Candlewood Suites "extended stay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Candlewood Suites Employee Reviews about "extended stay"

Updated Feb 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
23%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Candlewood Suites CEO Keith Barr (no image)
Keith Barr
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "No F&B with which to deal, true extended stay means housekeeping only weekly, small hotel (125 rooms)(in 9 reviews)

  • "very interesting learning different cultures from communicating with the guest(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Front desk managers should have office hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "laundry sometimes get out of hand(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "extended stay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    No F&B with which to deal, true extended stay means housekeeping only weekly, small hotel (125 rooms)

    Cons

    IHG's Opera is the worst.

    Candlewood Suites2016-09-30
  2. "Wishy Washy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, extended stay, wonderful guests.

    Cons

    Poor management, don't truly care about their employees, horrible hours.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2019-02-09
  3. "Front Desk Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Front Desk Representative in Lincoln, NE

    I worked at Candlewood Suites for less than a year

    Pros

    Candlewood Suites is centered around extended stay guests. It strives to give you the at home atmosphere, which is exactly what this particular hotel had accomplished. We had wonderful extended stay guests because they partnered with a nearby rehabilitation hospital. We held meet and greets that really allowed you to get to know the guests as well. I really felt like part of the family while I worked for this company.

    Cons

    The pay was not enough to live on. Unfortunately, I had to seek out other opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2016-11-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent in Meridian, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting the guests and establishing friendships with them, since it's an extended stay hotel.

    Cons

    Management and other coworkers were very unprofessional. Always some kind of drama within the staff, and managers would gossip about other employees to employees. It was the most unprofessional place I have ever worked. For claiming to be a work place of strong ethics and integrity the staff sure showed otherwise.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2016-11-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "a good place bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time

    Pros

    I love that I am able to connect with the guest bc it is an extended stay hotel

    Cons

    managemt is HORRIBLE. The GM treats her employees like crap. She barks and yells orders, and humiliates you in front of other employees and guests. There is NO JOB STABILITY. The GM IS ALWAYS THREATENING TO FIRE EVERYONE

    Candlewood Suites2016-06-13
  6. "Front Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Methuen, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the people I work with. My GM is very friendly and hard working. Being an extended stay hotel, there are a lot of 'regulars' when it comes to guests which makes the job more fun.

    Cons

    The hours aren't the best for me. Your schedule is always changing; which isn't terrible, sometimes I don't mind it but you have to participate in night audit shifts which doesn't really work well for me.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2016-05-12
  7. "Overall a great place to work and get your feet wet in hospitality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with extended stay Guests

    Cons

    Working with certain coworkers can be challenging

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2015-03-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of franchise ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    If you like customer service, excellent hotel to work in. Set up for extended stay business travelers and you really get to know long term guests. Another plus is IHG is a good chain and Candlewood does have a great value structure

    Cons

    Limited service hotel so every employee has to pull extra weight and perform duties that wouldn't be part of their job at a different hotel brand.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2015-02-28
  9. "Okay Job, Long Shifts, Some Problems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Auditor/Front Desk in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is pretty easy, hotel is "extended stay" so many customers are there for a long time.

    Cons

    If a room is in bad condition (smell, damages, etc.) they still try to sell it, and you are the one that has to get the complaining from the customer.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2014-10-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews