Cantor Colburn Reviews | Glassdoor

Cantor Colburn Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Michael Cantor
17 Ratings
  1. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the people I work with

    Cons

    May have to work overtime at times, but the pay is great.

    Cantor Colburn2018-10-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Salary reductions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Unclear. Long term losses for individuals undermine short term gains.

    Cons

    Most non-partners are paid on a basis well below 1800 billable hours. The firm redistributes billable hours to partners, gives non-partners credit for significantly fewer hours, and annually recalculates non-partner salaries based on billed hours credited to the non-partner. Many non-partners here are paid based on 1000 hours, 1200 hours, 1400 hours, 1600 hours. You likely need to have at least 1000 hours billable...

    Show More
    Cantor Colburn2019-01-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Associates Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Can't think of any other than decent offices.

    Cons

    As said in other reviews: Partners, particularly in the chemical department, take associate time from bills and bill the client for their own time. They then reduce Associate's salary significantly because you "missed" hours requirements. Just save yourself while you can and do not go here.

    Advice to Management

    Get a new business model. Fire partners who are unethically and illegally billing. Publish associate salaries.

    Cantor Colburn2018-12-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assoc atty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work but no client interaction

    Cons

    Poor communication.. boring..mundane..no client exposure

    Cantor Colburn2018-10-27
  5. "Patent Prosecution Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours, No micro management.

      Cons

      Can't recall that much as I am doing this to unlock anther firm's reviews.

      Advice to Management

      Kendra is so nice and approachable.

      Cantor Colburn2018-09-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "IP Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, cordial co-workers

      Cons

      Marginal training; over worked staff; low moral; high turnover rate, low pay; marginal benefits

      Cantor Colburn2018-08-18
    • Helpful (3)

      "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in Hartford, CT

      I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Most of the attorneys are awesome to work for

      Cons

      Support staff is not treated equally by management Better work product means you get dumped on while others get to sit around and do nothing, never addressed by management Weren't allowed to call ourselves paralegals, we were legal administrative assistants, didn't matter if you had a certificate/degree, etc. Support staff managers let their "power" go their heads and made it difficult for others, never addressed...

      Show More
      Cantor Colburn2017-12-05
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cantor Colburn full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule and my co-workers really makes my day fly by.

      Cons

      There are no cons in working here.

      Cantor Colburn2017-07-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "If you want to be overworked and under paid, you will fit right in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time

      Pros

      You are hands on with the documents and can learn every aspect of IP prosecution; they will promote from within, even if you do not have experience

      Cons

      You are extremely overworked; firm does not have the technology to support its request for work production; micromanaging nightmare .. you can not think for yourself; low pay; they have CIGNA Health and it is a very bad plan; they do not have an Employee Assistance Program (EAP)

      Advice to Management

      The staff needs a voice. There is no venue for them to speak about the abuse and misguided mangers in the electrical/mechanical and chemical departments

      Cantor Colburn2017-08-12
    • "Admin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cantor Colburn full-time

      Pros

      Great amicable support staff in outlying offices

      Cons

      Limiting work environment, key support staff individuals are derogatory and unprofessional and have been there too long

      Cantor Colburn2017-04-11
    Found 31 reviews