to make decisions to recover from becoming irrelevant in the market.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mismanagement and Devaluing of Employees

    Mar 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People below management level are smart and great to work with.

    Cons

    Had to write after seeing some recent generic positive reviews. The company is not doing well, but the scariest part is the level of dishonesty. It's not just omission, it's dishonesty about the financial state, employee roles and other changes being made that are changing entire vibe of product and company (bye bye customer experience/relationships and innovation). It's at all team meetings and also by managers to those they supervise. It's pervasive and creates a toxic vibe because people can tell something is off. This is a small company getting smaller and I'm not sure how they think they can keep doing this or how they will recover from this. The level of ineptitude at the management level is crazy, you can't make it up. And it matters because they are relatively large, secretive and autocratic group. Not high performers at what their supposed roles are, no financial or operational sense, projections that make no sense, delusional about facts related to product and market, talking down to employees who are actually thoughtful, thinking they have all the answers even after everything, and no, they do not value employees (and as desperate as they are to retain engineers they don't seem to "get" that that involves actually valuing them in a real way not just making up what their options will be worth a year from now). It's very clear that they are more concerned with their own egos and personal branding than anything else. It's like a super depressing parody of a company's death spiral. Advice to employees: Ask the tough questions and demand answers. The emperor has no clothes.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for

    Oct 6, 2015 - Mobile Engineering Intern in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Truly the definition a booming startup. This is what I imagine companies like Google and Facebook to have been like while they were starting. Benefits are great, even for interns, and all the same benefits that apply to employees apply to interns as well (aside from the usual medical insurance and stuff like that) such as free lunch/dinners, work from home, company events, etc. Work is super interesting no matter what team you're on and since the company is still relatively small, you'll be given a lot of responsibility which is great for professional development! Engineers are cream of the crop and come from big-names such as Google, Microsoft, Apple, etc.

    Cons

    There are none! The only thing I can say is that sometimes if you need on a project help it may be hard to get since everyone is so busy, but once they do, they're always willing to give assistance

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of Perks; Not Much Culture

    May 27, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - There's a lot of free food and leadership is lax with its budget. Basically, if you want anything that costs money, you can probably get it. - A lot of the employees are really amazing people.

    Cons

    - When I worked there, everything was extremely stressful. Working for non-technical leaders compounded the stress. - The culture disappeared with each passing month. Due to the deadlines and general disorganization, everyone seemed depressed and anxious all the time. Communication was lacking; when people tried to improve something, no one else followed through. Some engineering leads in particular were condescending and unpleasant to work with. Without a solid culture in place beyond a some frat-boy jokes, things could get pretty dismal. It's a shame because a lot of engineers and non-technical employees are really intelligent, talented, and wonderful to work with.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Honestly the best job I have ever had. Great Culture. Great People.

    Jun 10, 2014 - Industrial Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Small company so everyone has easy access to the leadership. - Also, being a small company, there are great learning and growth opportunities - Lots of talented and smart people to learn from - Great company culture. Work hard and play hard. - Unlimited vacation days - Free snacks and lunch - Design led company with a focus on product experience - Great office location, right in lower Manhattan - Talented team in place to continue to deliver innovative products. - Outside the office team building activities

    Cons

    - First product launch so there are growing pains that can result in late nights - Because it is a start-up, there is a certain amount of risk

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with Canary Job Seekers

Director of Marketing Operations
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Canary? Share Your Experiences

Canary logo
or