KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Is this your company?

Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Add a Review

Cancer Treatment Centers of America Employee Reviews about "ctca"

Updated Oct 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 527 reviews

3.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Cancer Treatment Centers of America President and CEO  Dr. Pat Basu (no image)
Dr. Pat Basu
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "CTCA has an amazing mission and takes great care of patients(in 42 reviews)

  • "great benefits, nice co-workers, family atmosphere(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High pressure put on stakeholders(in 39 reviews)

  • "CEO & Senior leadership change destroyed the culture of what made CTCA the company it was(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cancer Treatment Centers of America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "ctca"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Mission

      Oct 15, 2020 - Administrator in Zion, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CTCA has an amazing mission and takes great care of patients.

      Cons

      Covid-19 has made a tough field even more intense.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Executive Assistant

      Oct 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, many perks (incredible christmas party, group lunches/outings, fruit baskets, bottled water, coffee), rewarding work.

      Cons

      CEO & Senior leadership change destroyed the culture of what made CTCA the company it was. Employee attitudes & patient care went down hill quickly.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Mission with the Wrong Leadership

      Aug 27, 2019 - IT Manager in Goodyear, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hospitals are full of staff that deeply believe in the mission of caring for cancer patients. This is a great thing. There is an amazing ethic of caring for the patients, no matter the cost or effort.

      Cons

      The company has lost its way. Whereas once it was a leader in cancer care, it is now without leadership, and is slowly sinking. Because it is privately held, with no oversight from an independent board or shareholders, the decisions of the company are only held up to the whims of today's leader. Much of the leadership has been cycling in and out of office, and anyone who wants to change the organization for the better is driven out. There is a belief that the status quo ("that's not the way we've always done it") is the only right approach. Layoffs keep coming up again and again after promises that the last round was the last time. Benefits keep getting trimmed, and workload increases as staff terminations are not back-filled. Many of the programs that helped build a strong culture in the past have been closed due to lack of funds. The five small hospitals don't have the same weight in the industry that they once did, resulting in fewer opportunities to bring cutting edge cancer care to patients. I don't know how far CTCA will sink, or whether it will survive the next couple of years in any form, but it will likely never be the amazing place to work that it once was.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      CTCA having financial problems

      Feb 19, 2020 - RN, Bsn in Goodyear, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Patients are absolutely amazing.

      Cons

      Management stinks in almost every department. CTCA is having some serious financial problems. There’s no point in getting comfortable as layoffs are extremely common here. Stakeholders are overworked and underpaid. You end up doing the job of 3 nurses and don’t get compensated for it. They don’t care how dangerous it is being overworked like this as long as they’re making money. Patients are seen as numbers and staff is under appreciated. Don’t let the commercials fool you. There is nothing special about working here. Oh, and the icing on the cake is they decided to spend millions on the commercials instead of giving the employees an annual raise. Don’t work here.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      so far a great place to work

      Nov 5, 2014 - IS Stakeholder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So far, being a new stakeholder has been a great experience. Working both in the corporate office and having the chance to work in an hospital has provided me with a great glimpse of how things are. CTCA has a great mission, vision and values, and its up to the stakeholders to help uphold them. Its up to the stakeholders to help make the company an amazing one. I know that my coworkers and management have been amazing, even through our department reorganization. A fairly nice collection of benefits: average healthcare(medical/dental/vision), great 401k (4% fully vested match on 5% of pay contributions), life insurance, tuition programs, etc. Average number of time off

      Cons

      If you stick it out, the balance between work, pay and life works itself out. If you don't put in the hard work, and the time, you wouldn't get the bonuses that come. The benefits seem amazing and low cost, but that's until you realize how the medical plans are constructed. Co-insurance is the cheap way out, and there is no way to predict your health costs. PLEASE SWITCH TO A CO-PAY PLAN, rather than co-insurance. Even with contributions to HSA, and Healthy awards, the cost of healthcare with co-insurance is considerably more expensive. Communication: there seems to be a lack of communication from the top down. Changes come down over night, and middle management isn't even prepared to answer stakeholder questions on vision and plan for their departments. Time off shouldn't be spread into so many categories (Vacation, Holidays, sick, personal,etc), it just makes it confusing.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Cancer Treatment Centers of America Response

      Director of Social Media

      I’m happy to hear that your first year at CTCA is going well. I understand that the reorganization from our Reimagine program has created many changes across the organization and we appreciate the adaptability of each center, department, team and individual. Adapting to change takes time, but we trust the decisions of our leadership and truly believe it’s for the best. Everyone’s health insurance needs are varied and we’ve provided several options so that Stakeholders can choose which type of plan is best for them and their families. If you have any questions about which type of plan is best for you, please speak with your Talent department at your center. Thanks for joining the CTCA family and for serving our patients.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Bring back old leadership!!

      Feb 25, 2019 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The old CTCA was absolutely amazing, with leadership who wanted to develop their employees, who empowered their employees, who listened to their employees, and who genuinely cared about their employees - and most of all, the patients. It was a true family and an amazing place to work.

      Cons

      Unfortunately the change of healthcare and insurance reimbursement greatly changed the company. The old, genuinely amazing leadership who cared about their employees were replaced with everyday leaders who are there for no other reason than to turn the company around and make money. In a way, this is expected when reimbursement goes south and you have to cut corners. But everything that once made CTCA special is gone. No more organic meals, hardly any integrative focus, no leadership who cares about bettering their employees, no employees who are empowered to make decisions on their own for the benefit of the patients. The leadership now could care less about the employees or patients, and frankly, are just average, bitter, power-hungry leaders just like every other hospital out there. In fact, you would probably be happier at another hospital. Aside from a few of the caring doctors who stayed, there is nothing that makes CTCA special anymore.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bi-Polar Company

      Aug 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Newnan, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The business model is solid. The marketing is outstanding. Front line stakeholders are truly dedicated to patient care. Potential for becoming a strong research leader is present

      Cons

      The executive over the clinic and many of the physicians has no clinical license or clinical experience. The executive leadership will tell you one thing to your face and something completely different behind your back. The executive leadership is getting their bonus for hospital performance, while the stakeholder is not receiving a bonus (that was really sold when the job offer was made"8 -10% bonus). Their are two executives who have clinical experience and you can tell because they seem to make the best decisions regarding clinical matters. The passive aggressive nature of some of management makes the work place very uncomfortable at times. Finally if you are in the clique then it is almost impossible to get fired no matter what you do. Their are some front line managers and stakeholders who are practicing care above their scope of practice and are very chaotic in their care for patients. This is completely against the common sense approach of being a person of calm and peace while treating the cancer patient. CTCA has drastically gone away from the approach of patient centered care to money centered care.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, competent leadership, & passionate team members!

      Jan 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined CTCA late last year because I was attracted to CTCA based on their mission and focus of keeping the patient at the center. I am happy that I joined the organization and I look forward to a promising career. I have been impressed with the level of competence from all of the team members at the headquarters and I have been totally blown away with the professionalism, expertise, commitment and passion at the hospitals I have visited. You are given a license to operate, empowered to make moment of truth decisions, and an opportunity to provide candid input or feedback. What is Unique: 1). The Daily Connections/Roundup: All employees on a daily basis meet briefly as a team or department to discuss the mission, culture, good news, recognition, or insights 2). Hospital. One visit to the hospital and you will know that your work matters. From interactions with the patients to team members, everyone is focused on the same goal.

      Cons

      Dress attire (business) could be a con for some but it is not that bad. It took a while to get adjusted to it Facial hair policy might be outdated

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Cancer Treatment Centers of America Response

      Director of Social Media

      We’re glad to hear that your career with us is off to a great start. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and perspective as a new CTCA Stakeholder (employee). We wish you continued success in your career with us! We do allow facial hair for Movember! ;)

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Strong Culture, Excellent Care Model -- But Not For Everyone

      Jan 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is strong and pervasive-- you either fit or you don't. That may explain some of the negative reviews here. The care model is superb, and patients LOVE CTCA. Government HCAHPs (for patient satisfaction) scores show CTCA far above all of the competition. And CTCA is on many local 'best place to work' lists. Pay is competitive, with an excellent bonus system.

      Cons

      They do work you hard, and hire Type A, committed people. If you can't keep up, you may feel a work life balance issue. But the people you work with are smart and interesting, and you become very connected with each other. Senior management can have a bit of a tin ear, but isn't it part of any job to complain about management? CTCA is definitely patient centric, but equally profit-centric (but as any service business realizes, those two can be very compatible!).

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Was great, then okay, now morale is poor.

      Apr 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The care we give is second-to-none. I would refer anyone here as a patient. We take great pride in delivering the best care. From the person who sweeps the floor, to the person who makes the food to the Nurses to the President-every one is friendly with each other and genuinely nice, caring people at heart. You can sense that the moment you walk in.

      Cons

      They do not value long-term employees. Easier to bring someone with less experience in and pay them less. We're always told to give more and we do in constant fear of being terminated. Our annual bonus has decreased steadily although our patient satisfaction scores have remained among the highest in the nation. We've won best places to work as voted on by employees for a few years running and turnover is low. The way Management treats us you would think we are doing poorly. They hire and promote based on the look of the person instead of the talent. They want beautiful people representing us only. If you are unattractive or overweight you do not have a future with CTCA.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cancer Treatment Centers of America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cancer Treatment Centers of America? Share Your Experiences

    or