Candlewood Suites Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
29%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Candlewood Suites CEO Keith Barr (no image)
Keith Barr
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "No F&B with which to deal, true extended stay means housekeeping only weekly, small hotel (125 rooms)(in 9 reviews)

  • "I get to meet new people from all around the world and I enjoy this aspect of it(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Front desk managers should have office hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "laundry sometimes get out of hand(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good/Fair"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time

    Pros

    Get to meet new people, good hours.

    Cons

    Barely any breaks especially if it’s only one person

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2020-03-21
  2. "Good environment bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Hanover, MD

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours, relaxed work, co-workers, employees, stressful work environment

    Cons

    Management, owners, hours, pay, system, laundry

    Candlewood Suites2020-04-23
  3. "Taking phone calls making sure the customer they are satisfied with the room service"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in West Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Taking phone calls making sure the customer they are satisfied with the room service

    Cons

    Good service good manager and good pays

    Candlewood Suites2020-04-04
  4. "Red alert: Be careful if you're considering working here"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean and good looking property

    Cons

    Treats employees very poorly

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2020-02-29
  5. "Good place to begin a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Air Freight Dispatcher in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Simple yet effective brand setup to cut costs

    Cons

    Lack of amenities can prove to be challenging for driving guest scores

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2020-01-31
  6. "Confused"

    2.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Weatherford, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved interacting with guests

    Cons

    You are not valued as an employee regardless of how hard you do or do not work. The owners do not offer feedback and will fire you for no reason.

    Candlewood Suites2020-01-05
  7. "DON'T WORK HERE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSR in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management will put on a happy and welcoming face, until you are hired.

    Cons

    Where do I begin. Employee mistreatment, poor untrained management, undervaluing of employees, random hour cuts, absolutely ZERO benefits, awful pay with almost no chance for a raise, employee requests are completely disregarded, made to feel bad for taking sick days, duties extending well beyond what an employee was hired for, unstable job security, using corporate as a fear tactic, I could go on and on. Biggest takeaway is DON'T WORK FOR THIS COMPANY

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2020-01-13
  8. "Extremely disappointing."

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Perrysburg, OH

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time

    Pros

    There were not any pros.

    Cons

    Upper management wanted me to work for free on my first day and work on my certification for free outside of work. I was told to be professional by upper management after I reported middle management for showing me a graphic picture of a male guest. She kept her job and fired me without giving a reason. This incident was recorded.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2020-01-04
  9. "best job"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    good job nice employess and very good help

    Cons

    nothing is bad candle wood

    Candlewood Suites2019-11-15
  10. "Growing Pains"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New Hotel, Nice Location, Good Ownership group who care and stop in from time to time to check on things

    Cons

    Not enough employee's, Lower wages than other hotels in area, no holiday pay, no paid time off

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2019-10-14
Found 133 reviews