Cantor Fitzgerald Reviews | Glassdoor

Cantor Fitzgerald Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Cantor Fitzgerald CEO Howard W. Lutnick
Howard W. Lutnick
112 Ratings
  1. "Not a good place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any.

    Cons

    Terrible IT department. No privacy in your work space. No cafeteria. Underpaid.

    Cantor Fitzgerald2018-07-13
  2. "Good intro to the fixed income business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Institutional Fixed Income Sales 

      I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great intro to the business. I appreciated the excellent training, tools, and effort to help the rookies get started.

      Cons

      I found the CRM inadequate. It really wasn't helpful.

      Advice to Management

      I can't fault management for a difficult interest rate environment - it was a tough time to get started. However, I wonder if some sort of marketing initiative could have made a difference - something that would have helped differentiate Cantor's voice from the hordes of other brokers looking for trades.

      Cantor Fitzgerald2018-06-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ok place to work at the begining...."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Java Developer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are no pros, some of the people are okay but you can tell a lot are just coasting into the sunset of their careers.

      Cons

      Benefits, comp, growth potential, enjoyability of work,etc. The bonus system is insulting and literally a joke. I almost threw up when I heard my cash bonus.

      Advice to Management

      Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau, Blau,

      Cantor Fitzgerald2018-04-07
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time

        Pros

        Friendly, lots of networking opportunity

        Cons

        Hard to start out as an analyst, best for people already established in career

        Advice to Management

        Needs more diversity

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-04-01
      • "Eat what you kill"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time

        Pros

        Eat what you kill. Take home % of commission is higher then industry average

        Cons

        Not many accounts open to junior salestraders

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-03-23
      • Helpful (5)

        "Admin"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Not one that comes to mind

        Cons

        Run...all the reviews are true.

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-04-11
      • Helpful (4)

        "Most people are trying to get out"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fast pace environment and given a decent amount of exposure at entry level. If you want to break into the financial services world and this is your ONLY option, do it and leave after a year, otherwise stay away.

        Cons

        Significant portion of bonus compensation is in "partnership units" which you are told are essentially valueless upon leaving the firm. IT systems are very dated and frustrating to use (think late 1990s). Management layer is hired from other firms and there is lack of a middle layer between entry level and management because most leave after a year. List goes on and on... lack of focus on corporate culture, long hours,...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay employees in cash, create a corporate framework, improve benefits, invest in IT infrastructure.

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-04-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "MD"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        broad scope of busineses , classis/historic franchise, entreprenurial

        Cons

        disorganized, weak management/leadership, under-resourced, poor benefits

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-04-04
      • Helpful (5)

        "Poor experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time

        Pros

        Some of the people were great

        Cons

        Managers were often disrespectful to their employees, women were not taken seriously, antiquated procedures made it very difficult to accomplish anything

        Advice to Management

        care about the employees more

        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-03-20
      • Helpful (12)

        "Stay away unless you are desperate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Finance in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Cantor Fitzgerald full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Industry and recruiters know this place’s rep - if you leave in less than a year they will understand. If you stay longer than a year then you are a veteran and can handle anywhere. Few intelligent people who are super stars, but poor environment makes them leave.

        Cons

        Benefits are nonexistent. Even if you are a super star - expect a 2% raise. Bonus is paid in equity and cash that takes 4 years to vest. IT Infrastructure is terrible; if you enjoy data mining and having to search for basic info you’ll do fine. Behavior in the office is deplorable. Yelling, screaming, nasty behavior is condoned and the tone comes from the top. Many toxic people who wouldn’t survive in any other environment....

        Show More
        Cantor Fitzgerald2018-03-15
      Found 214 reviews