Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Cape Fear Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
37%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Cape Fear Valley Medical Center CEO Michael Nagowski
Michael Nagowski
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "The staff are great people who truly care about the healthcare the system delivers(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great place to work everyone is very nice(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Micromanagement by department Director creates a hostile work environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay, little incentive to stay there(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Busy hospital, great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members Decent pay, opportunities to float to other areas

    Cons

    Poorly Managed in the ER, security not very effective, long shifts

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-03
  2. "Horrible work environment!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Career advancement opportunities: but are required to work here and they only teach it the cape fear way for NA 2 class..meaning, some things taught are outside of the scope of practice according to NC guidelines.

    Cons

    12+ hour shifts with required 3 day work week for full time employees or they TAKE PTO to cover the missed hours. Employee safety: I work nights and we are required to park in dim lit, gravel parking spaces or risk getting. Boot on your car from security. Patient ratio: when I first started I was told the ratio was 9:1 for nursing assistants (on my floor) but recently we are given 19 patients due to lay offs, and CNAs leaving left and right. Pay: after three years and two “raises” I just got to $10/hour a few months ago. This hospital has the LOWEST pay for CNAs in the greater Fayetteville area. Home health workers make more as a starting salary. Overall: this hospital has spent 2 billion dollars to convert their EHR, building a new student academic facility and yet they are overworking and under appreciative of the few loyal staff members they have now.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-11-11
  3. "Low pay, hard work, lots of experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your fresh out of school this place is good for getting experience.

    Cons

    Very demanding hard work and under paid.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-08-29
  4. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Financial Representative in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with others and helping

    Cons

    I would have to say the environment and work place together

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-07-10
  5. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a lot of employee opportunities.

    Cons

    They have no regards to employees.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-07-16
  6. "Certifies phlebotomist at several locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the patients and my coworkers. The lab staff is amazing at all locations.

    Cons

    Upper management creates a horrible work environment. Patient care is supposed to be the first priority and it is NOT! Lack of supplies due to budget cuts.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-06-26
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Works well with schedule, great pay

    Cons

    Sometimes you work longer hours than expected

    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-06-21
  8. "Bottom liners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paramedic in Fayetteville, NC

    I have been working at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to get experience, one of the busiest hospitals in NC, caring first line management.

    Cons

    Low pay scales, mediocre benefits, annual raises have been 2% of hourly pay, skeleton crews on weekends.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-06-14
  9. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paramedic in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good and fast pace EMS

    Cons

    Could pay more for the heavy workload

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-21
  10. "Challenges and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn in all aspects of nursing and patients. Busy, fast-paced so time goes by very quickly.

    Cons

    Short-staffed, therefore high nurse: patient ratio. patient safety concerns. a high percentage of novice nurses compared to experienced ones.

    Continue reading
    Cape Fear Valley Medical Center2019-05-28
Found 142 reviews