Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
45%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Chief Executive Officer Michael Nagowski
Michael Nagowski
3 Ratings
  1. "Professional RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fayetteville, NC

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Educational oppor. And growth potential

    Cons

    Must be willin and eager to work hard or this is not the place for you

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for moving forward

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2014-04-23
  2. "Challenges and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn in all aspects of nursing and patients. Busy, fast-paced so time goes by very quickly.

    Cons

    Short-staffed, therefore high nurse: patient ratio. patient safety concerns. a high percentage of novice nurses compared to experienced ones.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation for staff. Be more visible and available on your units. Patients are humans beings, not numbers.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-28
  3. "Good Nursing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great orientation package for new nurses

    Cons

    Units are all understaffed and pt: nurse ratio is not good

    Advice to Management

    Recruit more staff

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-22
  4. "Understaffed, low pay, high patient ratios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This place really sucks ...

    Cons

    Understaffed and high ratios

    Advice to Management

    Hire more nurses, care of the patients should come first

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-02-17
  5. "Check your management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Hoke, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Met some wonderful people I miss.

    Cons

    Management that has been in place at CFVH far too long reminds me of our government. Once your in power for a long time you become crooked. Michael Nagowski, please take this seriously. Look at the reviews. It keeps appearing. "Management" You need fresh newly educated people who know professional relationships better. I could name off your staff that have poor professional attitudes. We all know how poorly they treat the employees. Unless one lies, cheats or steals your management is getting rid of valuable employees with integrity, because they don't ride the " click" bus. Lives have been ruined. I was proud to work for Mr. Nagowski and very sad that I am one with integrity that got bullied. I had 104.8 temp, asked to go home and manager just smiled. After tylenol I was 101 in a.m. and dx with severe polynephritis. So yes I was sick, and no one seened to care. The bully made me look bad and I was let go. I had even told my PCM in the morning, but she did not show she cared. She only said to me .."I have a princess shift you can work tonight. " So that was a signal she did not hear me. So very sad....you ended my career. You did not listen to what I had to back me up on everything that happened. What a mistake you made. I shall never forget that bully you listened to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your not perfect and maybe we just dont like your old style anymore. The world is changing. Go get some more recent education.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-08-20
  6. "No more pension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are always looking for help. Staffing is so bad that they had to contract international nurses.

    Cons

    All the units are very busy and fast paced. Pt turn around is very fast.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your seasoned nurses!

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2018-07-11
  7. "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my personal experience, the co-workers made the job. If you work with a great team, even when you have bad days it's bearable because everyone pitches in.

    Cons

    Hiring waves, and then after about a year mass exodus. You'll be well staffed for awhile, then another wave will leave and you're struggling with unsafe ratios. Management doesn't understand that you want a life outside of work. They're constantly texting to ask you to come in on your days off (which is fine if you want overtime). They do not understand last minute conflicts or sick days. If you're scheduled, it's practically sinful to not be there even if you have an excellent reason. They will guilt you for being human.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Incentives. If you want nurses to come to Cape Fear and stay, loosen up the purse strings. Once they're there, you'll have safe ratios and better pay. That makes people less likely to leave to save their license.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2017-12-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and educational experiences.

    Cons

    Very much corporate minded. If you don't fit the stereotype they have, you are left out and nudged or kicked out.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all your employees not just those that fit into the "in crowd"

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn a lot at this facility because the patients have multiple comorbidities

    Cons

    Parking is far from building. Raises are few and far between. Employee concerns are rarely addressed.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2017-02-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center

    Pros

    I work on the mother/baby unit. (FCCU). Its a great job. Incentives for working extra days. Environment is friendly. Focus on clinical ladder and patient satisfaction.

    Cons

    Too many patients. 4 babies and 4 moms. The documentation software sucks.

    Advice to Management

    Great job! Change documentation of software.

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2016-11-04
Found 21 reviews