Capco Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Capco Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
87 Ratings
  1. "Great place to begin your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on many exciting projects and learn a lot quickly Recognizes hard workers and promotes eagerly Opportunities to get training inside of company Consistently pushes employees to grow and improve

    Cons

    Projects for employees outside of NY may require travel Different cultures between NY and other areas of US Some projects have staffing timelines longer than others (e.g., a year) Some projects can have brief periods with long hours

    Advice to Management

    Ensure new hires, and those starting on new projects, have clear expectations set regarding what is expected from them and what they can expect in their role.

    Capco2019-10-03
  2. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Your career is in your hand

    Cons

    Management has no direction, just do anything that comes their way.

    Capco2019-11-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, typical company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are genuine and hard working. It is easy to make friends within the company.

    Cons

    Management treats employees as resources opposed to people. Projects are staff augmentation, not consulting.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees , don't wait for clients to provide feedback before taking action because almost always that feedback was given by employees.

    Capco2019-10-15
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Growth Opportunity Promotions based on Meritocracy Strong Client Relationships Growing Company where Management tries to give employees a voice Be Yourself at Work initiative

    Cons

    Some longer term projects depending on role

    Capco2019-07-17
  5. "Small Company Big Dreams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility of career path

    Cons

    Growth is outpacing culture. Unfortunately policies and procedures that work for a small company don't work as you get bigger.

    Advice to Management

    Standardize hiring and promotion criteria. Restrict people to their chosen domain for staffing.

    Capco2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A diamond that wants to be coal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sr Management is exceptional, fair, seasoned and approachable. There is an undeniable care that comes from Sr Mgrs and partners for their employees. The pay is very good, better than most professional services firms. Half the employees are qualified and brilliant, if you are an intelligent person, you can go very far with this firm, as they give you quite a bit of freedom to open doors as you see fit.

    Cons

    Half the employees are dumb as a brick, unqualified, and should have never been hired in a modern professional services firm The company is inflating their pipeline to prepare for an undisclosed sale - apparently the first bid fell through There is NO mobility provided by this firm, you can get promoted, but you will be working with relatively the same clients year after year They are not innovating in any... meaningful way, and all of the passionate techy people keep leaving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lance (CEO), why did you greenlight the current branding change? It's completely out of touch with reality, and most customers think its so tacky. It does not communicate any of Capco's core values, only what we would like to be. Also @Lance, why haven't you visited the US? Im flabergasted that a CEO of a huge consulting firm refuses to visit its people (in the DC market)?! Your job as a CEO is to lead the... company; sometimes you have to role up your sleeves and give a pep talk yourself, instead of sending stupid memo emails that no one reads. I have never reviewed a company before on Glassdoor, but I decided to post this because I genuinely see what Capco can be, and where it can go. I WANT Capco to succeed . Doing well in this industry requires hard work from everyone, and a focus on people as the primary resource. To fix the problems relating to motivation and Talent (Feel free to check Fishbowl - there is a VERY accurate description of the company in the forums) I propose the immediate 3 changes: A) Stop hiring non-consultants for roles they know nothing about just to fill positions. This is a bandaid to a longterm problem. B) Make the partners equity partners. Let the partners in their jurisdictions decide how to run that portion of the firm. Giving an equity stake would incentivize this. C) Good talent wants an all inclusive package, that means they need more than money. Mentoring, and career growth opportunities are more important to any consultant worth their salt over a 5 - 10K salary increase above market. Finally, as stated in the beginning, I see Capco as a A diamond that wants to be a piece of coal. Stop hiding what makes Capco strong, embrace the good, and don't be afraid to full heartedly take a chance at actually innovating. Don't let hubris consume you, listen to your people, they care and already have all the answers.

    Show More
    Capco2019-04-10
  7. "Flexible senior leadership, choice of choosing projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Senior leadership are approachable and ready with work for a solution design if it is viable - Human capital is working to help consultants - Many learning and development opportunities to upgrade skill - Supportive environment to plan for career growth - Good perks and benefits

    Cons

    - Focus on only financial services - Salaries are not best in industry but good perks and work environment - Possible improvement on domain specific consulting

    Advice to Management

    - Allocate 2-3% of revenue to invest in new domains like professional services of implementation for leading product/ application vendors - Have more development resources on digital, design and big data space

    Capco2019-02-25
  8. "The best consultancy company to woek"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent environment. People help each other.

    Cons

    Policies are under review all the time.

    Advice to Management

    To move people around the world.

    Capco2019-01-18
  9. "Your experience is dependent on the project assigned - but if you align yourself to the right people, great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects with a ton of autonomy

    Cons

    Can get political around promotions time

    Capco2019-01-17
  10. Helpful (8)

    "It's Ok?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with on the ground are great. The NY office has great coffee and snacks - when you can get to it. The company also tries to host events/socials at the office on a semi-regular basis. Its annual holiday party is generally a lot of fun and people look forward to it months in advance. You can also get exposure to a lot of different financial institutions, which is helpful if you're... looking to get out of the industry. The company offers good health benefits and a respectable 401k matching program.

    Show More

    Cons

    While the office does have free food/drinks and social events - you'll be lucky if you can actually find time to head over there. A lot of the clients/projects have demanding work hours, which makes work/life balance obsolete. So, for the most part, you can forget about dropping by for an afternoon cappuccino. I was lucky enough to land on some of the more strategic/advisory type projects that Capco has.... However, the majority of my experience at the company can be lumped into the dreaded "staff aug" bucket. I was essentially doing the work of full time employees and not actually consulting. If I'm going to be doing that kind of work I might as well be treated like a full time employee (e.g. better hours & work/life balance, better management/oversight, more money [yes, it's surprising]), etc.). As for pay, I know that HR regularly responds to these posts stating that they pay industry or above. However, this is not the case for people promoted internally. A lot of people are signifcantly underpaid (even with getting solid 5s and 4s). Sadly, it seems it takes threats of formal complaints to HR for people to see any sizable bump at year-end. I was aghast when I found out what a new hire with the same experience was paid and decided it was time to look elsewhere. And for the obligatory HR reply to this post - yes, compensation complaints were discussed with my coach as was the lack of work/life balance (and also raised to client relationship manager).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're going to preach work/life balance and praise Capco's culture - follow through on it. Make an effort to get engagement from all client accounts especially those with non-existent work life balance. Make sure their client relationship managers actually care about those working under them. A surprising number of MPs don't actually care about morale, worklife balance, or even abusive clients. AOs, COs..., and SCs should be to review those above them in a formal way.

    Show More
    Capco2018-12-07
Found 185 reviews