Candlewood Suites "front desk" Reviews | Glassdoor

Candlewood Suites Employee Reviews about "front desk"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
23%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Candlewood Suites CEO Keith Barr (no image)
Keith Barr
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "No F&B with which to deal, true extended stay means housekeeping only weekly, small hotel (125 rooms)(in 9 reviews)

  • "very interesting learning different cultures from communicating with the guest(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Front desk managers should have office hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "laundry sometimes get out of hand(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "front desk"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Candlewood suites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, not hard, need to know opera

    Cons

    Hours can be anything, 24-hour front desk

    Candlewood Suites2019-01-30
  2. "Underpaid, Understaffed, Unsafe, and Mgmt. Was Lazy and Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Clerk in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of a thing.

    Cons

    The Candlewood Suites I worked at was in a very bad part of town. At least half of the clientele had their credit cards declined on a daily basis. In the short time I worked there, the police had to be called. The hourly pay was at least $1.50 below the minimum that a Richmond hotel front-desk clerk should get. The training was very poor because no procedures had ever been written down, and I was given inaccurate information over and over. Management would not provide breaks of any kind; I was told that if I had to use the bathroom when alone on my eight-hour shift, I had to carry the cordless phone with me to take calls. We had to make sure free coffee was available to the guests 24/7 yet we weren't allowed to get any, not even at a discounted rate. I worked 15 minutes over on four shifts during my first two weeks, and someone erased all that time during my second week. When I asked management about my missing time, I was fired! Then I was told that I would only be paid for 30 minutes of that time.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2019-11-06
  3. "Front desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Candlewood Suites part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay better than most hotels

    Cons

    Front desk is in charge so much more than just front desk duties

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2018-05-05
  4. "Pay is far too low, and advancement is almost impossible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time

    Pros

    - Mostly great people that I work with - Excellent management - Great co-workers - Some of the guests are great and will chat often - Very little manual labor - Ability to work on school work during night audit (depends on management)

    Cons

    - Pay is really low, almost all management does not get paid enough to support themselves. - Front desk agents are typically disposable, employment of front desk agents typically does not last very long. - 0 benefits besides get IHG rewards points for signing guests up for the program - Management at my hotel has been around for years and there is 0 chance of advancement

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2017-01-29
  5. "Okay but not great...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    Has medical, dental, vision, 401k, long term and short term disability, employees discount on hotels stay

    Cons

    I don't know whether it's like this at other locations but my location has so many problems. First off, schedule are not made enough in advance for you to plan your life. They refuse to hire a part time front desk and only have 3 front desk people total. So it is impossible to call in sick or take a vacation even of you saved up enough hours to take it. If you work night shifts then you're all alone. Managements leave at 4 or 5, sometimes even earlier. They don't work weekend or holiday at all. So then you're stuck dealing with customers issues that can't be resolve unless managers are there. You're suppose to be able to call manager at any time but what's the point if they're not there to personally interact with the customers. People tend to be even more angry after you tell them managers won't be in til Monday and it's Friday. No maintenance person on weekend and holiday or nights either. When something break, you have to wait til Monday to get it fix or the next day. But when we're sold out and someone toilet doesn't work, then what? Where would they go?

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2016-05-18
  6. "Good fun environment with something new every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    I get to meet new people from all around the world and I enjoy this aspect of it. Occasional tips are also nice.

    Cons

    We have to do laundry at the front desk which is a hassle, because not everyone pulls their own weight. It makes it harder on the people who actually do their job.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2016-01-17
  7. "Rerview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time

    Pros

    They have friendly guests. The building has nice landscaping on the outside.

    Cons

    The wages are very, very low. They have NO maintenance person. Ergo, the front desk is supposed to figure out what to do. When it'sa full house, there is no place to move the guest.

    Candlewood Suites2015-12-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites

    Pros

    Most people staying at the hotel were good.

    Cons

    Staff was promised bonuses which were not received unless you were management. There was always a reason not to give a raise along with low pay. Management did nothing about complaints from employees and guests. Management was always taking extra long lunch hours, yet front desk staff could not and/or leave the premises, but it was okay for them all to include staff that was considered favorites. Front desk staff was required to work both the front desk, do laundry, along with many other housekeeping duties.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2015-06-30
  9. "Fun, but bad management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in Turlock, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Candlewood Suites part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to meet a lot of people. Relaxed, ever changing environment. Sometimes fast, sometimes slow.

    Cons

    Bad Management. Lack of Supplies. Inability for management to respond to customer requests and that makes us at the front desk look bad. Things never got fixed. We've had a room with a broken phone for four months.

    Continue reading
    Candlewood Suites2013-01-11
  10. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denham, South East England, England

    I worked at Candlewood Suites full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My co workers were great and the hotel was nice and quiet.

    Cons

    Front desk managers should have office hours

    Candlewood Suites2018-03-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews