Capcom Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Capcom Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
Capcom CEO Kenzo Tsujimoto (no image)
Kenzo Tsujimoto
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Developer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good accommodations - Decent pay - Friendly staff

    Cons

    - Toxic work environment, mainly due to bad management.

    Capcom2018-07-09

    Capcom Response

    July 31, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments about our studio (and thank you to everyone who posted feedback). It’s good to get all types of feedback… it’s how we learn and improve. I’m sorry that some of you had negative experiences at Capcom. I acknowledge that we’ve made mistakes over the years. That said, I’m a bit of an optimist about this place, and I thought I’d share my perspective. I started here about a year ago and since then we’ve been working very hard to improve things: -Listening to our employees and giving everyone opportunities to contribute ideas. -Creating a strong vision for our studio and projects. -Bringing in solid new leadership in all disciplines. -Improving our relationship with our parent company, and leveraging their development expertise. EVERYONE here can make a difference with their ideas, no matter what their title or role. We’re really proud of this, and it makes us stronger. We’re attracting new talent every week, and I believe this is one of the reasons why. Walking around our studio, I’m excited by what I see; our projects are showing great promise. This is Capcom Vancouver right now. If this sounds interesting, I encourage you to consider Capcom in your career plans. cheers -Tim Bennison Studio Director, Capcom Vancouver

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Could be worse?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Office is good, especially since the move to the new location (everyone has standing desk, and quality chair). - Benefits are good and improving (good coverage, and weekly appointments for in-office chair massage). - Lots of very smart, and very experienced people to work with and learn from.

    Cons

    - Embarrassingly underpayed, no transparency, excessive evaluation criteria which doesn't seem to mean anything anyway. - No career development. Very little oversight for more junior members, and nobody remaining who is actively engaging others. - Extremely impersonal. You don't matter. (Unless you are to be blamed for something.) Don't expect management to know what you do, or how you contribute. Your opinion does not matter, even if you are an expert in your domain. - Too much focus on building systems (which could be abandoned at any moment), and not shipping a product.

    Continue reading
    Capcom2018-01-01
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Great People, Interesting product, not great location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capcom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of really smart people working at Capcom - I have learned a lot from my years working there. As a studio they really know how to make their product (Dead Rising) and they are trying to diversify. The AAA space they aspire to be in is hard - big investments for hopefully a big reward.

    Cons

    I'm worried about their ability to make profitable. There franchise has never been an economic powerhouse so they really have to watch expenses.

    Capcom2016-12-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Capcom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My favorite thing about Capcom is my co-workers. They are awesome and always willing to help. In human related things, they are mostly as good as tech (coding, ...) things.

    Cons

    I think I need more time to see the cons!

    Capcom2015-10-24
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some talented people in dev

    Cons

    Seriously bad management Way too heavy on PMs, that then keep micro-managing to show their usefulness and shift the blame down at the first sign of trouble Toxic culture, don't keep your head down & it will be chopped-off

    Continue reading
    Capcom2015-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Transitioning to a medium sized game studio; improving but still a long way to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capcom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Got a start up vibe to it - Open environment - Software engineers sit with directors/project managers, good interaction - Fun, lots of parties

    Cons

    - Messy management, takes weeks to come up with a team shuffling plan while most employees turned into gloried youtubers at work - Pay on the low end

    Continue reading
    Capcom2013-11-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Overall programming aptitude is improving, but still a ways to go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capcom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Interesting IP with many opportunities to work on interesting tech - All tech is developed in-house, letting you touch all aspects you're interested in - Open atmostphere - you can contribute design and give feedback and you'll know it gets considered.

    Cons

    - Compensation is lacking. Less than what you'd make at EA or other nearby large studios. - Leadership likes to play it too safe. Difficult to convince them to experiment or try out new paradigms, programming techniques, etc - Codebase is a mess in some places. Lots of ugly code on there - a lot of it was written to hit frequent milestone deliverables. Technical debt is very high.

    Capcom2013-11-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "a mini EA Canada in culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capcom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    works on sequeal of a title with name recognition decent office building

    Cons

    poisonous politics culture. employees treated like any other disposable assets. poor quality code base that i had to work on.

    Continue reading
    Capcom2013-07-18
  9. "A great place to learn your craft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capcom

    Pros

    Hands on experience with different platforms, work on best IP in game industry.

    Cons

    career advancement and promotion is slow in this Japanese company.

    Continue reading
    Capcom2012-04-16
Found 9 reviews